We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home, but no work” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rachel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Rachel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Agia Marina
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home, but no work”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2009

Just the place for a wonderfully relaxing holiday with excellent hosts who make one feel at home and are always there to help out with information and anything else that is required. Great buffet breakfast , free use of beachmats and beach umbrellas.Very easy to travel to from Athens Airport . We are definitely going again same time next year!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sim130483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    45
    9
    12
    10
See reviews for
47
103
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

A lovely hotel very close to the best Aegina beach and where the hosts will make you feel at home from the moment you first step in.
We arrived at Aegina port and rented a scooter for 10 euros a day, and it took us about 20 minutes drive trough the lovely island to the hotel, highly recomended!
Maria and John are great hosts and we will definately like to recomend this great hotel if you travel to Aegina :)

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank estrellasystars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

We went to Hotel Rachel after reading the reviews on this site and I can say I can’t rate the hotel enough!

Rooms, while not spacious, are clean, air conditioned and more than adequate for your stay at Agia Marina. They have showers, and toilet (watch out for Greek plumbing, paper does not go in the loo). Stay on the top floor for a really cool balcony to sit and relax and watch the world go by.

What sells Hotel Rachel is the friendliness and thoughtfulness of the owners, brother and sister Maria and Yannis go out of their way to help you and make you feel welcome (complete with a welcome drink). Their breakfast is great with yoghurt, ham, cheese, bread, cereals, jams, muffins , coffee, tea and juices. The hotel provides free WIFI and even has a pc where you can check on mails otherwise. They even provide beach mats and umbrellas for the beach , which is a mere 2 min walk away. In short for a great family run hotel where nothing is too much trouble come here.

We’ll be back next year no doubt for another fab beach holiday…..what a wonderful time!

Just to note to get from Athens get the X96 bus straight from airport to Pyraeus (about 1 and a quarter hours); if timed well get a ferry straight to Agia Marina, otherwise just go to Agina town (this will take between 40 min-1 hours and costs between 9-15 euros ) and get the taxi,( yes the bus is adequate if antiquated, but a taxi (around 13-15 euros) will take you 15 min as opposed to 40)

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saffagirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

After 2 year we spend another long weekend in Agia Marina and it was our second stay in Hotel Rachel. After arrival at early evening we had a warm welcome from Maria and John. Both are very nice and everytime helpful to the guests.
The hotel itself is very good located in Agia Marina (short walk to port, few meters to beach and "city center" nearly around the corner.
Rooms are not the biggest, but everytime very clean (fresh towels and bedclothes). Aircondition, Freezer and TV available. WLAN in hotel rooms and Internet access in lounge - if somebody needs it during his vacation ;-). Now they offer also breakfast buffet (incl. very tasty greek youghurt, eggs, cheese, cereals and much more).

If I plan few free days again in Agia Marina, I will take the opportunity to stay in Hotel Rachel, managed by John and Maria.

best regards
Carl-Ernst and Tatiana
Vienna/Austria

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl-Ernst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

probably my favorite place to stay, great location, excellent service

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

Was only there for a night, but a great place to stay. A very reasonable price can get you a good room, along with breakfast, aircon, fridge, hot showers, free-to-use beach mats and a resident computer with internet. Located just a step away from the beach, and the staff were very friendly. (Thanks to them! :-))

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Archaeologist9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2009

Hotel Rachel was an excellent place to stay on the island, was located right next to a lovely beach and the hotel owners were extremely accomodating. Rooms were very well priced and contained everything that you needed, with sea-view from the balcony! Breakfast was great with loads on offer.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hah456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
6.0 mi away
Angela Hotel
Angela Hotel
#1 of 30 in Agia Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vagia Hotel
Vagia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vagia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ela Mesa Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Liberty 2
Hotel Liberty 2
#6 of 30 in Agia Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Rastoni
Hotel Rastoni
#1 of 16 in Aegina Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
6.0 mi away
Aegina Hotel
Aegina Hotel
#4 of 16 in Aegina Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rachel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rachel

Property: Hotel Rachel
Address: 188 Kyriakou Galari, Agia Marina 180 10, Greece
Region: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Aegina > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Agia Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Rachel 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rachel is ideally located at the centre of Agia Marina-Aegina Island, just 30meters from the best and biggest beach on the Island. Hotel Rachel offers beautiful rooms with all the amenities reception areas, café/bar, a rich buffet breakfast and clothes and accessories shops with special discounts. The friendly environment, flawless service, pleasant atmosphere and services provided guarantee a wonderful stay. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you in our Hotel Rachel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Rachel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachel Hotel Agia Marina
Hotel Rachel Aegina/Agia Marina, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing