We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent For the Price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Magda

Hotel Magda
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Magda
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Agia Marina
Loughton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent For the Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

A Family run Hotel, Clean and well Kept, Lovely Views, Clean Swimming pool. Don't expect luxury or five star service but for the Price you pay it is. You get a warm welcome from Magda and she will make sure you have a good Stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Africauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    5
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Battle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We have been going to Magda Hotel for the last four years. This year we vacillated. Last year we felt that the breakfast was poor, the pool seemed dirty on occasions and we felt that things had slipped. Inertia took over and we went again. Magda has got her act back together. The rooms remain basic but very good value (35€ @ night), breakfast was not self service but now includes fresh orange juice and whatever we chose, within reason. Magda had a young maid who went round the hotel like a whirlwind and the patterns made out of the towels suggested that she took a pride.

Hard to beat for value for money. Chris.

Room Tip: Mosquitos can be a prblem on teh island. Go for a higher room away form the vegetation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aegina, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

I live in Aegina but in a very small apartment, so when my relatives visit they always stay at Magda's.

My son will not consider staying anywhere else. It is clean and Magda always, without exception, makes her guests feel at home. We have met many people who stay there every year, and they all say the same.

The hotel is quiet and has beautiful views. It's the best place to unwind, enjoy Greece, and recharge your batteries.









The hotel has

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryBedwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

The hotel is located in a quiet spot, and within easy reach of the very modest little town of Agia Marina. You might put up with the inconsistent housekeeping (bathroom never cleaned really, just a quick once-over, but the shower? Loo? Basin never. Clean towels only sometimes.) and the basic style of the furnishings, for the quiet location and a good enough pool. But the food and hotel service providing food was amazingly bad. Breakfast found us supplying our own fresh fruit and oats each day after putting up with the dismal selection of sugary cereals,(no children were there!) slices of bread, no toaster, not much else. No fresh milk for coffee or tea. And the coffee was undrinkable. Coffee water. yoghurt was available thankfully. Asking for things was an ordeal, dispite being there all week we had to ask for the fresh milk for cereal, etc. every single morning although it was available in the kitchen. Asking for food or coffees, never mind tea, outside of the breakfast "buffet" hours was impossible. Lunch however was provided each day for our small group, but there was no choice, and a very limited selection items offered. You might get a chicken leg. And sliced tomato. And bread and olives. Fruit for desert. That was it. And tap water. Not even coffee (however undrinkable) was offered after lunch each day. It might have been prison food really. We had sympathy for Magda as she was almost the entire staff, certainly when it came to the dining room and the out door bar. The place mats on every table were covered with spilt jam, honey, crumbs, coffee,etc. and never dusted off, much less washed off. Turned them over and found the same condition on the back. Same every day. It cannot be said this is typical of Greek hospitality no matter how economical the hotel. We did have a double bed which we appreciated and the sea was in view from the room.

Room Tip: double bed, do not have your meals included
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ARHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

We just spent a week staying at the Hotel Magda. It is a clean hotel with spacious rooms that have wonderful views of the sea. The beds are hard but that is to be expected in Greece. The deep pool is a boon and it is only 200metres from the town by the sea. Also, therefore from some lovely swimmable coves.

The service was the only drawback. I realize that some find Magda and her family helpful but most of our group of five couples did not. Maybe a smile is possible for an extra charge? When asked for a second key we received a stern lecture by the male proprietor, and even though we acknowledged his concern about power usage if a key was left in the power activator and that we would not do so, he remained rude and terse and stated that we would be charged 20% extra if we did so. The promise is: 'we will do anything for you' but the reality is different. Greetings are sometimes not responded to, two tiny cakes of soap were provided for the room for the week and no replacement given after they were finished half way through the week, and you are required to make your own bed each day. Once we did not receive fresh towels, but instead all of the old ones were draped over the balcony. An afternoon rain shower meant we returned to sodden towels. The staff attitude is so unfriendly we did not bother to ask for fresh ones. Towels are not provided by the pool which was a hassle for us traveling from the other side of the world and not having such.

The breakfast and lunch provided was meager. The breakfast being pop cereals eaten by children, sliced egg and reconstituted luncheon sausage, tomatoes ( sometimes old), cucumber, olives and bread. Very large containers of jam were provided also, but not eaten by guests. At lunch there was a protein ( beware the chicken that is sliced by a cleaver as this results in much bone swallowing), a lot of potatoes, and Greek salad or a vegetable. Quantities were small. Coffee was very weak.

Agia Marina is a lovely quiet town. There are numerous restaurants and we would particularly recommend the first one on the left hand side after turning into the town, especially for its freshly made moussaka. We all had our best meal at a restaurant about 3 kms through town on the right hand side, recognized by the large wine barrels out front. A restaurant meal ranges from E5-12 for a main dish. For a cheap meal there are excellent gyros (E2)at a fast food type eatery half way down on the left hand side going into town.

Getting around Aegina is easy by scooter, quad bike or car. There are two rental places in the town. We used the one on the right hand side of the street, but it had poor power, a bald and flat tyre, and dodgy steering. It costs E20-35 per day.

In town are several good clothing shops and two jewelry shops. The goods are cheaper than in Athens but of the same quality.

Room Tip: Most rooms are twin so ask for a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HFTNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2008

great holiday, stayed at Magda 5 times. clean hotel, Magda and her brother are very friendly.

  • Liked — the friendly staff, and good clean rooms
  • Disliked — leaving it to go home
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank annieplancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agia Marina hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Liberty 2
Hotel Liberty 2
#6 of 30 in Agia Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rachel
Hotel Rachel
#3 of 30 in Agia Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angela Hotel
Angela Hotel
#1 of 30 in Agia Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Galini Hotel
Galini Hotel
#19 of 30 in Agia Marina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Possidon
#10 of 30 in Agia Marina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Afea
Hotel Afea
#4 of 30 in Agia Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magda

Property: Hotel Magda
Address: Afea Road, Agia Marina 180 10, Greece
Region: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Aegina > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Agia Marina
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Magda 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Hotel Magda Aegina/Agia Marina, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing