We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXQUISITE FOOD - DELIGHTFUL OWNERS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amada Carlota Hotel Rural
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Torazo
Oxted
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“EXQUISITE FOOD - DELIGHTFUL OWNERS”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed in La Casa Blanca, Xiranes whose owner recommended Amada Carlota to us for dinner and advised that booking is a must. As it was our 18th Wedding Anniversary we decided to give it a go. Carlos was very welcoming when we called in to book our evening, giving us the choice of Gastronomic or Japanese tasting menu. We chose the Gastronomic. Arriving on our chosen evening, we were again warmly welcomed to Carlos who led us to our table which was beautifully laid in an intimate setting. Only one other couple were dining so 2x2 tables. The restaurant does not cater for many people [maybe 12 at most] and it soon became clear as to why. Every course was served by Carlos who took time to explain the ingredients and the source. Yolanda presented each course in a unique and pleasing to the eye manner. Such a shame to disturb it by eating each morsel. Carlos advised us on the wine to have and it was delectable - completely right as accompaniment to the meal. Overall, the complete Menu degustacion was well balanced, properly seasoned, light and easy so we could savour every mouthful allowing the flavours to circulate around the mouth and palate. All ingredients were obviously fresh and lovingly cooked. At the end of the menu, Yolanda joined us. Our fellow diners were Dutch so could converse; Carlos was our interpreter. Carlos then treated us to a liqueur he himself had made. Delicious. We had an incredible, amazing and - yes - divine experience at Amada Carlota and cannot recommend enough. It is A MUST if you are travelling/staying in the Asturias region. We were there in the evening so couldn't enjoy the views though Carlos told us to come back during the day so that we could do so. Unfortunately time did not permit. However we drove all around this area and can well imagine what the views are like from the Hotel. Stunning, awesome, sensational! The mountains and valleys are breathtaking. For true gourmands, the Menu degustacion Verano 2013 comprised: Sopita de Citricos, Cuchara de Salmon fresco, Milhoja de Queso de Cagra y Kumato, Crema de Tuberculos, Huevo frito con Patatos, Bocado de Manzana Verde, Pato confitado con Manzana, Pastel de Carlota, Pan, Cafe - all for the very reasonable price of 27.50 euros per person plus drinks. My memory is salivating with recall of this dinner as I type! Thank you Carlos and Yolanda for a simply marvellous evening we will not forget!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobOxted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    10
    4
    2
    6
See reviews for
11
122
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riguepeu
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 2 years ago (before we were into writing reviews) and now feel we must add our comments to all the others.
We were extremely well looked after by Carlos and Yolanda with our food cooked to order and of high quality. The views are stunning if the mist is not obscuring everything, it is a chance you have to take.
The house is delightful, spacious but keeping a rustic feel.
We were made extremely welcome and although we only stayed 2 nights we have a special memory of amada Carlota.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank michaelandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights. Just getting there is special. Coming from the sea, the road winds up the mountains. We had seen the green of the coastal mountains from afar. Now we are in the middle. The air smells of grass and herbs.
Then you turn off from the main road. Beautiful views of rolling hills and valleys, and in the background you can see the first peaks of the Picos.
The hotel itself is beautiful decorated. The rooms and bathrooms are modern and cozy at the same time. The view from the terrace is amazing. We hear the ringing of cowbells.
Carlos and Yolanda are very amiable hosts. Carlos was always there for special insider tips. Moreover his "Spanish Lessons" have satisfied our curiosity.
Last but not least we have to mention another highlight, the culinary delights prepared with loving attention to detail by Yolanda and presented by Carlos - a real treat for the eyes and for the taste!
We hope to come again and can highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjoern_and_Bettina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2012

although staying in the same village I came here every morning for an excellent breakfast and great advice from Carlos for sightseeing in the immediate area. Nothing is too much trouble for him and his wife Yolanda who is the powerhouse in the kitchen....we dined here one night and I can't describe how much I enjoyed her cuisine.....local ingredients, sympathetic flavours and great modern twists,, unbelievable value for money....I will certainly be back next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pouchsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. We paid extra for a terrace room - and it really was worth it. The view was incredible. The room was clean and modern although a little basic (eg. There was no tv). The dinner in the restaurant was fantastic. We ate there every night and really enjoyed each meal. Carlos, the owner, spoke very good English and was extremely helpful with sight-seeing suggestions. We would really recommend the Amada Carlota to anyone seeking a quiet rural getaway in a beautiful part of Spain.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EveryOtherYear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geleen, Limburg, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed one week in this magnificent hotel with its incredible view on the hills of Asturias (and the Picos!). The owners know everything about all the activities and sites you can visit. We got some great tips (hiking, cycling, restaurants, bars) which made our stay a special experience. The service was outstanding, the hotel itself is a modern and beautiful place, the view on the hills surrounding it is amazing... Beside all the nice restaurants we visited we also enjoyed several outstanding dinners in the hotel itself. They can serve excellent local dishes or for example Japanese food (!!)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annemiek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The first thing that struck us when driving on the hills and ariving to the hotel was the amazing views and location. Amada Carlota is a place for pure relaxation and beauty. But what came to be the most appreciated on our three night stay at Amada Carlota was the hospitality, friendliness and service by the owners Carlos and Yolanda, from the reservation by phone, our arrival and our complete stay. They point out great spots to visit (that we would have never found without their tips) whether it is hiking, villages, beaches or views.

The restaurant is wonderful - with views over the hills and food that is both beautilful and extremely well prepared.

The hotel is tastefully designed and the whole house spreads tranquility.

We definitely recommend Amada Carlota Hotel and we hope to be back for a relaxing weekend soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigrid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torazo
1.6 mi away
Hosteria de Torazo
Hosteria de Torazo
#1 of 2 in Torazo
273 reviews
7.4 mi away
Puebloastur Eco-Resort Wellness & Spa
8.9 mi away
Palacio de Luces - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
La Corte de Lugas
La Corte de Lugas
#2 of 13 in Villaviciosa
154 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Casona del Viajante
La Casona del Viajante
#1 of 4 in Pilona Municipality
74 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hotel Maria Manuela
Hotel Maria Manuela
#1 of 1 in Benia de Onis
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amada Carlota Hotel Rural? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amada Carlota Hotel Rural

Property: Amada Carlota Hotel Rural
Address: Aldea La Cotariella 16 | La Cotariella, 33310 Torazo, Spain
Region: Spain > Asturias > Cabranes Municipality > Torazo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Torazo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Amada Carlota Hotel Rural 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A more rural, tranquil retreat is hard to imagine: Amada Carlotta stands alone in thick, green countryside. Carlos and his wife Yolanda opened Amada Carlota in 2006 with the ambition of creating a rural hotel combining ultimate peace and quiet. One regular glowing guest describes the atmosphere as 'a unique experience…paradise'.The building itself is modern - the public rooms are decorated in an unlikely combination of Art Deco and rustic charm - yet somehow they work. Guests are encouraged to 'engage' with their surroundings by appreciating the views from each big picture window. Bedrooms are decorated in neutral colours and modern furniture. Patterned bedspreads make them feel countrified and homely. The rustic theme is continued in the restaurant, which offers generous portions and big flavours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Amada Carlota Hotel Rural reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing