We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Karballa
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Guzelyurt
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Karvalli(Guzelyurt)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ihlara Termal Tatil Koyu(Aksaray Province)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Otel Ahsaray(Aksaray)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Unfa Hotel(Nevsehir)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
12
19
8
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
19
8
5
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Stopped here out of the blue. Traveling from Goreme through to Ilhara valley with my mother. We were made very welcome. The rooms were large, light and clean. The beds comfortable and the showers hot. Views over to the mountain was great and the muezzin not too loud. The dining room has to be the largest I have ever had breakfast in.
The town has little to offer but as it was early season a restaurant (cafe really) opened for us and cooked a great kebap, we were the only customers, I suspect that week.
A walk down into the lower old area of the town in the morning was lovely.
Rooms had double beds with a landing with extra single in.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_Jessop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here in July for two nights and loved this old monastery. Our room was spacious with beautiful vaulted ceilings, room decorated with turkish rugs. We absolutely loved the atmosphere of this place and our manager was wonderful even though he did not speak english but was so helpful. We had dinner outside in the garden which was lovely and although the food was basic fare it was really good. We loved this hotel and loved the village of Guzelyurt. We spent two days exploring the area on our bicycles and it was an ideal location for that.

It was expensive for Turkey but we felt that the atmosphere and history of the place was worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Perhaps we were looking forward to visiting this hotel too much. It is a lovely building and our room and the dining room were as we had imagined them to be. We could easily imagine monks moving about the place.
The manager was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the building and the history of the village and the immediate area and gave us much good information, but I am afraid that the praise must end there.
There was a constant unclean smell in the bathroom which I don't think would take too much to sort out.
We had driven for a long time and were tired when we arrived. The manager almost insisted that we took dinner at the hotel and asked us so many times that we eventually agreed. The meal was awful and came with spaghetti instead of the advertised rice. When we pointed this out to the waiter he scraped the pasta off our plates and returned a few minutes later with rice. Our displeasure was magnified the following morning when we learned the price of that meal. Greatly overpriced is putting it mildly.
Thinking we had seen the worst, we looked forward to our breakfast which was the worst we had during a week-long trip which took in four hotels. And a carton of milk on the table! I would have thought for the price we paid, some sort of jug would have been used.
A woman's touch is urgently needed in this place.
Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monsoonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The Karballa is a beautiful and peaceful hotel; it’s maybe a little bit old and some details need a renovation, but it has a certain vintage charm, that fits perfectly in the contest of this little town out of the main routes.

Rooms are big and well lit, furniture is simple and rustic. Bathrooms are basic and towels may be a little rough. Sheets are “traditional”, that means with the standard bottom, but with the Turkish top, that it’s heavier than usual, almost like a towel (we found it in many “not international” hotels).

There is a cute, little swimming pool; I don’t know if it can be crowded because when we was there the hotel had very few guests.

We decided to have dinner there and there was a fixed-menu, it was simple but good. Breakfast instead was not so rich.

The man at the front desk was very nice, he tried to communicate in every way he could, but he couldn’t speak any other language than Turkish (luckily there was a tour guide that helped us translating the most important things). The manager arrived the next day and he spoke a good English, he was very helpful explaining all we needed for our day tour.

The only negative thing is that we overpaid a bit: we had reserved a different hotel, but when we went there nobody showed up; so we had to find a new one quickly and we paid a little bit more than we wanted.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhiteDragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Güzelyurt is a little town not visited by many tourists, more than one hour of driving from the part of cappadocia around Göreme where all the tour groups go. We appreciated being in the middle of a real village without souvenir shops in every house, and the landscape is different from what you see around Göreme and ürgüp, but just as spectacular. Nevertheless, if you want to visit Göreme's Open Air museum, go on a baloon tour, etc., then this is not the best location. However, it's perfect to visit Ihlara valley, not far from various underground cities (including one in Güzelyürt), and there are plenty of hiking options, including Mount Hasan (3268m).
The hotel in a former greek monastery has a lot of charm, it is centrally located in the middle of the village, rooms are big (at least our "deluxe room" on the front side of the builiding) and contain everything you need, and you can have dinner in the old refectory - salads and soup, main course, fruit and desert for 12€, not high-end cuisine, but well prepared local dishes and more than enough even for hungry hikers. Breakfast was ok, but rather basic compared to what we had elsewhere in Turkey. You may indeed feel lost in the refectory if there are not many other guests, but we found that a nicer experience than sitting in the middle of tourist hords elsewhere.
The best about the hotel are the people- the manager speaks english quite well compared to the local standard (in many pensions and restaurants around communicaion is hardly impossible if you do not speak turkish), and his replacement speaks french and also some english. Everybody was extremely friendly, hopsitable and helpful, and the manager takes care of his guests way beyond the usual service at a hotel in this price range - he is full of enthousiasm for the area, and he drove us around, showed us sights and hiking paths, explained us what we could visit and how to get there, made phone calls for us to organise transfers etc., and last but not least accompanied us as a guide on an unforgettable hike to Mount Hasan. He was able to do this because there were hardly any other guests during two days while we were staying there, which is obviously not always the case, and we paid for the taxi and guide services (not more than you would pay elsewhere), but I am sure that even when the hotel is full, he will do his best to help guests to make the best out of their time in Güzelyurt.
Drawbacks were mainly that there was an unpleasant smell in the bathroom (drain cleaning needed?), and the rooms did not seem perfectly clean, but acceptable. Our room was not cleaned one of the two days we stayed there, and overall the price seemed a bit too high for the accomodation as such in this location, but not if you take into account the personal service which really made up for the lack of modern comfort. And there is the muezzin and some donkeys and dogs who may wake you up early in the morning, but that's not really the hotel's fault...
Overall we can thus only recommend to anybody who wants to see more of Cappadocia than the usual tourist highlights!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabelle19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews