We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Lea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A good location to tour the Wye valley. Very comfortable with good home cooked food. Caroline's recommendations on local sights and eating places were a great help.A pleasurable and friendly experience .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dtcoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Hello
Many thanks for your kind review. I am just so glad I was able to steer you to good dog-friendly places to visit and to eat. Jelly is missing her doggy companion!
Come back soon
caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband and I chose Lea House because of its locality but it proved to be far more than convenient. We could not have asked for more. Caroline had thought of everything just to make our stay that little bit more special e.g. biscuits with our tea/coffee making facilities in the room, hair dryer, cotton buds, face cloths etc. We would have given five stars but the shower was not particularly efficient, although what you should expect from a beautiful old house. Very tasty breakfast made with local produce. Should have been £39 per head (£78) for the Hayloft (2013 prices) but we were charged £88. Despite this we will be back.

Room Tip: We treated ourselves to The Hayloft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to give me a review and for pointing out that the shower was not great, thanks for the tip, I hadn't realised. As it happens that bathroom is being enlarged and upgraded this winter so I hope it has not put you off returning.
Regarding the pricing - the room is indeed £78 per night this year but for a one-night stay there is an additional £5 per head surcharge which is clearly stated. You must not have spotted that but, because you booked through Booking.com, the price was fixed when you booked anyway. But I am sorry if there was any misunderstanding.
I hope your son is getting on well at college and that you will be back to see him soon.
best wishes
caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The house is gorgeous with carefully selected furnishings. This accommodation is perfectly located to enjoy the Wye Valley and Goodrich Castle. Try the homemade bread and marmalade and the rest of the local produce for breakfast. Caroline made us feel very welcome and we enjoyed a comfortable night in a very pleasant place. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoeAC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Many thanks. It is great that Goodrich Castle is so close by. Nearly all my guests visit it and all come back saying how great it is, but so little known.
best wishes
caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

A warm welcome and a comfortable stay in this beautiful old house. Caroline is full of useful tips on what to see and where to eat etc., invaluable advice. The room and food were first class.
Excellent location to explore the whole Wye valley, Forest of Dean and beyond, with the attractive town of Ross only 10 minutes away.
There is a lot more to see and do in this area than at first it seems.
Plenty of historical sites and outdoors-type activities. Loads of walking along the river or in the forest.
An abundance of good restaurants, bistros, pubs, etc to suit all tastes.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger_and_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

How lucky I am that the Rugby League World Cup brought you in my direction to do a bit of exploring. So glad you were impressed and hope you come back soon to see some more.
best wishes
caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is a very attractive old building conveniently located on the A40 with easy access to a myriad of paces to see and things to do in the beautiful county of Herefordshire.

The accommodation and the food were excellent. The room we stayed in was more like a bedroom in someone's house rather than the traditional soulless B&B room. Tastefully decorated, with a very large comfy bed, TV, tea/coffee making facilities and en-suite bathroom with shower. The breakfast menu offers a wide selection that caters for all tastes and the food itself is well presented well cooked with good quality ingredients used. We also had dinner in one evening and were not disappointed - again the quality, presentation and taste were superb. Caroline is an excellent host who makes her guests very welcome.

We travel widely both in the UK and abroad and Lea House is high up on my list of places to be recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoBloggs771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you so much. I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review - especially such a flattering one. I hope to see you again one day if you are in the area again.
best wishes
caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Caroline was a superb host.
Food top drawer .
Great place to visit other locations, would certainly come again.
The rooms extremely comfortable and tastefully decorated.
The animals were an added bonus.
All in all a delightful place to stay .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kjj373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Thank you so much, you are too kind. The animals and I hope to see you again soon.
best wishes
caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We have stayed a number of times at Lea House with our dogs and always love the warm welcome and excellent hospitality that we receive from Caroline, Jelly and the cats! With excellent home cooked breakfasts and superb walks on the door step it is a great base for exploring the Wye Valley and Forest of Dean. Definitely a B&B to recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Thanks so much. Can't wait to see you again in a couple of weeks and especially the new baby!
best
caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lea
4.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
418 reviews
4 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
499 reviews
6.2 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Bridge House
The Bridge House
#5 of 43 in Ross-on-Wye
227 reviews
4.2 mi away
Lower Wythall Bed and Breakfast
4.8 mi away
Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lea House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lea House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Lea, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Lea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lea
Price Range: £70 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lea House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lea House offers the highest standards of accommodation. It is the perfect place to relax, where you're made to feel really welcome. Award-winning breakfasts are a real treat with home-made breads and jams, fresh fruit and squeezed juice, local butcher's sausages and locally smoked fish. The house is a beautifully refurbished,16th century, oak-beamed former coaching inn with inglenook fireplace & imaginative decor, adjacent to the Forest of Dean and spectacular Wye Valley. Dogs welcome. Credit cards. Free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Lea House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lea House Bed & Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing