We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world”
Review of Hotel Del Sitjar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Del Sitjar
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Calaceite
south wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Out of this world”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The 6 of us arrived at this hotel on motorbikes and after such a long ride from ferry to hotel we were greeted with a friendly face and a smile, we orderd drinks before checking in and the service was impeccable. There were no language barrier as most of the staff spoke good english. The hotel itself was extremely spotless, light, cool and airy. the rooms were beautiful with ambient lighting and exremely comfortable. The food was also fabulous and suited every taste. The waiter phillipe was outstanding he attended to our every need and no request was too much to ask. They also allowed us to use their private garage to keep our motorbikes safe at no extra charge. They have rated this hotel as 3 star.. but a 5 star is more suited. We had no negative points about this hotel.. and would definitely recommend and stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jojohynam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    48
    8
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
105
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Quiet, cool and excellent food! Service is as good as it gets, even if the staff doesnt speak english! We only stayed for one night, but if I will be in the region I will stay here again.so if you're in the area this is where you should stay!! Three stars is at least one too little!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rstuvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Calaceite after a long scenic drive. The hotel is nestled at the top of the hill- and to reach it by car you drive through the very narrow quint streets. It really sets the scene for amazing things to come.
We were greeted at reception by a lovely lady, who unfortunately spoke very little English. This was the only minor negative to the whole experience as she was trying to explain that we couldn't park our car outside as there was a market early the following morning. Eventually she called a friend who spoke perfect English and relayed the message.
We were shown up to our room which was truly magnificent. We had views out across the sprawling countryside and could even see the mountains in the distance! The room had a lovely mix of tradition meets modern. One wall had been left to show exposed brick- a lovely feature which was carried through to the gorgeous en suite. With a large bath and shower, plenty of storage space, a modern TV and huge comfy bed- we couldn't have asked for better.
Breakfast was served between 9-10.30 but could have been earlier on request. There was much choice, and all pastries, fruits, meat etc was very fresh and well presented! Plenty to fill you up for the day!
The only negative (which is us just nitpicking) is that as the village is so quiet, there isn't always someone on reception. This being the case, if you arrive at the hotel when staff aren't there you are given a number to ring. Not being Spanish citizens, this would have been rather costly! However, this didn't happen to us- so, all in all it was a fab experience and we would definitely recommend and stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ld19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We used this hotel as a base for our day trips around the Matarraña area. We were upgraded to a superior room with excellent views of the surrounding countryside. It is located right in the main town square with beautiful stone buildings all around. The renovation of the building has been done beautifully, preserving all the minute details of the old building which makes the stay even more interesting. We loved particularly the cellar. It was really worth it and the attention by the hotel staff was faultless.

I suggest to visit the iberian archeological sites which are within walking distance from the town. As a tip, "Hipica MB" is a horse trekking company in the nearby town "Cretas". We had an amazing day riding horses across the countryside.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My wife and I had the pleasure to stay at this hotel for 2 nights in September 2011. It's located directly in the village lovely "Main Plaza" but still very quiet. Arrived mid afternoon and door was closed but within 5 mins of a phone call, we were warmly welcomed. We opted for a superior room and it was really worth it; the view of the mountains from the numerous windows in our room, the sloping ceiling with original wooden beams. Room was very well decorated with bright colours and bathroom was very adequate. Hearty breakfast and succulent dinner under subdued lighting, soft romantic music and great wine list.The hotel has several rooms to relax (lounges, terrace, swimming pool and reading room). Charming hotel, worth the trip.

Room Tip: Superior rooms on higher floors facing mountains are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calaceite
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel El Cresol
Boutique Hotel El Cresol
#1 of 2 in Calaceite
225 reviews
19.1 mi away
Hotel Consolacion
Hotel Consolacion
#2 of 2 in Monroyo
233 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hotel Moli De L'Hereu
Hotel Moli De L'Hereu
#2 of 2 in Rafales
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Hotel Mas de la Costa
Hotel Mas de la Costa
#1 of 4 in Valderrobres
64 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel El Convent 1613
Hotel El Convent 1613
#1 of 1 in La Fresneda
172 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Villa de Cretas
Hotel Villa de Cretas
#1 of 1 in Cretas
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Sitjar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Sitjar

Property: Hotel Del Sitjar
Address: Plaza Espana 15, 44610 Calaceite, Spain
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Teruel > Matarranya > Calaceite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Calaceite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Del Sitjar 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Del Sitjar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing