We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay, with warm hospitality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rachel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rachel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Agia Marina
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, with warm hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

We wrapped up a three week trip to Greece and Israel (exluding our very last night) with two nights in Aegina. The hotel hosts, John and Maria, were very helpful and friendly. The first week in June was relatively quiet, and John gave us a ride to the Temple of Aphias rather than waiting for the bus. (I'm sure he can't do that for all guests in the high season, but the personal service was excellent). He even gave us a lift later when he had a trip across the island to Aegina town. We returned from there by bus, which is not expensive but only runs about once every 90 minutes.

The breakfast was very nice, and we enjoyed opening the windows and hearing the waves on the seashore. Agia Marina is more of village than a town. There are a row of restaurants and shops (including one owned by Rachel, the mother of the hotel operators). John and Maria gave us good advice about two restaurants, one just down the hill from the hotel on the right, and one up the small hill and then right on the main street (Papa---- something, I recall) just where the main road bends up the hill. Both had seating overlooking the ocean, and we shared a fish appetizer (at one gavros -- fresh anchovies) and other vegetarian dishes at a reasonable price.
They also have a computer in the lobby that guests could use.

There is a lot more frequent ferry boat service to Aegina town (across the island -- about a half hour by taxi or bus) but there is service about twice a day directly to the pier in Agia Maria, just down the hill from Hotel Rachel (about the equivalent of a block in the city -- perhaps 150 or 200 meters). Get the name of the company -- I think Alexandros as I found that information hard to obtain at Pireas port.

We found our stay very pleasant and relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rtaba285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    45
    9
    12
    10
See reviews for
47
103
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SE England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

We have just returned from a week at this hotel. Initially I was a bit disappointed with the room but that is because I had unrealistic expectations, this is not a five star but to be honest I have stayed in 4 stars that are not as nice as this hotel. The room was a bit on the small side but the huge balcony more than made up for this (you don't go to this island to stay in your room). You have a fridge, with glasses in the freezer compartment (nice touch), you have a tv with english channels if you did feel the need to watch tv. More important was the relaxed atmosphere which is sorely missing from most hotels. Maria and John are great people and defintely deserve all the praise they get on this site. Maria's shops are great and I got a few nice bits with an even nicer discount (her mums shop round the corner is very good too). The hotel is very clean which is one of the most important things, it's no good having flash decor when the standard of hygiene leaves a lot to be desired. We had a very good time here and would defininately recommend this hotel to others and would book again if staying on the Island.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shabbagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

I went to Aegina for a romantic getaway to propose to my girlfriend. I had no plans as I did not know what to expect but it was a Greek Island, how could you go wrong .right? But without the help of the hotel staff going out of their way to accomodate, it would have gone wrong. Aegina is great because it is so close to Athens, what the point of flying ALL the way to Greece just to sit in a boat for another six hours just to go to an island. Aigia Marina is the best place on Aegina and Hotel Rachel is the best hotel in Aigia Marina so the decision was easy. The hotel is simple, cozy, and the best part is it is the BEST value for your money, you will get an authentic feel for Island living. We had a tv, frig, AC, and a nice balcony with a WONDERFUL view! Hotel Rachel is close to EVERYTHING! The beach is behind you, the shopping is in front of you, and all the cafes and restaurants are right next to you. No matter how great your hotel room is, PLEASE don't spend your time locked up in there, Aigia Marina has so much to offer! I only went to my room to sleep and shower, everyday, all day I was out and about. Hotel Rachel has a great breakfast and the perfect cafe to hang out in at any time during the rest of the day. Also, if you ever forget anything, their store has everything you need from sunscreen and shorts to souveniers and chair and umbrella rentals cheaper than anyone else on the beach. They arranged to drive me to ancient ruins, St Nektarios Monestary, and suggested GREAT night life hot spots. They know everyone and everything on the Island. Their kindness and hospitality was better then any hotel I've stayed at in the US. You don't go to a Greek Island to be treated as a business executive but rather a member of the family and that is exactly what Hotel Rachel does. I would definitely stay there again and have already planned on it. Special thanks to Maria and Gianni for making my stay so memorable and special.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrkThundr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aegina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

RACHEL hotel is very beautiful...ROOMS is very clean and comfortable!!!MARIA & GIANNIS are very friendly and very nice...they may feel like home!!! i want to meet you again in the most fantastic hotel....***********

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aeginaAegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALIFORNIA BAY AREA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

Hotel Rachel was the perfect place to stay during our trip to Aegina. It's a one minute walk to "the best beach on Aegina," and John and Maria were excellent hosts. The rates were excellent for the quality of the accommodations as well. Breakfast is included and there's free WiFi (don't spend too much time on the internet, though. You're on a Greek Isle!). A+

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WONGIVANJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

Aegina is a wonderful island and the Hotel Rachel in Aghia Maria great value for money.
It is in a prime location for the town and the beach and John and Maria are great hosts.
Very welcoming,friendly and always willing to help.
The buffet breakfast is also very substantial and sets you up for the day.
There is free Wi Fi and things like beach mats and umbrellas for you to take with you the 2 minute walk to the beach.
Aghia Maria is a great place to stay on Aegina and I would recommend you try the Hotel Rachel

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesbrothwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

We spent 6 days in this hotel and were happy because of friendly owners and nice accomodation. Although room was very small it was very clean and has a very big balcony. Breakfast was good. Especially we were nice surprised because of free sun umbrellas and other things for beach. This place almost worth its money. Dear Jone we look at your farewell gift to us and recollect our nice holiday in your hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoscowOdessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agia Marina
6.0 mi away
Angela Hotel
Angela Hotel
#1 of 30 in Agia Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vagia Hotel
Vagia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vagia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ela Mesa Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Liberty 2
Hotel Liberty 2
#5 of 30 in Agia Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Rastoni
Hotel Rastoni
#1 of 16 in Aegina Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
6.0 mi away
Aegina Hotel
Aegina Hotel
#3 of 16 in Aegina Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rachel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rachel

Property: Hotel Rachel
Address: 188 Kyriakou Galari, Agia Marina 180 10, Greece
Region: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Aegina > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Agia Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Rachel 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rachel is ideally located at the centre of Agia Marina-Aegina Island, just 30meters from the best and biggest beach on the Island. Hotel Rachel offers beautiful rooms with all the amenities reception areas, café/bar, a rich buffet breakfast and clothes and accessories shops with special discounts. The friendly environment, flawless service, pleasant atmosphere and services provided guarantee a wonderful stay. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you in our Hotel Rachel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Rachel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rachel Hotel Agia Marina
Hotel Rachel Aegina/Agia Marina, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing