We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as it was according to other reviews.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Primerose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Primerose
1 review
“Not as good as it was according to other reviews.”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Although ok for a stopover our party of 8 chose to stay 7 days and only saw our host "Charles" for 3 days as he now spends most of the working week in Paris with his "new" wife so the Villa is run more like an Hotel. Rooms are spacious and would be good value for families when up to two extra beds can be fitted in, for couples prices are in the upper range at €80-€90.
When Charles was around he was most helpfull but when he was absent little things like not being able to use the Lounge were very incovienent especially as it rained most of our stay and was cold outside.
Food was ok, breakfast was fine but we opted for some evening meals and apart from one night when Charles & his wife cooked, the others 3 nights were impersonal. The food and wine was at restaurant prices but without the choice, did not expect to pay extra for coffee and cheese.
We also ate at two local restaurants, The Saint Hubert which was good and a Morocan one called the Anzi which was not, their Tagine did have some flavour but the meat was mostly bone and not very tender. Also expensive at nearly €20 for the main dish.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Potts33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    79
    20
    6
    10
See reviews for
40
169
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Umina Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed here ( June 2011 ) as a 1 night stopover on our way to Paris. The town itself was not that interesting with limited places to eat but Villa Primerose was a lovely place to stay. Our room was very spacious with a large bathroom and clean. The dining room where breakfast was served was beautiful and Charles made time to talk with all his guests. The breakfast was typically french with home made jams from their own fruit trees.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colourcooljul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Lovely mansion, comfortable room with huge bathroom. Charles was a genial host who delighted in presenting an excellent dinner and comprehensive breakfast. Unfortunately we could only spend one night here on our tour of North East France. Free WIFI was provided, but we didn't manage to fathom the complexities of the TV boxes.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
110 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Just returned from 2 nights' stay in Villa Primerose. Great location; 30km north west of Troyes.
It's an historic mansion that was restored tastefully with complete comfort in mind. Free Wi Fi in the house! Continental (typical French) breakfast is included in the room rate. It was a nice spread of products with freshly brewed coffe or tea. On weekends, Charles, the host will advise you where to go and what to see in the area. Charles converses in English as well as French.
The rooms are upstairs; no elevator. Free parking on site. We recommend the villa warmly!
www.villaprimerose.com

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hershie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This is our second stay in two years. Primerose is excellent for that stop off just before Calais. Arcis is a sleepy little town with a great river and park for the kids and some good restaurants (when open in the summer). The main house has been beautifully restored and decorated and really is a pleasure to stay in. A complimentary aperitif on arrival always put you in a good mood and Charles always provides a first rate breakfast and with jazz in the background you find yourself eating more than you should and wishing you'd booked another night. Also, this is a great place to stock up on some really good Champagne.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this well restored and appropriately furnished, substantial historic house close to the autoroute near Troyes.
The room was comfortable and spacious. There is ample off-road parking in the grounds.
The owner, Charles, and his family went out of their way to make us welcome. I don't know where he finds the energy! It is more than just a B&B stop, it is an opportunity to share in one man's passion to restore a beautiful old house.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CB500F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed in the new gite in the grounds of Villa Primerose for two days with our two small kids (1 and 3). First I have to congratulate Charles, the owner: superbly helpful, thoughtful, and always around when you needed something. Without being asked he equipped the gite with a stair gate, travel cot and bottle warmer, and sent us off to a local festival we would otherwise have missed. Second, the space in the gite was excellent value - newly done up in a modern style (very different to the house). Probably not ideal for a young family due to some very steep stairs (although the large garden has swings and a slide, which is great) but it would be really excellent for a group of adults: two good-sized bedrooms with comfy beds, upstairs sitting room with TV/sofa and well-equipped kitchen/dining room downstairs. Arcis itself isn't the most thrilling town in the world but it's well positioned for the Lac D'Orient, the southern part of the champagne region, and is minutes off the Autoroute (if you're mid journey).

Room Tip: The gite is great for a group of adults travelling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turnturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcis sur Aube
16.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel de la Poste
16.7 mi away
Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean
16.1 mi away
Kyriad Troyes Centre
Kyriad Troyes Centre
#4 of 23 in Troyes
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Troyes
Golden Tulip Troyes
#1 of 4 in Barberey-Saint-Sulpice
259 reviews
14.2 mi away
Logis Hotel des Sources
Logis Hotel des Sources
#1 of 1 in Creney-pres-Troyes
167 reviews
15.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Troyes Barberey
B&B Hotel Troyes Barberey
#2 of 4 in Barberey-Saint-Sulpice
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Primerose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Primerose

Property: Villa Primerose
Address: 94 rue Saint Remy, 10700 Arcis sur Aube, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Aube > Arcis sur Aube
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Arcis sur Aube
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Primerose 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Champagne, near Troyes and shopping outlets, the Villa Primerose offers accommodation in a particular hotel offering luxury and comfort. Our 5 bedrooms have got 4 keys assigned by the Committee for Tourism in Champagne. Moldings, wainscoting, wood floors, high ceilings and fireplaces are part of the decor of the rooms of this mansion ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Primerose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing