We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Lea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Such a lovely and beautiful place, excellent breakfast and a clean, well facilitated room. Our dog was welcomed with open arms also! Highly recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing break ! Caroline and jelly bean (her dog) were very helpful and have great knowledge of the surroundings .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie7654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you so much. It was really lovely to meet you, and I loved your dog. Come back soon.
best wishes
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    42
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
54
153
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014

A fabulous B&B in a really good location. Caroline was very welcoming and friendly - we had a really good stay. It was also brilliant for our dog too who also had a great time! The resident dog and cats were an added bonus for us and I would really recommend for dog and cat lovers alike!
The breakfast was first class, comfort and cleanliness unbeatable. We loved it as a base for 2 days exploring the area and chilled out in the dog friendly Crown next door for the evenings.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Ooh! How kind of you to say such nice things. I shall look forward to seeing you again, maybe with Matthew the King Charles, very soon.
best wishes
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My mother and I stayed for one night at this gem of a Bed and Breakfast, which we were so lucky to find at quite short notice. We had a room with twin beds and a private bathroom (The Cider Room). It was just what we needed, in fact it exceeded our expectations in every respect. Every need was catered for, the house was beautifully presented and Caroline was the perfect hostess. We would recommend it to anyone and have begun doing so already.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Tracy, thank you so much for taking the time to write me a review, especially when I know you are very occupied with family matters. I do hope you come this way again, and look forward to seeing you and your mum again.
best wishes
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed at Lea House to see The Bore and were made very welcome by Caroline who was extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Luckily we stayed in for evening meals which were delicious as Caroline is and excellent cook. This is a lovely walking area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Granary Room - the bed is huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
It was such a pleasure to cook dinner for such appreciative guests and I am glad you got to see The Bore. Come back again soon
best wishes
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, primarily to see the Severn Bore. Caroline was very helpful and friendly plus the added bonus of being an excellent cook! Our room was really lovely and comfortable, very much 'home from home'. You also get a lovely welcome from Jellybean the gorgeous little dog! Brilliant base for the Severn Bore, Gloucester, Hereford, Ross-on-Wye, Monmouth and The Forest of Dean. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoubleV&C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Glad you got to see The Bore but I hope you can come back for some of our gorgeous spring weather and to see the bluebells maybe.
best wishes
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Lea House; it is a lovely place, the breakfast was fabulous and Caroline was very helpful and friendly. We would certainly recommend staying here to anyone.

Thank you very much Caroline

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MorecambeDebz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words.
Hope to see you again one day
best wishes
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed here for 1 night when on business. As I was going to arrive after my host had gone out for the evening she was nice enough to leave me a key to allow me to get in. Lovely house, room had everything you need. the room I was in had its own full bathroom just down the hall with more than everything you need. I was lucky enough to be able to have the deliciouse breakfast before leaving in the morning. The only criticisum I had was that when arriving in the dark it is not abvious where to park.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Hi - Thanks for your nice comments. I do have a Lea House Parking sign on the gate but truth to tell, people don't always see it in daylight! We live in an unlit village so I am not surprised you may have been confused in the dark. If I had been here, you would have seen me leap out to greet you and show you where to park, but sadly, as you say, I was not. Do hope it won't deter you from calling again if you are back in the area.
best wishes
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lea
6.6 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
569 reviews
4.7 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
388 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
482 reviews
8.4 mi away
Thatch Close Farm B&B
Thatch Close Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Llangrove
27 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Bridge House
The Bridge House
#4 of 43 in Ross-on-Wye
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lea House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lea House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Lea, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Lea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lea House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lea House offers the highest standards of accommodation. It is the perfect place to relax, where you're made to feel really welcome. Award-winning breakfasts are a real treat with home-made breads and jams, fresh fruit and squeezed juice, local butcher's sausages and locally smoked fish. The house is a beautifully refurbished,16th century, oak-beamed former coaching inn with inglenook fireplace & imaginative decor, adjacent to the Forest of Dean and spectacular Wye Valley. Dogs welcome. Credit cards. Free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Lea House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lea House Bed & Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing