We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I WOULD COME BACK NEXT SUMMER”
Review of Argo Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Argo Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Agia Marina
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I WOULD COME BACK NEXT SUMMER”
Reviewed 30 August 2010

THE ARGO SPA is a Very nice hotel, especially the Spa for relaxing.
Every Saturday night do not miss the Barbeque by the sea just in front of the hotel.
Nice comfortable rooms with all the comfors for a pleasant stay. Drink a glass of red wine when you look the sunset in the sea from your balcony or from the lovely kafe place. The delicious food is to tasteful. IS FANTASTIC.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ILIAS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    7
    1
    6
    8
See reviews for
12
18
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

So much for all inclusive - if you like poor quality food, service and bedding then this hotel is for you. We did not bother with eating here after one meal as the food was so poor. The hotel is full of morbidly obese women with screaming brats running around behind them. It is not a place for anyone that expects decent service. The bar is never attended and the staff will decide when you should be served. The beds are so hard you will have a bad back for the next day. I had to take the cushions from the sofa outside our room to try and make the bed more comfortable. The bathroom is tiny and their idea of fixing up a room is to just paint everything white - including the mould and broken door frame. We left our room for a day out and locked it, when we returned the balcony door was left unlocked - not good for security.
We had 3 nights here and I would never want to stay at this hotel again. Do yourself a favour and make sure you get a recomendation from someone you can trust. Argo hotel needs a good cleasing fire, new management and staff. I wasn't prepared to try the spa - somehow I just didn't think it was worth it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AJLCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agia Marina hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

The minute we entered the room they started spraying chemicals all over the hotel for debugging..!
The hotel's owners( a really big family) are extremely rude to everyboby, but the rest of the people who worked there were really nice.
The wall of our room was covered with curtain just to hide huge cracks from previous earthquake(s)...
The bathroom with a shower as small, as in a dollhouse was old and rusty, Thank
god, the cleaners were trying to do their best.
On the web site, there's ouzo and octapus for everybody at 11:00 but we haven't tasted it cause there was none at the time we were there...
In the children's playroom there were things spread all over the floor, dangerous for the kids and a door with broken glass, which stayed together by tape!!!!!!!
The parking in front of the hotel is big enough for 3 cars. There's a bigger one about 300 m away, which is common for all the other hotels and restaurants in the area.
Be careful about charges because we finally paid more than it was advertised on the web site!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
How about the late check out that it's written on the hotel's site. yes, you can stay if you pay for the rest of the day!
The food was getting less and less as the days went by and sometimes we had to ask even for salads and bread (!!!!!!!!) to be brought.
The all inclusive basis was actually full board + toasts, cookies and drinks for the time that the main (and only) restaurant was closed...
We cannot recommend this hotel to anyone, unless there's someone we don't like, just to make him have a terrible stay!
But Aegina is a wonderful island and we are going to visit it again and again!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank kainaface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2010

It was a surprise to find such a good service so close to Athens. Good value for the money we spend. The best All inclusive hotel we have been sofar.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulgino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

He have just returned from our holiday at the fantastic island of Aegina. We actually booked this hotel as we were attracted from its price in combination of what was offered in the package. We got an all inclusive deal, free soft drinks and some alcoholic drinks, two spa treatments and our 3 night stay for eur 300.

The hotel has not been renovated for decades, the decoration is horrible and so old fashioned, rooms are tiny but my worst nightmare was the bathroom. You simply dont fit in this small shower, you cant turn, if you drop your sponch you are in trouble! You flush and you get a horrible sewage smell coming, you try to brush your teeth and the pooring tab water stinks! The bed sheets were stained and the curtains were nearly falling apart. I was thankful that the AC was working properly. No sound proof walls, you know everything about the next door guests and so do they about your!

The hotel is advertising at the local press with an all inclusive package including breakfast, lunch and dinner, more over some snack timings twice a day stating that pizzas, pies and fresh cakes will be served along with tea, coffee or refresments. Actually, snacking buffer is the left over breakfast, where instead of pizzas, pastries and mini pies you get left over omelette pieces, hard boiled eggs, bread rolls, leftover salami and cheese! How nasty is that? I never saw any fresh cakes, just the same cookies I noticed at the breakfast buffet. All dairy products and juices served at the hotel were non branded, I didnt have any coffee as I do take it with milk and the smell of the brand they were using was awfully smelling....

The chef is too much appraised for the kind and basic food he ser ves - every day pasta, grilled chicken, salads and panacotta! When u travel to Greece and especially the islands who wants to eat roasted chicken with potatoes when you can taste the local delicacies? Holidays and summer in Greece mean ouzo and meze and not steamed broccoli and boiled pasta.

It is a family run business, where they dont make any effort to please the guests. Impolite and unfriendly - I asked the lady at the bar what kind of coffees do they do and she replied back by saying "Just tell me what coffee do you want". My husband thanked the guy at the restaurant and hejust nodded back, not even bothered to reply in a proper way. We obviously ended up eating at the local tavernas and did not utilize the spa treatments as there was no spa they way we were expecting. I can also put myself in a hot tab with oil and call it spa treatment!

Lastly, this was not a hotel for young couples - all guests were 60 years old and above or families with babies. We had a fantastic holiday in Aegina island, but regretted the hotel option. Try the local bus route from Aghia Marina to Aegina Town as you get breath taking views of the island. Maybe opt for hotel Apollo - looked fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DimsPappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 July 2004

Very nice hotel, especially the Spa for relaxing.
Every Saturday night do not miss the Barbeque by the sea just in front of the hotel.
Nice comfortable rooms with all the comfors for a pleasant stay.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
0.2 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#2 of 29 in Agia Marina
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rachel
Hotel Rachel
#3 of 29 in Agia Marina
279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#7 of 29 in Agia Marina
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Vagia Hotel
Vagia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vagia
218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Afea
Hotel Afea
#4 of 29 in Agia Marina
31 reviews
2.5 mi away
Irides Luxury Studios
Irides Luxury Studios
#1 of 5 in Souvala
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argo Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argo Hotel & Spa

Property: Argo Hotel & Spa
Address: Agia Marina 18010, Greece
Region: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Aegina > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Agia Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Argo Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Argo Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argo Hotel & Spa Aegina/Agia Marina, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing