We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant food”
Review of Husa Sant Bernat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Husa Sant Bernat
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Montseny
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Although the hotel is well-situated with clean rooms and lovely views, the restaurant really lets it down. As the hotel is really out in the sticks, you are stuck with eating in the hotel's restaurant. We ate there four times (not including breakfast). The fixed menu was relatively cheap, but the selection poor. If you like salad, you'll survive, but avoid the cannelloni at all costs! The soup appeared to be watered down from a tin and only arrived after three requests - after the second request they brought some fish which we hadn't ordered at all! For the final meal we ate there, I just ate bread, the food was so bad! On the other hand, the hotel's breakfast was a good spread of fairly good quality food.

The swimming pool is quite small for the number of rooms, but the real issue is with the serious lack of sunloungers! Five sun loungers is nowhere near enough. Some guests even went as far as to stake a claim to a sun lounger with their towel before they went for breakfast!

Finally, the room we stayed in could really have done with air con. We were stuck between having our window shut and boiling alive and having the window open and being eaten alive by mosquitoes. Not a great choice.

To end on a positive note, access to a table tennis table was good!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LLawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful location. It's very quiet and peaceful. The rooms are good size and nice. We stayed in two rooms in the newer building so we did not have a mountain view, but we liked our rooms. The bed was quite comfortable. We ate breakfast, lunch, and dinner there and liked the food. There are hiking trails right by the hotel, which we really enjoyed. Best of all, since we were homesick for our dog, the two sweet st. Bernards took us hiking. One walked in front and one behind. They took very good care of us. The location of the hotel is nice because it's close to Barcelona. We used this as a stopover from northern Spain before going to Barcelona. It's different scenery from the Pyrenees so it was a good choice for us. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bw323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

There is only one reason to choose staying in this property: for the scenic vistas of Montseny National Park. Having said that, the hotel is also worth staying because it is the perfect place to relax and for a 3* has good amenities, free Wi Fi, very (and I mean VERY) clean rooms and a yummy breakfast! It is a lovely property and although could use a redo on the rooms, it still is a charming rustic place. There are 3 friendly dogs on premises (2 are Sant Bernat) and some beautiful horses.

The staff is helpful, not everyone speaks English but as I did Spanish I had no trouble getting all the information I needed. Particularly polite and going out of their way to be of service were the man in charge of the breakfast and the very sweet lady at the restaurant for dinner. The dinner food choice is ok, nothing special but you can eat well. Note that restaurants in Cataluña start serving dinner at 9pm! That was a bit late for us so plan ahead your meals.

As the hotel is located well within the Montseny Park, be prepared to drive at least 20 minutes of mountainous winding roads (if you get sick easily in the car, not the place for you). Barcelona is about 1 hour away and Gerona airport about 45 min (if no traffic). We (2 couples) thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this hotel even if we got a bit tired from the everyday driving in and out the National Park.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony. Well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOUKINA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Located in the Montseny nature reserve at an altitude of 800m this is a great hotel to spend the weekend. It is about an hour drive from central BCN. We used the hotel as a base to go walking in the mountains and there are many different and challenging hikes that you can start nearby. The views and scenery are spectacular from the hotel grounds and also from the balcony of the room. Make sure you stay in the original part of the hotel and ask for a mountain view. We stayed the first night in the new wing which is nice and modern with a really big bed but no balcony and no view. When you return from your days activities sit in front of the open fire with a big St Bernard for company before you go for dinner. The restaurant has a fixed or a la carte menu. We ate there both evenings having the set menu on Saturday and chose from the a la carte on Sunday. Both meals were excellent and great value for money. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: In the old building. 2nd floor. Mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b0ngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This hotel is in a breathtaking location, and is perfect if you want a peaceful holiday,

We stayed in the main building. Ourrooms were large and comfortable although we would have liked a safe in the room. They are in the newer section.

We didn't eat much in the hotel but the food we did have there was good although expensive.

There is a beautiful patio at the rear of the hotel with stunning views.

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

You will need a hire car here although there is a taxi service from the nearby village.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purpleiris26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Located in the middle of the mountains of Parc Natural de Montseny, this is a beautiful place for a relaxing weekend in nature. It is only a 45 minutes drive from Barcelona city, but you feel as in a different world. A small road leads you through the the Natural Park and to the hotel, and once you are there you should go walking/hiking in the surroundings of the hotel. (There is nothing else to do in the surroundings, so I don´t recommend this hotel if you don´t like hiking in the mountains :-) ) They also have rooms for meetings and weddings. The food in the restaurant is good, but menu prices are relatively high. Breakfast is good, but the view from the terrace on a sunny morning is better. I stayed one night in November 2010.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smartyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This is a truly wonderful hotel in the most beautiful location. Cannot find a single bad or negative thing to say. Although only rated a 3 star hotel, in many ways it surpassed many 4 and 5 star establishments where we have stayed. Do try to book a balcony room with open country views, well worth the small supplement. Our room ( 233 ) was delightful. The buffet breakfast was very good, nice selection of things. Best of all was two Nespresso coffee machines with a selction of sachets. A nice change from the usual undrinkable hotel coffee ! We also used the restaurant which was reasonably priced and provided set lunch and dinner menus as well as full a la carte. Without exception, the entire staff were kind and helpful.
Best of all were the 'resident' St Bernard dogs ( 3 ). Although we can imagine some guests might find them a bit intrusive, they are the most gentle and good natured breed in spite of their size. This did not seem to put off a large number of couples with small children who were fellow guests. However, in our view, it is not a suitable hotel for young children. There is an outside swimming pool, but no shallow area for little ones. Also although the hotel is only on two floors, there is no lift for parents with buggies.

There was plenty of room to park your car and free WIFI. All in all, a most enjoyable 4 day break.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry_Martin1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montseny
7.2 mi away
Montanya Hotel & Lodge
4.6 mi away
Hotel Can Cuch
Hotel Can Cuch
#1 of 1 in Canoves i Samalus
213 reviews
1.8 mi away
Can Barrina Hotel Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Parador de Vic-Sau
5.6 mi away
Hotel de Salut Somlom
Hotel de Salut Somlom
#1 of 1 in Sant Esteve de Palautordera
17 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Termes La Garriga
Hotel Termes La Garriga
#2 of 2 in La Garriga
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Husa Sant Bernat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Husa Sant Bernat

Address: Crta. Santa M Palautordera a Seva Km. 20.8 | Montana Finca El Cot, 08460 Montseny, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Montseny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Montseny
Price Range: £81 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Husa Sant Bernat 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Husa Sant Bernat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Sant Bernat Montseny, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing