We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This will be the place in La Rioha also next time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sercotel Villa de Laguardia Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Laguardia
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This will be the place in La Rioha also next time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel fulfill all our expections. When next time in la Rioha we will stay here if there is room left. So easy...I'm sorry about short and not too descritive story but everyona have own reasons to visit in la Rioha Our was holiday, wine, goos food and relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kummiseta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villadelaguardia, Director Comercial at Sercotel Villa de Laguardia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
We will be pleasant to see you again in Rioja Alavesa,
Best regads,
Hotel Villa de Laguardia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    276
    95
    20
    15
See reviews for
112
327
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

This is a great hotel only an hour or so from Bilbao and right in the middle of the Rioja region. The hotel is a little tired because it is a few years old and comparing to Marques de Ricsall (which is probably not fare), but everything was very clean and perfectly presented. The Spa is good too. Not everything was working when we were there, but it is a fantastic pool. We stayed for 2 nights to make the most of the spa. We did not find it noisy, but in November was probably not full. The restaurant was good too. The town is well worth a visit too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterpvcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We were a couple but had to travel in the school holidays and this then becomes a family destination - great pool and garden fenced off so very safe for children and parents can relax. For us it was a bit noisy but out of school holidays we would imagine this being a lovely place for couples. The town on the hill is a short, if steep, 15 minute walk with lovely streets and good food. Wineries abound and many tours and tastings are available. Staff were great. We had an attic room with limited windows so you rely on the aircon. The spa did not seem to be open when we were there which was a shame.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NightOwl1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel. Great value for money, and had a lot of amenities. The restaurant was adequate in terms of food, nice wine list (no surprise), but the ambiance was great eating outside in the garden in the summer. The pool wasn't very big, but loved being able to relax by an outdoor pool, as many hotels don't have one. The rooms were decent, and they have a wine shop too. We didn't use the spa. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk uphill to get the village; very doable if you don't mind the walk. There are a couple wineries you could get to by walking, but a car is definitely preferable (book a taxi a day in advance if you don't have a car, as there aren't many taxis). Our stay did not include breakfast so we chose to buy groceries nearby and keep in the room's fridge which was handy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melimango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villadelaguardia, Public Relations Manager at Sercotel Villa de Laguardia Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Many thanks for your time, we wish see you again and sugest you to try our breakfast buffet wich includes all type of products.
Best regards.
Hotel Villa de Laguardia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
154 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed 3 nights, very pleased. Clean room with lovely view, large bathroom and mini-fridge. Room not huge but had everything we needed (desk, chairs, tv, small table, etc). 24hr front desk with helpful multi-lingual -- including english :) -- staff. 3 restaurant formats (fancier, bistro, and bar), we ate one meal in total there - lunch outside at the bistro. Food quite good with a wide variety and generous portions (I had a sardine appetizer as my meal and it was plenty!). Service quite good - it is a european pace, if you are in a hurry I suggest grabbing some tapa at the bar. We were so busy exploring Rioja that we didn't use the pool or spa. We signed up for a rate that did not include breakfast.

Parking is free if you park outside; covered parking 10e per night. If you are coming from Logrono or south/east, the driveway is easy to find. If you are coming from Haro on the N (surface) road, you may drive past the entrance the first time - if you get to the gas station, you have gone too far.

Laguardia is a beautiful little village with great views, mostly pedestrian streets, plenty of stores cafes and restaurants but not too touristy. Roughly 10 minute walk uphill to the center from the hotel, sidewalks or pedestrian streets all the way. One deli had samples of jamon, queso and vino at 10am! One of our winery tour guides told us that Laguardia is her favorite village in Rioja. The front desk has an excellent map of the village available in English, if you are looking for a particular type of store ask and they will mark it for you. We visited one of the stone-age sites mentioned in the map near Villar which was quite interesting for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babystepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villadelaguardia, Director Comercial at Sercotel Villa de Laguardia Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Many thanks for writtiing your opinion about us. We inform you about a free transfer from the hotel to the historic center of Laguardia. Ask for time table at the reception of the hotel.
Best regards.
Hotel Villa de Laguardia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
472 reviews
348 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Laguardia is an absolutely enchanting town and we are glad we spent a night there. The hotel is a pleasing place just outside the small city. We liked our room, but we had to put up a fight to get moved into it from a room we didn't like. Breakfast was good and there was free parking during our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the restaurant terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderfulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villadelaguardia, Director Comercial at Sercotel Villa de Laguardia Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Many thanks for giving us your opinion. Our 83 rooms are different style, do not hesitate to ask us about a change in case you don´t like yours.
Best regards.
Hotel VIlla de Laguardia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at the Villa De LaGuardia for one night last week as part of our journey up to Bilbao from the Costa del Sol. We arrived to a very friendly and pleasant welcome, and our room was very clean and comfortable, with a really nice bathroom.

Although their outdoor pool was supposed to have closed for the low season, on the day we arrived the weather was still very good and they told us that the pool was available, which was excellent after a 5 hour car journey. The hotel has an excellent terrace for drinking and dining and although we did not eat at the hotel, the food we saw people having looked very nice indeed.

Being in the heart of Rioja country, the hotel has its own wine shop.

The hotel is about a 15 to 20 minute walk from the centre of the amazing, historical town of Laguardia, where you enter through the castle gates into an amazing square full of old buildings, which are great to explore. Heavy, ornate wooden doors are often open, and you can peer in to some amazingly interesting old dwellings. No cars can get in to the area so it's very peaceful. Like many parts of Spain, the elderly people sit out together in the warm evenings, chatting and watching everyone walking around. There are bars and restaurants in and around the square with a range of prices. Very atmospheric and interesting - and in one of the bars down one of the narrow, cobbled streets we paid only 1 Euro 40 Cents for two glasses of red wine - how can you beat that? We visited the town at night, and it looked fantastic when darkness fell and the lanterns were all lit.

Friendly bar service at the hotel, and an overall great impression. We would happily stay there again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laguardia
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes
0.6 mi away
Hotel Castillo El Collado
Hotel Castillo El Collado
#2 of 6 in Laguardia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Posada Mayor de Migueloa
Posada Mayor de Migueloa
#4 of 6 in Laguardia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel
4.3 mi away
Hotel Viura
Hotel Viura
#1 of 1 in Villabuena de Alava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marixa
Hotel Marixa
#5 of 6 in Laguardia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sercotel Villa de Laguardia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Villa de Laguardia Hotel

Property: Sercotel Villa de Laguardia Hotel
Address: Paseo de San Raimundo, 15, 01300 Laguardia, Spain (Formerly Hotel Villa De Laguardia)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Alava > Laguardia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Laguardia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sercotel Villa de Laguardia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sercotel Villa de Laguardia Hotel is a 4-star hotel designed to offer you a relaxing stay in an astounding natural setting. Set among the vineyards of the region, this hotel in Laguardia offers you a privileged location along many of the various culinary trails as well as the Rioja Alavesa Wine Route. The Sercotel Villa de Laguardia Hotel boasts 84 rooms and a beautiful spa with treatments based on wine and olive oil. Inside the hotel you can also enjoy the ’Medoc Alavés’ and ’Bistró el Villa’ restaurants. The location, midway between the provinces of Logroño and Álava, is ideal for a couple of restful days when you will be able to enjoy the surroundings as well as everything our spa hotel in Laguardia has to offer. There is a pool, a wine store, a wine cellar and plenty of garden areas with a playground for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sercotel Villa de Laguardia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Laguardia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing