We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
140
9
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
9
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews las chimeneas sole the main house made us feel perfect hosts home from home feel welcome sierra nevada alpujarras mountains memorable holiday off the beaten track his wife wonderful week paella friendly place story teller second to none
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2017

This was one of my favorite stays in the Sierra Nevada. It was a privilege to meet David, Andrew, and especially chef Allister. The accommodation had such an authentic ambience and OMG the food and, claro, the copas de vinos Espanol.

Room tip: This hotel has a large range of rooms. It would be good to state your preference.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Just arrived at this cosy fine rural place. The welcome was very warm and friendly. We got offered some fresh melon and cold drinks while the paper work was done. The room is simple but nice. Just everything you want for a relaxing vacation in the Sierra Nevada in Andalusia. It is a perfect starting point for some nice walks in the mountains.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank L6303HUerikm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

This was our second visit to Las Chimeneas, having previously visited in 2012.

We got the same room above the restaurant, which had a very nice terrace, with great views over the surrounding countryside.

As before, David, Emma and their staff were very helpful in suggesting walks to suit our abilities. We also enjoyed the couple of guided visits with David, to their finca and the church at Jubar.

The restaurant was, as always, excellent, with a choice of 3 starters, main courses and desserts each evening. Most evenings we got to share a table with another couple, which was nice.

Breakfast was adequate, although somewhat lacking in variety.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Situated in the forefront of the Alpujarran village of Mairena Las Chimeneas provides a great base for hiking, exploring this somewhat off the track area, and enjoying the wonderful food served in the on-site restaurant.

Upon arrival we were greeted by Katrina who showed us around the property ultimately to our large comfortable room with a nice front window and balcony providing wonderful views across the hills to the sea. A chat on the terrace of the restaurant with a beer/glass of wine along with some excellent homemade crackers made for a great first impression.

The room, as well as the bathroom was spacious with a working table and excellent WiFi access. From our window we could see other villages in the distance and rural life passing us by (see photo of a shepherd with his goats). The bed and breakfast price is excellent value.

During both of the nights we stayed at Las Chimeneas in mid May it was pretty much full, with two groups of hikers and another of painters. With the nice rooms and restaurant this provides a great base for hiking the slopes of the Sierra Nevada mountains and surrounding countryside, visiting the nearby villages or if one wishes going a bit further to the sea.

The food is very good with an opportunity to select from three options (one of three appetizers; one of three mains; and one of three desserts), one of which is vegetarian. The meals were unique (examples included fresh squid, braised rabbit, a traditional Spanish tortilla, red peppers stuffed with Alpujarran ratatouille…), delicious and again reasonably priced. The owners David and Emma were around during dinner to chat and make sure all was well. Emma has written a book “Recipes and Stories from an Alpujarran Village’, a copy of which we purchased. It is interesting in not only for the local recipes but also the stories of life and experiences in a small relatively remote village. Well worth purchasing.

Mairena and Las Chimeneas are certainly not in the mainstream of tourism. The drive along the twisty (but very good quality) roads is slow but scenic. The village is small without many services but then not much is needed if staying at Las Chimeneas. The staff is great, the food is great, the room was great, the vistas are great – all providing for a great stay.

Room tip: Don't know the number or name but loved our large room with its great views on the front directly above the lounge.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Norm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laschimeneas, Owner at Casa Rural Las Chimeneas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Hey! Thanks for such a considerate and warmhearted assessment; it's reviews like this that really keep us going. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay here and hope that you will be able to visit us again some time......and if you do, don't forget that the best way to book is direct, via our website, which I cannot name here, but which you can see at the top of your screen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

No accolade could possibly improve on the vast majority of existing reviews for Las Chimineas, how the 2 people that found fault could ever be satisfied with any accommodation is a mystery to me. We stayed for a weeks walking and were overwhelmed by the level of service, communication, restaurant menus, food, local knowledge and overall customer service. We walked everyday secure in the knowledge that walks were matched to our abilities, and armed with varied pack lunches that sustained us between the plentiful country breakfast and dinner which amazed us each night. The chance to mix with other travellers and trade stories was a bonus though this was not mandatory. Emma, David, Kat, Nick, Andrew and Alistair all worked hard to integrate us with the regions specialities and we could not praise them highly enough. We would recommend Las Chimineas to anyone who wants to "get off the beaten track" and enjoy spectacular walks in beautiful countryside.

Room tip: Ask for a room with its own terrace / balcony if possible.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobD1893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews