We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place - the way all hotels should be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cortijo Puerto el Peral
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Almogia
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in amazing countryside, with charm, grandeur and hospitality in equal measure.

The owners Alan and Hetti are excellent hosts, they made us feel so welcome and well looked after during our stay. There is a warmth and homeliness to the Cortijo Puerto el Peral that you rarely see nowadays, which is so much in contrast to most 'boutique' hotels, and yet it is of a quality that matches the best of them.

We will be coming back soon and would recommend this place to anyone coming to this region of Spain.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Cortijo Puerto el Peral
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is really a wonderful and very quiet place. The owners Hendrika and Alan are lovely.
... Wonderful food, fresh and excellent. We should never have departed from there.... We only stayed two nights. Warm and family welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hecquet e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights in October for a short break, the purpose of which was rest and relaxation in the sunshine. It was absolutely brilliant. The hotel was spotlessly clean and spacious, the layout was very well thought out and gave guests options for enjoying the sunshine, the shade or some indoors space if you really wanted to get out of the heat. There were books everywhere, left by previous guests. I particularly liked the 360 degree views from the room at the very top, I think called a mirador. Viewing the night sky was wonderful as there was no light pollution.
Our room was very spacious, with a juliette balcony to the side and large balcony overlooking the central courtyard with a table & chairs. Our beds had mosquito nets if we wanted to sleep with the doors open, and shutters on all the windows meant that the morning sun stayed out until we invited it in.
The location is remote, so I would recommend hiring a car if you want to get out and about to see the sights. We didn't as we wanted to stay put for the majority of our short stay. The local taxi was reliable and reasonably priced with a clean modern car.
We did visit Malaga for a day and were very impressed, I would love to go back again. The taxi back from Malaga was much more expensive. It appears that all the museums in Malaga are closed on a Monday so Mondays are best avoided.
The food was brilliant, fresh and flavourful. There are no restaurants in walking distance so again a car is handy if you want to eat elsewhere, or want to fetch snacks for during the day. We were asked every day if what was planned for the evening meal was OK for us and if not we were given other options. The portions were substantial enough that I didn't need to snack at all. I recommend the salad for lunch as it was one of the best I've ever had, the dressing was amazing.
A truly lovely place. I recommend it if you like peace and quite with no traffic noise and lovely views.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is a lovely retreat set in the most stunning natural Spanish landscape. The area is breathtakingly beautiful and is incredibly inspiring for travellers who are interested in such. El Torcal and the Ardales are a must to see. We stayed at Cortijo Puerto el Peral for 7 nights and hired a car. Although this was meant to be a 'slow and easy' break the area was so beautiful we were out and about exploring every day. There are many small ,very Spanish, undiscovered villages nearby and, of course, there is Malaga on the coast which offers fabulous eating and Spanish culture. This city is getting better and better offering a stunning new port area,parks, galleries and shoppping.We know Andalucia well but were stunned by the beauty of the area around the Cortijo.
As for the rest - the hotel's hosts are warm, sociable and interesting people who go out of their way to make your stay perfect. Our room (called 'Cadiz') was spacious and comfortable with a fabulous view from the french windows. The bathroom was large and well equipped.
The hotel is delightful.

Don't hesitate -just book it!

Room Tip: We would use 'Cadiz' again
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArtDecoFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

It is all true what the previous reviewers of this "4-star hotel" mentioned. But because of what they probably appreciated, we left the day after we arrived, requested to pay for the full three days we booked.

This place is not a commercial operated hotel with standard hotel services, where you can stay as a regular hotel guest. This is a luxury bed and breakfast that also serves a lunch/evening meal because there is no other serious place within 30 minutes drive (by car). There is no a la carte option nor any basic choice. You have to eat what is served.

It all is done in "cosy-type" atmosphere, in which the two owners take a dominant position.

If this is what you are looking for: a "cosy" atmosphere, Bed and Breakfast type of services, becoming part of the "family of guests" and a joint meal in a countryside scenery ( every highway or bigger place is at least 45 minutes drive on a county road), than this is probably the best place in the world.

We are regular travelers, always staying in luxury hotels, daily doing some sightseeing, relaxing for some hours on the pool and finish the day on the terrace of a nice restaurant. These are the days that we live our own life.

For us it is difficult to accept that a "hotel" decides for us, and determine when/what we have to do.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Emiel_en_Monique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abstractAmsterdam, Owner at Cortijo Puerto el Peral, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Our prospective guests only need to look at all the other reviews, they speak for themselves..

"All our other guests cheered when this "Gentleman" and his wife left......".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This is an excellent hotel for people who like to have a quiet and restfull vacation, and who want to escape from the crowded areas. You can, in consultation with the owners, fill in your own agenda; nothing is mandatory, anything is possible. Located in the middle of Andalusia, you have the possibility to visit every city, but you are obliged to have your own means of transportation (in other words, you have to have a car at your disposal). The hotel has a large swimming pool. The rooms are very neat and the beth is "heavenly". The owners, Alan and Hetty, are an adorable couple, very friendly and warm. Hetty's lunches and dinners are delicious. We can strongly recommend

Room Tip: •"Las habitaciones son más grandes y soleadas" •"Las habitaciones en los entorna son...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cox2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The place is pefect. Everyone who looking for quiet place will be happy. Dishes is delicious. Hosts became you will feel like part of familly. Everydays sings birds wake up us. It was miracle. The hotel is on the top of the mountain, wiev of the window is incredible.

Monika & Sławomir, Polska.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slawekzbytomia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almogia
9.6 mi away
Complejo Turistico Rural La Garganta
4.7 mi away
Hotel La Fuente del Sol
9.5 mi away
Hotel Convento de la Magdalena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Apartamentos Ardales
Apartamentos Ardales
#1 of 2 in Ardales
122 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Antequera
Hotel Antequera
#2 of 15 in Antequera
845 reviews
12.6 mi away
La Posada Del Conde
La Posada Del Conde
#2 of 2 in Ardales
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo Puerto el Peral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo Puerto el Peral

Address: | Monterroso, 29150 Almogia, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Almogia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Almogia
Price Range: £106 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cortijo Puerto el Peral 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cortijo Puerto El Peral is widely recognized as one of the most beautiful and exclusive country hotels in Andalucia. Situated in the middle of some of Andalucia's most spectacular countryside it offers, to our guest, all the luxury that you would expect in a four star rural hotel but with a "laid back" atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cortijo Puerto el Peral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing