We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel In Agia Marina”
Review of Hotel Rachel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rachel
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Agia Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Our stay at Hotel Rachel was fantastic, Maria and John were very helpful and if we needed anything it was never any bother. They have a lot of good information about the island which was very helpful and they helped us plan trips around the island and the best ways of getting around the island too. They also told us about the Temple in Agia Marina and how to get there and back down to the town. Our room was perfect, good size, cleaned daily and had a fridge and tv too. We had a blacony which was wonderful and it was lovely sitting outside on it in an evening just relaxing with a drink. We were minutes away from the beach which was great and Maria and John supplied lots of beach things like mats and umbrellas so that you don't have to pay for them on the beach. Once you get to the island you can either take a taxi or a bus over to Agia marina, I will warn you that there are only three buses a day if you are going earlier in the season and we were lucky and caught the last bus by fifteen minuets at 2.30pm. The bus is cheaper than a taxi but if you are leaving for the boat early then you can ask John or Maria and they will happily book you a taxi, it cost us about 15euros from Agia marina to Aegina town. Breakfast at the hotel was great, there was lots to choice from and it did fill you up ready for the day a head. I would aslo recommend 'Big Banana' which is a lovely resturant not far from Hotel Rachel, they are a lovely couple and have great food!! we went there many times and can't wait to go back! Our stay at hotel Rachel was fabulous and I highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Agia Marina, it has a friendly and relax environment, perfect location and great people that run it, John and Maria become good friends and you can ask them for any help or advice that you need!! Have a lovely stay here :D

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony, you will love it :)
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rachel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

Staying at Hotel Rachel exceeded all my imaginations. Upon arrival we were greeted by Maria immediately and she directed us to the reception desk. Her and her brother, John, were extremely accomodating. We forgot our plug in converters and John gladly provided us with one to borrow for the night. Also, they provided beach mats and umbrellas to borrow (everything complementary, I should mentiona). As well, they were both very informative as to what to do, and where to go on the island.

The location of the hotel is another key point. Hotel Rachel is walking distance to the main beach and many restaurants and shops in the area. For those who want to drive, cars are available to rent.

The rooms in the hotel were comfortable and although I will admit that the walls between rooms are pretty thin (we could hear the noise from the street and people in the hall) it was not a huge inconvience. I assume that many hotels in the area probably have the same problem.

Breakfast was provided by John and Maria, which consisted of hard boiled eggs, various lunch meats, cheese, buiscuits, coffee, cereal, juice, milk, water and sorted breads. For the cheap cost of our stay, the breakfast variety was better than I thought it would be and sufficed as my morning meal.

I truely enjoyed my stay at Hotel Rachel and I believe that Maria and John are the ones to thank. I reccomend everyone to stay at this hotel for they will not be dissapointed. :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Angelica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

The hotel itself is fairly basic but perfectly serviceable. Not posh or plush but I suspect no different to most of the other nearby hotels. And that's the one and ONLY reason why its an 4 and not 5 rating. Great value for money, but the service offered by the proprietors (John and Maria) raises the bar from just 'a good deal' to a truly enjoyable experience second to none.

Maria and John are the perfect hosts. Their hospitality held no bounds - advice on where to eat, booking taxi's horse riding sessions, sorting out car rentals,guiding us on things to see while on the island, sharing a bag of pistachios to evening chats - truly a personable pair.

My husband and i stayed here as part of our mini-moon after having just gotten married in Italy. John and Maria set out a fruit basket and bottle of wine in the room on arrival. Its only 30 seconds away from the biggest sandiest beach on the island equipped with beach chairs and umbrellas for rent. Or you can borrow mats and umbrellas from the hotel. We deliberately didnt want to stay in the busier port and am so glad we chose Agia Marina. The seafood was fantastic and everyone was sooo friendly - it was not unusual to get chatting with restaurant and shop owners.

The best way to see the island is by car - you can cover most of the main sights within an afternoon. Must see's include the temple of Afia which is actually older than the Acropolis and close to the hotel. John actually offered to give us a lift us there. Tip: drive there. Its fine to walk back, but as we discovered, walking uphill on rocky paths is not so much fun!

But for the best views, if you ride horses, go on a mountain hack with Adonis (John helped book this). Absolutely stunning! I had 2 looong hacks and one the second one, we stopped by a tiny house owned by Adonis' granduncle for a coffee, cigarette and a chat. The fact that we didnt even speak the same language did not matter - thats the hospitality of the Greeks!

We had booked 3 nights and were due to stay in Athens a night before flying back to London but we had such a good time that we cancelled the Athens hotel , stayed an additional night at Hotel Rachel and travelled straight to the airport. John quoted us a price below what we were already paying per night, we offered to pay the same amount but John would not take it!

We were gutted when it was time to leave, but have some great memories.

Room Tip: Get one on the first floor so you get your own balcony
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

stayed there for one day only luckily enough . it was noisy very thin walls.
Breakfast not as advertised very poor full of biscuits....
we were a couple given a triple room as there was no double available. room very small ..price charged was that of a triple room for 3 person as i realised later over internet..

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Antoniaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
kuwait
13
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We loved every moment of our short stay. The views are beautiful the owners are personable and happy to sit and have a chat over a hot cup of coffee. The rooms are very small but well kept. The balcony seemed almost larger than the room with a beautiful shade. A wonderful way to spend an evening with a glass of wine after site seeing all day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with trip.ru
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

John and Maria are the best hosts, the breakfast is wonderful, salads, jams, drinks, breads, cakes, eggs, cheese, ham any anything you want. conversation was great. there is a shop as well and of course great cats for company. the view is lovely and I was alone on the beach and swam and sun bathed in peace and quiet. a mat and umbrella were provided free. the room was clean and well cared for. air con and English tv. table and chairs on the balcony at night. it was lovely

Room Tip: all rooms face south.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank noelle n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We spent 2 nights in this hotel.. it was really good.. we were really well hosted by Maria & John ! Nice breakfast included in the price, that actually was really low !!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SamMora87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
0.4 mi away
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#2 of 28 in Agia Marina
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galini Hotel
Galini Hotel
#14 of 28 in Agia Marina
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Karyatides
Hotel Karyatides
#21 of 28 in Agia Marina
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Anatoli
Hotel Anatoli
#17 of 28 in Agia Marina
77 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vagia Hotel
Vagia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vagia
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Liberty 1
Hotel Liberty 1
#19 of 28 in Agia Marina
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rachel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rachel

Address: 188 Kyriakou Galari, Agia Marina 180 10, Greece
Region: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Aegina > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Agia Marina
Price Range: £25 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Rachel 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rachel is ideally located at the centre of Agia Marina-Aegina Island, just 30meters from the best and biggest beach on the Island. Hotel Rachel offers beautiful rooms with all the amenities reception areas, café/bar, a rich buffet breakfast and clothes and accessories shops with special discounts. The friendly environment, flawless service, pleasant atmosphere and services provided guarantee a wonderful stay. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you in our Hotel Rachel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rachel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachel Hotel Agia Marina
Hotel Rachel Aegina/Agia Marina, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing