We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great host, Great food, Great B & B!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Lea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Middx.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great host, Great food, Great B & B!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My wife and I stayed with her sister and brother in law for two nights w/end 11/12 April. Caroline greeted us on our arrival and gave us all the information we needed for our stay. Her house is really lovely and our room was excellent, comfortable and spacious. We had our dog with us and she loved it to. Our bathroom was spacious and warm. Huge bath with a great range of toiletries. Breakfast was excellent, hot, tasty and fresh. The welcome book in our room and Caroline's knowledge of the area meant we could enjoy our stay without the need to ask any questions. Overall a great stay in a lovely house, owned by a friendly lady in a beautiful part of the UK!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redandblueMiddx_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    42
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
50
150
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a lovely few nights in Lea House. Host Caroline made us feel most welcome in her homely, comfortable B&B, which has good-sized rooms, comfortable beds (with proper bed linen) and excellent cooked breakfasts. There are also lovely dinners available, which we found a great option with our young family in tow, although there are binders full of local information in the rooms which lay out the range of dining options nearby.

Lea House is a charming old building, with a beautiful garden out back in which Caroline's dog and cat roam around. Rooms have all the mod cons - even Wifi - but the biggest attraction of the guest house, and the whole area, is the civilised atmosphere, the local sights and getting away from it all. I'm happy to say that good service and a relaxed atmosphere makes that very easy here - highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Completetosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very much enjoyed our stay at Lea House what a beautiful place full of charm, our room was comfortable and we both slept so well. Nice touches which included shampoo and conditioner not in a silly sachet either. Cooked Breakfast was excellent, homemade bread and marmalade was delicious and freshly squeezed orange juice was a welcome change to the usual one is so often given. Though we did not have our dogs with us it is nice to know that Caroline welcomes dogs to stay which is a bonus given the lovely walks on offer in the area. Would definitely recommend Lea House and will stay again when in the UK

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Very impressed by Lea House B&B. Genuinely an exceptional level of service provided by host Caroline. The food is exquisite and of the highest quality - good local fare served up beautifully. The breakfasts have one an award and it's easy to see why! We also enjoyed dinner on both nights of our stay, which with a six-month-old in tow made for a very stress-free alternative to eating out. Dinner included home-grown sprouting broccoli. Home cooking cooked to perfection!

The room we stayed in was well appointed. Comfy bed, well furnished and without the plethora of patronising signs you sometimes get in other B&Bs. Our room faced the main road but there was very little noise, so if you're concerned about its A40 main road position don't be.

Caroline herself is very welcoming and a charming host. She made us and our little one very welcome, offering little touches to make our stay as relaxing as possible - for example offering our daughter toys to play with and providing a high chair for meals.

Lea House is fantastically positioned for the Forest of Dean, Ross-on-Wye, Goodrich Castle etc with country walks and fresh air by the shed load. If you're looking for a warm, friendly and homely base for your stay, stop looking!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanheems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you it is such a pleasure to cook for people who really enjoy food. Your little girl was a joy, bring her back again soon. I can't wait to see her grow.
best wishes, caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this delightful b & b. Upon arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome and a welcome pack that had obviously taken to a lot of time and effort to compile. The room we had was larger than we expected and was spotlessly clean. The bed was really comfortable and a great nights sleep was had. Breakfast times are as flexible as you want and the options on the menu are endless plus all the produce is fresh and locally sourced and tastes great. Would recommend this place to anybody thinking of visiting the Forest of Dean. Thank you for making our stay so pleasurable

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flash14_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thanks a lot - I do try to put lots of information in the Information folder in your room. I think it is really important that you know all about everything that is on offer locally, to have the best time possible while visiting the area. And eat in the nicest restaurants!
Glad you enjoyed your stay and see you again soon I hope.
best wishes
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Such a lovely and beautiful place, excellent breakfast and a clean, well facilitated room. Our dog was welcomed with open arms also! Highly recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing break ! Caroline and jelly bean (her dog) were very helpful and have great knowledge of the surroundings .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie7654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you so much. It was really lovely to meet you, and I loved your dog. Come back soon.
best wishes
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014

A fabulous B&B in a really good location. Caroline was very welcoming and friendly - we had a really good stay. It was also brilliant for our dog too who also had a great time! The resident dog and cats were an added bonus for us and I would really recommend for dog and cat lovers alike!
The breakfast was first class, comfort and cleanliness unbeatable. We loved it as a base for 2 days exploring the area and chilled out in the dog friendly Crown next door for the evenings.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Ooh! How kind of you to say such nice things. I shall look forward to seeing you again, maybe with Matthew the King Charles, very soon.
best wishes
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lea
4.7 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
382 reviews
6.6 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
557 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Thatch Close Farm B&B
Thatch Close Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Llangrove
27 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Bridge House
The Bridge House
#3 of 43 in Ross-on-Wye
207 reviews
4.7 mi away
Linden Guest House
Linden Guest House
#9 of 43 in Ross-on-Wye
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lea House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lea House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Lea, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Lea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lea House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lea House offers the highest standards of accommodation. It is the perfect place to relax, where you're made to feel really welcome. Award-winning breakfasts are a real treat with home-made breads and jams, fresh fruit and squeezed juice, local butcher's sausages and locally smoked fish. The house is a beautifully refurbished,16th century, oak-beamed former coaching inn with inglenook fireplace & imaginative decor, adjacent to the Forest of Dean and spectacular Wye Valley. Dogs welcome. Credit cards. Free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lea House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lea House Bed & Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing