We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming”
Review of Hotel Arocena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Arocena
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zestoa
Conover, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very charming”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Lovely hotel in my favorite place in the world. The charm that this hotel has is exquisite. If you're looking for modern amenities and decor, look elsewhere. The beds are a bit firm, but not too bad. Service is great. Otherwise, this place is fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank lovelythorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    2
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
1
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The big plus to the property is that it has great "bones" and good service. The minus is that it is anything but plush. The updates have been done cheaply. All that said, the rooms were clean and the food was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KuonaDunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This hotel is 103 years old and hasn't been updated. It was fine to spend one night and is a whole lot cheaper than nearby San Sebastian. It is definitely not a 3 star. I'm sure is was 90 years ago.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveling999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

Explorica booked my 6 students and I here, along with a larger group of Canadians who never figured out how loud they were- but oh well. We were there- overnight on our way to Madrid- in late March and we FROZE... because we're from Maui. The staff was lovely, though- extra blankets? No problem!!!

Hotel Arocena was likely the height of elegance 50 or 100 years ago. It has been renovated and it is possible that much of the furnishings came from the flea market... and there is NO sound proofing at all... BUT, this place has lovely views and it retains an old world charm that more than makes up for the noise. The bathrooms are not luxurious, but they are more than adequate. The floors in the rooms are gorgeous wood... I am smiling just thinking of it. Every room I visited had a beautiful view.

We ate a set dinner in the grand old dining room- it was delicious- and the breakfast the next morning was enough to get us going for the day.

It's no Ritz Carlton, and I might bring earplugs, but I would gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2007

I took a group of college students to Spain one year and our agents booked this hotel. It's a beautiful hotel in a small town just minutes off the highway. I thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Tiny little town with one bar and a guy named Jesus who will serve you whatever you're hungry for. Super nice people and unbelievably abundant meals at the hotel. Very good value. We've asked to be booked there again.

  • Liked — Beautiful hotel and location
  • Disliked — Small town
  • Stayed January 2003
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank alfredlitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zestoa
3.3 mi away
Casa Rural Jesuskoa
Casa Rural Jesuskoa
#1 of 4 in Zumaia
399 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Arrupe
Hotel Arrupe
#3 of 3 in Azpeitia
33 reviews
4.0 mi away
Landarte
Landarte
#2 of 4 in Zumaia
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hotel Zumalabe
Hotel Zumalabe
#1 of 1 in Mutriku
33 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Loiola
Hotel Loiola
#2 of 3 in Azpeitia
43 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel San Prudentzio
Hotel San Prudentzio
#1 of 5 in Getaria
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arocena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arocena

Property: Hotel Arocena
Address: San Juan Bidea, 16, 20749 Zestoa, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Zestoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zestoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arocena 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Arocena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing