We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”
Review of Hotel Rachel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rachel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Agia Marina
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This was my second visit to Hotel Rachel. After visiting 3 years ago with my daughter, it was an easy choice to return with my son. The proximity to the beach, to restaurants, to shops and motorbike/bike/quad/kayak rentals makes this a great location. More importantly, the hospitality of Yianni and Angelika makes it just as enjoyable to sit in the main lobby/patio and have a beer, or coffee while you play chess, surf the internet, people watch or try to channel Plato or Aristotle.
The island is conveniently located if you want to use it as a quiet base from which to launch to nearby Athens.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EleniB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    45
    9
    12
    10
See reviews for
47
104
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This hotel is exactly as shown on the website. But if you have never stayed in a small Greek hotel, don't let your imagination run wild. The rooms are small and the bathroom is tiny, but both are very well equipped. The hotel is well maintained, spotlessly clean, and the breakfast buffet is generous. The owners try hard to please.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gordon_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Great (perfect) location, close to the beach, port, shops and restaurants. Very friendly and helpful staff and owners. Very,very clean and neat. Nice breakfast in a homely atmosphere. Really good value for money, will definetly go back there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Collete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The best thing about Hotel Rachel is the couple who run the place, Yiannis and Angelika! They are so friendly and welcoming and they genuinely care about everything they do and really show interest in making your stay enjoyable. I have stayed in many places in Greece and though this hotel is rather rustic it is certainly very good value for money and the location is second to none being just a couple of minutes from both the beach and the Main Street of Agia Marina but it is a quiet area. The room was a little small but then there were 3 of us, for 2 people it would have been spot on. It was very clean, had brand new mattresses, a new iron(still boxed) and a new kettle(still boxed). The buffet breakfast was included in the room price and was excellent, and the atmosphere in the breakfast room was really friendly, we loved it!
We would definitely use this hotel again, don't expect 5 star luxury but then you're not paying 5 star prices. Location, honest, friendly service and lovely hosts is what you get.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JapJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Hotel Rachel is located in a good spot right next to the beach and in the town center. The rooms are comfy and have some brand new features. The air condition is working perfectly! The one thing that bothered us was the noisy neighburs... The balconies are seperated only partially so you can hear your neighbours and when they are noisy hear them perfectly.
In general the hotel is ok but if you want something extra and chic it will disapoint you ;-)
The best attribute of this hotel are the owners! They are extremaly nice and are ready to ofer you any help that you want at any time of the day! The breakfast is broad in variety! The also offer a car rental service and have umbrellas and mats which you can take with you on the beach (free of charge).

I am writing this review after visiting places in Naxos and Santorini. The thing that striked me is that the prices on Aegina are much more higher than on the other islands (in general) and the standard is poorer! This is couse of the different tax rates (Aegina 23% - Naxos 6%!)
I would suggest going to Aegina or Angistri for a day trip and instead visiting... Milos or some other beautiful island.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrigorisGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Summary: Awesome stay for VERY cheap. I will go back!

Room:
From the sheets to the hairdryer, everything was new in the room. Yannis and Aggeliki are very helpful in making sure our stay was comfortable. The room is for sleeping after a day out on the beach, so it served its purpose very well.

Breakfast Buffet:
Everything is locally sourced. The bread is fresh from the local bakery, the milk, eggs, fruit and vegetables are all local! The owners take pride in the breakfast they serve. The breakfast alone was worth more than what we paid for the night to stay.

Culture:
Yannis and Aggeliki were very helpful hosts and always serviced us when we needed help. They told us local shops to check out and also serviced the room when we needed it. They are also willing to sit down and have conversations with guests as they are interested in who is staying at their family run hotel.

Beach:
Steps away from the hotel. They even offered us beach mats and small water items. We just paid 5 EU to use one of the beach restaurant's lounge chairs. Tip: with your renting of the lounge chairs, make sure you can order food and/or a coffee/frappe.

Cons:
The hotel is on the opposite side of the main port. They have a port next to the hotel, but it was not open when we visited. This is not a fault of the hotel. We rented an ATV and toured the island

You can't go wrong with this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pabenjam23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We booked 3 persons , 2 nights, arrived and shown ok room, but double bed and single, explained 3 males separate beds...... then given a basement room ,no internet, aircon not work, mosquitoes ate us....the bathroom door very difficult to open,,, got stuck inside or outside ....they never gave any other guests a basement room ... one bed no ceiling and freind bumped his head a few times.... Complained nicely but never moved us.... breakfast good....plenty of other hotels in area.........

Room Tip: nice gyros restaurant,,,, main steet left 30 metres
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
1.7 mi away
Vagia Hotel
Vagia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vagia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angela Hotel
Angela Hotel
#1 of 29 in Agia Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ela Mesa Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Anatoli
Hotel Anatoli
#9 of 29 in Agia Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
6.0 mi away
Aegina Hotel
Aegina Hotel
#4 of 15 in Aegina Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Liberty 2
Hotel Liberty 2
#5 of 29 in Agia Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rachel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rachel

Property: Hotel Rachel
Address: 188 Kyriakou Galari, Agia Marina 180 10, Greece
Region: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Aegina > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Agia Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Rachel 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rachel is ideally located at the centre of Agia Marina-Aegina Island, just 30meters from the best and biggest beach on the Island. Hotel Rachel offers beautiful rooms with all the amenities reception areas, café/bar, a rich buffet breakfast and clothes and accessories shops with special discounts. The friendly environment, flawless service, pleasant atmosphere and services provided guarantee a wonderful stay. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you in our Hotel Rachel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rachel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachel Hotel Agia Marina
Hotel Rachel Aegina/Agia Marina, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing