We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Village Inn

The Village Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Village Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Kirtlebridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
DUMFRIESSHIRE
Level Contributor
164 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed recently at The Village Inn whilst attending a wedding at the nearby Springkell Mansion House. The cost was £40 for a family room with Bed & Breakfast. It was certainly worth the money. The premises are basic but clean. The rooms are set above the pub and I would say it makes a good stop off from a journey on the M74 or a wedding where we were. More importantly it could be used for a wedding at Gretna Green where the prices for accommodation are certainly more expensive than what we paid.
Alison the owner has a great personality and she is also very considerate. She can't do enough for you and certainly tries extremely hard to make sure you enjoy your stay! We left at 7am the next day to head to Manchester for a flight and Alison got up early to make us sausage and bacon sandwiches to take with us. Our daughter and son in law had a full breakfast and certainly enjoyed it.
When we arrived in the afternoon we had made arrangements to meet up with another couple who were also attending the wedding. We thought about going into Annan but Alison suggested getting a meal from Donna and Orhan who have recently started hiring out her kitchen for their Pizzeria business. It turned out to be a very good idea as we had lovely pizza and chips as did my daughter and her husband. The other couple had burgers and chips. Everyone of us thoroughly enjoyed our meal and it cost less than £10 per couple. It seems to be a thriving business as the phone never halted for orders whilst we were there!
I would certainly recommend The Village Inn to anyone, but people must remember its basic accommodation above a pub and not a 5* hotel. It's definitely worth what we paid for it and look forward to using it again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Franmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
34
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We needed to stay somewhere for the night in the Borders en route from our stay in the Hebrides and found this place on Tripadvisor, well we couldn't have gone to a better place! Despite the somewhat haphazard set up of the Inn the bedroom was clean, comfortable, WiFi available, Alison is great and the breakfast wonderful. All in all it was exceptionally good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here overnight on our way to stay in Gourock and really enjoyed it. The best feature of the hotel is the owner Alison!! She is such a character and really welcoming and friendly. She can't do enough for you (or anyone else for that matter!!). The rooms were big, basic and clean. They are in need of an upgrade (due to be done soon) but that won't stop your enjoyment of staying in this little gem. The locals who come in for a drink (or takeaway food) were all lovely too. Also, Donna and her partner who now do food in the evening at the B&B. It may be just pizzas, kebabs, chips etc, but they're done to perfection and, again, lovely people. Breakfast is cooked to order by Alison and it's really tasty and plentiful. The B&B is close to the motorway and easy to find. It's in a quiet location and you can park outside. It was a great stay. A bit like staying with your slightly bonkers, but welcoming aunty (I hope you won't mind me saying that Alison - it's meant in the nicest possible way). Make sure you try this B&B.....you won't regret it! Thanks again to Alison and everyone we met during our stay!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

An ending to our week in Skye and a half way stop that will remain in our memories as an extra days holiday rather than just a pit stop.... Mainly because of the wonderful, friendly Alison! A beautiful, homely, clean and vast room and exceptional service from start to finish made this just the break in a VERY long trip we needed. Murphy and the lads in the bar took to showing my son the art of playing pool, my JackRussell took to trying to become everyone's friend and I sat relaxed with a drink and Alison to chat the evening away with. Superb breakfast, everything you could wish for on offer and all in all outstanding value for money. Thank you Alison from Lisa, Michael and Mollie dog xx

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stopped here on our way up to my parents in Banff and it was an excellent location to choose as just a mile or so of the motorway, but very quiet location. Alison the owner was very good and service was excellent. Will certainly use again as a stop over or few nights accommodation if need be.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan504076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

My mum, myself and my two small boys stayed here the night before a family wedding in Gretna. Alison is lovely, very friendly and welcoming, couldn't fault anything. Breakfast was spot on. Thank you x

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairebf1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights and couldn't have asked for more. We also travelled with our dog which also enjoyed the break and Alison the owner was very accommodating.

Excellent value for money and breakfast was great.

Would highly recommend.

Sara & Andy

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 199SaraA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirtlebridge
0.0 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Ecclefechan Hotel
Ecclefechan Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ecclefechan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ecclefechan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Property: The Village Inn
Address: | By Lockerbie, Kirtlebridge DG11 3LZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirtlebridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kirtlebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Inn is situated in the small picturesque village of Kirtlebridge. Ideally situated being only 1 mile from M74. Edinburgh, Glasgow and Newcastle all just over an hour away and the many delights of Dumfries and Galloway are on the doorstep. Savour the home from home atmosphere whilst enjoying a drink in the bar. Full cooked breakfast included in price. Well behaved dogs welcomed and free internet access. Newly opened within pub - The Village Pizzeria. Pub and restaurant closed Wednesdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Inn Kirtlebridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing