We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crown Inn Lea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Inn

The Crown Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Lea B&B and Inns
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Crown Inn Lea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed with family for a couple of days during half term break. Staff are very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Food was outstanding and very reasonably priced. Very comfortable beds, plumbing and electrics were slightly quirky but it all added to the experience of staying in this lovely 15th century building

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    9
    2
    3
    8
See reviews for
8
10
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, the room was very comfortable and the decor was lovely, excellent value for money, big car park and the food was very good
The bus stop was right outside, not a lot to do in the village so transport is important.
Herefordshire is very scenic area and well worth the trip.

Room Tip: Room 2 superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 298Annette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

I was working in the area and found this place on the net and Iam glad I did . All the staff are great they make you welcome as do All the local people in the pub, even the local dog Lilly will come and sit with you . Rooms are clean and Always had a good nights sleep. The food they serve in there is great always hot and tasty. If I work near the area again I would 100% stay here many thanks to Aide , Martin and mark for a great stay and hope to see you all again soon Ivan

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank derbyengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed in Lea for a long family weekend. Went to The Crown Inn several times. Very friendly pub. Food is lovely. Good pub grub throughout the week that is great value for money. Sunday dinner was delicious. This comes with a choice of meats and a wide variety of veg. Best sunday lunch we've had in a long time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraNeilandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Cornwall
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We booked two nights B&B here over a weekend. The owners were lovely and the bar staff were very helpful. The pub is dog friendly so our dog fitted in well and mingled with their German Shepherd!

Dinner - evening meals - ridiculously cheap with an "under £5 menu" - we tried several things during our stay and they were all delicious. Highly recommended for a bit of cheap traditional pub grub.

Accommodation - we were given the family room. Okay the room wasn't huge for a family room but there were only 2 of us and the dog so I can't complain one bit at that!

Just a couple of criticisms where they could hugely improve upon their rating... the bathroom hadn't been vacuumed which was a shame - there was talc on the carpet when we arrived. The skirting boards could do with a wipe down too, bit dusty! Other than that the room was clean. Bedding was a bit dated and stained so needed replacing. There is a portable 12v / 240v fridge in the room for the milk which was just a joke - not only was it not cold, it was too noisy to sleep so we unplugged it - problem solved. Filling the sink with water provided cooling for the milk!

Only other criticism was to do with breakfast. Had no issues whatsoever with a self service breakfast (it's a cheap place to stay so don't expect to have breakfast provided, it's self service). But the choice was extremely limited. Bread for toast, with a selection of jams, cornflakes, Weet-a-Bix and Crossiants. There's a toaster and tea/coffee facilities in the room which is fine. But there wasn't any fruit juice or yoghurt and that was a bit disappointing. To provide a little fridge where they could put juices and yoghurts and some fresh fruit would make a huge difference. And I really hope that the fridges get changed in the room to something more practical!!!

All in all it was a great stay though, a lovely little village with a shop across the road (selling juices and yoghurts!!) and very close to the Forest of Dean which is what we wanted. Would have been 5 starts if the points above had been addressed!

Room Tip: We had the family room which size-wise I would class as a medium-to-large-sized double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Caz (chef de ribs) and his team, prepare the ribs, inc the marinade and smoking process.
Good choice of real ale. Caz is a big fan of "Man v Food", and food won! I couldn't finish the whole rack, which comes with a huge portion of fries and skillet of vegetables or sweetcorn.
i'd recommend for groups more than romantic cosiness- the decor isn't that cosy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Came here with the family for a late Sunday Lunch. We had Pork and beef roasts and the food was great. Vegetables cooked to perfection including a delicious cauliflower cheese and two Yorkshire pads each. Both the pork and beef were beautifully done with chunky servings all round - far too much or us all to finish. The place felt a little unfriendly when we first walked in but first impressions in this case were completely wrong - the service was very helpful and pleasant with nothing being too much trouble.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chesterdoggerel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lea
4.2 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Inn On The Wye
The Inn On The Wye
#19 of 40 in Ross-on-Wye
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Farmers Boy Inn
The Farmers Boy Inn
#1 of 4 in Longhope
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Property: The Crown Inn
Address: Ross Road, Lea, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Lea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Inn Lea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing