We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (972)
Filter reviews
972 results
Traveller rating
381
168
140
81
202
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
168
140
81
202
Show reviews that mention
All reviews senza hotel a lot of food choices beautiful hotel side sea view honest opinion busy hotel rude russians great holiday lobby bar stayed here for a week great for kids a la carte restaurants entertainment alcarte rudeness maids language
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 972 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel as a family 2 adults, 2 children for 8 days in mid August 2018. Booked as a last minute deal through travel republic.

Hotel Facilities:
The hotel itself was pretty to look at and well decorated. The lobby area was a nice space. The rooms were decorated relatively nicely. Our first room had a stain on the carpet. The swimming pool areas were absolutely fine. There were plenty of pools to entertain the children. The temperature of the pools were ok, they weren’t heated but it was good to cool off with the heat of the sun. Everyone got up early and put towels out on sun loungers to keep them which isn’t necessarily independent to this hotel but they did not have any policy to stop this. You wouldn’t mind but they were not even using them. On a couple of occasions I moved towels to let kids lie beside us and that was after 2/3 hours of no one being there.

Suggestion for improvement - policy to stop people hogging sun beds they don’t use.

Our arrival:
We arrived at 2/3am local time after having a delay on our flight. We had to wait for a bit for check in but nothing drastic. We were given a room key for our first room. On arrival the room itself looked well enough decorated/ clean (except the carpet stain). But we only had one double bed and one single bed. I went to reception to advise of this and look for a resolution. I was advised housekeeping would deliver another bed within 10 minutes. I questioned where they would put it as room was not big. By 5am we still had no extra bed. Given the time the kids were extremely tired. After about 3 trips to reception and 3 phone calls which kept resulting in being told 10 minutes about 5 times we were eventually told there were no spare beds. I asked to speak to a manager and was referred to a man standing in reception (still not sure if he was night manager or owner). He was annoyed at housekeeping and very apologetic. We agreed to sleep in that room until the next morning on the premise that we would be changed room the next morning. End result was myself and my partner sharing a small double bed with a nine year old and not having a very good nights sleep.

The next morning when I went to reception I was told that I booked an economy room and that’s what we had. I explained I spoke to the manager the previous night and was told that the person I was speaking to in the morning was the manager. When I questioned why you would sell this type of room when it didn’t meet the needs of 4 people. The manager reluctantly gave us a room key for a room which had a double, a single and sofa bed. We checked this room out and agreed that this was better.

Suggestion for improvement - do not sell rooms not fit for purpose, ensure third party companies do not sell rooms not fit for purpose. Get maids to check sheets for how many people are checking in so that people’s needs are catered for before they arrive and most importantly do not promise something you cannot achieve.

Food:
I will start by saying it’s meant to be ultra all inclusive - we ate out almost every day!!

I understand that everyone has different tastes etc but there were not many options.

Restaurant times were limited in different areas which meant that everyone piled in the door at the same time.

We went to restaurant for lunch on the first day and our options were fish with eyes, guys etc all in tact. Gunky rice, gunky pasta. The food was not appetising at all, it looked like slops. We literally ate bread!!

On arrival to restaurant the doors were closed and there were large queues outside. Everyone piled in as if it was their last meal. People pushing you out the way. I read another review earlier that said it was feeding time at the zoo and this is exactly how I described it to my partner. There were queues forming for certain food but people were just jumping in front. People were pushing kids out the way. We left our table with drinks to get deserts and came back and they had been cleared away.

The lunch at the snack pool was edible. Pizza, burgers (lamb not beef) and chips. The kebabs at kebab stand were nice but were served with ketchup instead of an option of chilli sauce or other sauces.

We then thought we would try out dinner. This was much the same. They had chicken roll or turkey. The turkey tasted ok. The chicken roll did not taste like chicken it tasted as if all the crap bits of meat were combined like scraps.

We booked into the alcarte restaurant on the Wednesday night. The food was not nice it’s the type of food you would have expected in buffet but not alcarte. They served salad, mushroom soup (lacked flavour), bruschetta which was basically bread with tomato purée on it, steak which was not a good cut and was not cooked to order, ours was served over cooked and chewy it was like eating leather, we didn’t wait about for desert.

Ice cream was a choice of a strawberry or chocolate choc ice type thing and only available 12-4. There was no option of kids having ice cream as a dessert with their meal.

Suggestions for improvement -

I would personally have main restaurant and snack restaurant open longer to accommodate queues and people pushing each other out the way.

I would completely restructure Italian al carte menu. It was not Italian dishes in their true form. A nice stone baked pizza or pasta dish would have been better. Providing options for people to pay extra for al carte restaurants should they choose too would be a good business opportunity. There is a limit of one al carte booking per week as long as you are there for over 7 days.

More child friendly options in the main restaurant.

Options of ice cream as a dessert.

Drinks:

It was problematic having a soft drink with your breakfast and lunch as bars were at one side and food at the other. If you wanted a kebab or cake in patisserie and a Pepsi together you had to walk to the other end to get juice. There was the option of fruit juice in these areas but the machine didn’t always work and when it was giving out water instead of juice I was simply told it was finished to go somewhere else. The cocktails were nice. My partner felt the beer tasted watery. He asked to buy a bottle of beer but there were none available. I would have thought it would have been a good business opportunity to sell local Effes beer in bottles as an option. Perhaps having the option of buying non local drinks would be a good business opportunity.

Staff:

There was one maid on our level (2230) who went out her way to help us. She was the most helpful person in the hotel. The rest of the staff didn’t go out their way to help us. The language barrier was problematic. I took the view that it is ignorant of us as British people to expect everyone to speak our language when we can’t necessarily speak there’s. But there were so many problems we needed to talk to the staff about that the language barrier was problematic. We used google translator to communicate where it was difficult. The staff did have varying levels of English. But at times I felt that their lack of understanding was an excuse not to deal with things properly.

There was a bar man at the entertainment who was drunk. There was bar man in the restaurant who was aggressive to another man infront of kids because he complained about queues due to lack of glasses being available. Again a stock issue. Perhaps buying plastic throw away ones as back up would help.

We were only given 2 bath towels in our room for 4 people everyday, 1 towel one day. I asked the maid for extra some days. I spoke to the receptionists almost daily to ask for towels. Most days they said they would send towels but it never happened and I had to track housekeeping down myself. I asked if it could be communicated that we need 4 towels for the duration of our stay but the mistakes were repeated. After experiencing this continuously on the second last day I spoke to one receptionist (tschuz - sorry probably not right spelling) and she was helpful and got this sorted right away and took a note of it. I got the impression that it was a stock/laundry problem rather than housekeeping being difficult.

One day we had a boat trip early and needed pool towels. It said they were available from 8am and our transfer was 8.45am. When I went at 8.15/8.30am there were no towels available despite sign saying available from 8am. I was told they were still in laundry and not available until after 9am which was no good to us. There was no one at the towel collection bit. I spoke to staff in the spa and was told it was nothing to do with them. I spoke to reception and was told it was what it was. When I asked to get clean room towels they agreed to deliver to our room but didn’t. I had to track house keeping down on my own and managed to get two. Bearing in mind this was all 15 mins before my transfer was due.

Suggestion for improvement -
Buy more stock of room and pool towels. Don’t let people dump towels on loungers daily as above. Don’t promise things then don’t deliver. Go out your way to be a bit more helpful. Someone could have brought room towels to reception for me that day rather than me chasing all over the hotel.

Entertainment
The entertainment was in so many different languages it was hard to follow. I don’t think it was geared for English speaking people. In fact when going round and asking where everyone was from every country but UK was mentioned. I am not sure how you improve this as I get that you cannot cater for everyone!

WiFi
This was not free as indicated when we booked! We did pay for this - 2 different passes for me and my son. The internet was very flaky and continuously went down. You can imagine I was not happy paying for something that didn’t work properly.

Air conditioning
When we arrived the room was very warm. We thought it wasn’t working properly but staff member sorted it quickly. It was set on a timer and seemed to go off after a while which meant waking up too warm in the middle of the night.

T.V.
The only channels in English were two news channels. I get that you don’t go on holiday to watch tv but if you’re the type of person who likes to wind down watching tv at night it’s not an option. The USB ports are blocked on tv so there is no option to cast tv from your other devices either. We watched tv on the iPad but this was problematic due to internet connection.

Area:
The resort itself is quite isolated from the town. Konakli/mega mall is 10 minutes away in a taxi and is only 50 lira. Alanya is around 30 minutes away by taxi 100 lira (there is a bus but it’s a short walk which was hard for kids in heat). Sea Alanya is a short walk along the road and has a dolphin/sea lion show at one side and water park at other side. I personally didn’t think it was up to much at the dolphin park side it was only a show which lasted 1 hour but that might be my expectations Re having been to better sea parks. Never went to water park bit but didn’t look up to much considering it worked out close to £200 for a family of 4 for both parks.

Conclusion -
Hotel is clean enough, we made the best of our holiday but would not recommend this hotel to British people!!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank jofra f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cemile K, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Vikingen Infinity Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Jofra,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this review.

As our hotel follows an international concept, we provide a variety of foods from all around the world, for example, chicken, fish, beef, turkey, traditional turkish food and many more. Furthermore, our restaurant provides a different menu everyday. Our staff works very hard to keep areas tidy always. In the restaurant we have staff cleaning constantly to make sure it is safe and clean at all times. Our rooms are cleaned daily, whilst new towels are given everyday. The bedsheets in the rooms are changed every three days. All our standard rooms consist of 1 single bed, 1 double bed and 1 sofa bed. If an extra bed is needed this can be provided upon request. Upon making a booking to the hotel, all extra charge information is provided on website and given to your travel agencies, this includes WiFi. Furthermore, when checking in to the hotel an info sheet is given stating all food times, facilities in the hotel and check-out time. Our staff speak a range of languages, including English, however all at different levels. Moreover,all our staff do their best to give the best possible service and cater to all our guests needs.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

Never ever more this Hotel.

Bad rooms. Dirty Restaurants. Dirty Pools. Most bad Personal that i ever had in holidays.

Please Guys. Belive me. Dont spend your money for this bad hotel.

Better you Stay at home

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
7  Thank Ferdi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cemile K, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Vikingen Infinity Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Dear Ferdi,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to review our hotel.

Our rooms provide a large space with one single bed, one french bed and one sofa bed. Moreover, our restaurant caters for all our guests in the hotel with a variety of different foods everyday. All our staff work extremely hard to keep all areas, including the restaurant clean and tidy.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

When we arrived we were greeted by staff who were friendly and helpful.
Our room was good and we had a lovely view of the sea and the pools below. We had trouble with the layout as it is random and it’s easy to get lost going to the reception level.
Food is good at first but becomes boring as there is not much variation, also people have no patients and push in front, then pile there plates with food like there’s an apocalypse.
Overall good stay but wouldn’t stay here longer than a week.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cemile K, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Vikingen Infinity Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Lucy,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write a review.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a lovely view. Our restaurant provides a variety of foods with a different menu for everyday.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Before I start, there are a couple good points about the hotel, the bar staff work tirelessly and the pool and private beach is amazing for relaxing swimming and snorkelling.
Now the not so short list of negatives:
. We had items stolen from our room, we bought a shisha pipe and everything to go with it (tobacco and hot stones) to take back for a relative, for whatever reason this was taken from our room we are not certain who so can’t point fingers. When we went to reception we got sent to guest relations and were treated exceptionally well by and English speaking lady (pretty rare in this hotel) she did her best but it escalated to go to the guest relations manager who was very rude and refused to accept the hotel was in the wrong.
. The dinner hall is madness, people stepping on other people to get food (which has been the same since the start of our stay) it feels like a market or something.
. The WiFi IS NOT FREE as stated on the internet it is €10 For the week PER PERSON!
. I’m not a racist person but the Russian population on this hotel is overwhelming and they are so rude, they’ll push their way into the lifts before you’ve even gotten out
. The layout of the hotel is very random and you’ll probably only figure it out as you’re about to leave (like we did)
. Very disappointing for a 5* hotel

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank aaronwaller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cemile K, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Vikingen Infinity Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us.

In regards to the item missing from your room, the hotel provided the pass card report, which states when your room has beem entered and exited.The report which was shown to you displayed that during the times which you had thought the items had gone missing, only you and your family had been in the room. Furthermore, each guest is individually responsible for the security of its belongings, the hotel takes no responsibility for lost items whether in the rooms or on the territory of the resort. Due to it being peak season, naturally the hotel is busy. All extra charges are stated prior to booking and given to your travel agent, WıFi is stated as one of these charges. Moreover, Vikingen is an international hotel where there are a number of different nationalities who come stay with us, not only the Russian population.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

This is a totally honest review and I have stayed in many places in turkey and I am not a complainer BUT DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!
The hotel itself looks lovely upon arrival very plush and stylish but that is where it ends...the staff at check in were rude and speak to you like you are bothering them!! They gave us a standard room when we had booked an interconnecting family room and would not change it! We were a family of 2 adults and 2 children in a room basically that consisted of a double bed and a single bed...figure that out! The staff hardly speak any English but if you are a Russian guest they seem to understand them...
I am pretty sure we were the only British family staying at this hotel and yes everyone else was Russian and rude! The Wi-Fi is chargeable not free as stated...10 Euro per person per week
The only place to eat of an evening is the main dinner hall which honestly is like feeding time at the zoo...I have never seen so many people in one place it's an absolute nightmare!!!food on the floor...tables dirty...there's no air con in there so it's not and sweaty... The food is terrible...no fresh cooked meat...just dried up turkey...we struggled to find anything that looked appetizing to eat! Probably the only holiday I have been on where I have lost weight...seriously
I will just say if you have booked to go here please try and change your hotel as you will regret it if you don't...we tried but our tour operator were useless and we had to endure it for the whole week!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank HollyJones22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews