We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Lea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Benfleet, United Kingdom
1 review
“A warm welcome”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Just returned from 3 nights at Lea House. What a find! The area is stunning. We were welcomed by Caroline and looked after splendidly during our stay. Breakfasts were great with homemade bread - 3 types to choose from- and a very substantial selection of cereals,fruit or yoghurt and THEN the full English! Caroline went to great pains to make sure we visited the best sights- her recommendations were spot on and she also suggested excellent places to eat. We were made to feel very welcome with a comfortable bed and a spacious room with every convenience. We will definitely go back in future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    41
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
50
148
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Assen, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great hospitality and very welcome. The woman of the house told a lot about the area. That was great!
Nice building. Also the room was very nice.
The breakfast was good, every day we could choose something else.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was a return visit to this excellent guest house. Caroline is the perfect hostess and caters for all one's needs. I also appreciate her attention to detail and the little personal touches make the décor of each of the rooms quite exquisite. Add to that the freshly produced food and home cooking plus the comfortable beds and you could not ask for more!

Situated in on the A40 at Lea, it is an ideal location for a lot of attractions and Caroline also has an excellent knowledge of the area and information leaflets.

I am already looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoBloggs771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just arrived home after a great two night stay at this beautiful bed and breakfast in lea a few miles from Ross-on-wye. Lovely friendly greeting from the owner Caroline and also the dog jellybean and the two cats,cracker and Lilly. Our room, the granary, was very pretty with the enormous super king bed that was so very comfy. Caroline gave us a run down of local places to eat and where to visit and took our breakfast order for the following morning.
Breakfast choices were many but we both chose a full cooked breakfast which was accompanied with homemade bread,jams and marmalades and many cereals. Very tasty and the best I've had in a long while.
All in all we had a lovely weekend , the standard of where we stayed made it all the more enjoyable. Highly recommended if you are visiting the area.
We even managed to leave behind some items that Caroline is posting back to us, so many thanks for that ,what customer service !!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely from what I've seen in the brochure. The granary was smashing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollysmum_8, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you so much, and just to let you know the birthday goodies are in the post for you and I have settled the postage. Hope to see you again soon
best wishes from all at the menagerie!
caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I found this b and b friendly welcoming, very homely, everything was clean and tidy and in place.
was so easy to relax after driving 300plus miles during the day with work.
pub literally a minutes walk up the road which served nice food.

would stay again.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Cider Room which was pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L3MAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Missenden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Lovely, comfortable accomodation in an ideal location for all the local attractions, including the Severn Bore. The Lea House has character as does its owner; Caroline is the perfect hostess and made us feel right at home. Due to her knowledge about the area, we saw some brilliant places that we otherwise might have overlooked...she serves great breakfasts too!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hayloft; very spacious with a lovely, comfy 5' bed and ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at Lea House for 2 nights while visiting the music festival in Linton. Caroline is a wonderful host with lots of useful hints and tips on where to go and how to get there. We really felt at home here and our room, the Granary, was very comfortable and spacious. Breakfast is delicious and just the right amount.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lea
4.7 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
375 reviews
6.6 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
540 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
148 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Bridge House
The Bridge House
#3 of 42 in Ross-on-Wye
206 reviews
4.7 mi away
Linden Guest House
Linden Guest House
#9 of 42 in Ross-on-Wye
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lea House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lea House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Lea, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Lea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lea House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lea House offers the highest standards of accommodation. It is the perfect place to relax, where you're made to feel really welcome. Award-winning breakfasts are a real treat with home-made breads and jams, fresh fruit and squeezed juice, local butcher's sausages and locally smoked fish. The house is a beautifully refurbished,16th century, oak-beamed former coaching inn with inglenook fireplace & imaginative decor, adjacent to the Forest of Dean and spectacular Wye Valley. Dogs welcome. Credit cards. Free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lea House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lea House Bed & Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing