We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many lovely aspects but not without fault!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kesgrave
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Many nice touches like the grounds, food and bar staff, room sizes. Staff were friendly and helpful but annoyingly our wait between starter and main course in the restaurant was almost an hour! Food was super though so credit due to the kitchen who can be seen working their socks off! Staff were apologetic but having to ask where your food is doesn't feel nice! Room was nice inside but with a dog we were put in room near restaurant with frequent passing walkers which disturbed the dog (and therefore us) late at night. All in all I would stay here again. The food was exceptional and it has a nice peaceful country feel to it. The staff are trying and the place is very close to being perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HRH200989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

So for the basics... The hotel sits within lovely grounds, the building itself has plenty of charm versus your typical new build yet marries this with a modern contemporary style that for me works perfectly. The bedrooms are clean, show no signs of wear and beautifully appointed with high quality fixtures (eg Bose radio/CD/Alarm). Overall the hotel would get a good rating just for its warmth and cleanliness.
However, 2 things set the Kesgrave apart from the regular hotels in my mind (have also stayed in the nearby Seckford Hall which doesn't come close). Firstly, the quality of dining, both breakfast and evening is quite clearly good restaurant quality, to the extent that I suspect the hotel does more business as a restaurant than as a hotel.
Secondly, the service and attention from the staff has been absolutely outstanding in my most recent stay.... Perhaps not everyone's choice but I was staying on business when there happened to be a sporting event that a colleague and I wanted to watch. With barely an ask of 'is there anywhere we can watch abc other than our rooms' the staff made available a function room with television, set us up with chairs and then continued to bring menu's, drinks, table to eat from and all courses of our evening meal so we could spend the evening enjoying our sport - interspersed with chat and banter from all the staff including the chef who came to check on things as the evening drew to a close.... In all my years of travel, both business and personal, I can't recall anyone going to these lengths to make sure we had a good evening. As the title says, absolutely outstanding service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CD2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I write this review with mixed feelings. We have always stayed at Seckford Hall or with friends during our times in Suffolk/Woodbridge. This time we opted for Kesgrave Hall - where as a family we had eaten many times in the past. It was just great. The rooms are good, bed good, breakfasts and a couple of meals very good but where this place really stands out is the quality of their staff...they were without exception magic !
Josh in the bar area - the girls on reception, the tall guy with a tie..never did find his name ... Were all exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble, service was slick and pleasant ...I work in hospitality.... and I have to say that this service is normally only found in places like the Far East....so much better than the service one has become accustomed to in many parts of the UK...maybe things are changing ??! Anyway the staff here are a real credit to themselves and to the Managment and Kesgrave Hall. I'm looking forward to coming back in October...if I can get a booking after this review !

Room Tip: They have use of a local gym..not amazing but enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Brilliant hotel. Excellent staff. Gorgeous room. Superb food. Lovely setting. We had a wonderful restful stay here with our labrador. Staff couldn't have been kinder. Fantastic decor - funky blend of traditional with contemporary. Thanks Kesgrave Hall

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiKid59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

From the off I was impressed with the girl who took my booking, Kayleigh, she was efficient and very helpful.
We had booked a deluxe room but were in fact upgraded to a suite. We did find out that the hotel was virtually empty that night but a very nice gesture in any case.
We arrived on a sunny Sunday afternoon, our room wasn't quite ready so we were shown outside to the terrace and were given a complimentary glass of champagne.
Beautiful grounds to wonder around too.
The room itself was lovely, very contemporary and large, a huge walk in shower and a free standing bath in the room.
Dinner in the brasserie was a casual affair, you wrote down your food choices on a piece of paper and the waiter/waitress then took it directly to the kitchen.
Nice food and atmosphere in a busy restaurant.
Breakfast was great too
I would highly recommend for an overnight stay or weekend away in Suffolk.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The welcome was lovely and although our room wasn't quite ready we were happy to sit overlooking the lawn and enjoy a glass of wine. Once we were ready we were shown to our room which was really very nice, stylish and clean. Dinner in the restaurant that evening was fabulous with a really nice relaxed buzz. We decided to have breakfast in our room and that is really our only small complaint, we were brought pots of jam and butter but not toast! We also didn't request tea as we had it in our room but there was only 2 breakfast teas and not enough sugar for us. Other than that we were very relaxed and would like to have stayed a 2nd night in an ideal world....maybe next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This hotel was amusingly different. The room was quite contemporary and not at all my taste, but enjoyed the qwirkiness, for a change. The bed was sumptuous. The restaurant was entertaining. The food was absolutely delicious as was breakfast. Well done, a memorable hotel and a splendid stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inneedofrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kesgrave
4.3 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
9.4 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,046 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
19.8 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milsoms Kesgrave Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milsoms Kesgrave Hall

Address: Kesgrave Hall Hall Road, Kesgrave IP5 2PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Kesgrave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kesgrave
Price Range: £118 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Milsoms Kesgrave Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note we do not reply to any comments posted. Please contact us directly if you wish to discuss your experience further. A superb joint venture between Milsom Hotels and Hills Group.The bistro restaurant has everything you would expect, inventive food alongside classics such as the delightful fish and chips, a buzzing but relaxed atmosphere and wonderful service from a friendly and professional team. Although you cannot book at Kesgrave Hall it is open all day! So you can arrive when you choose.The 'stay' part of eat, drink, stay (our milsoms mantra!) Could not be any more enjoyable. The Principal suites, whilst lavish and grand, are competitively priced and all bedrooms are beautifully designed and fully equipped with the very latest TVs and MP3 players. The bathroom products are lovely too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Milsoms Kesgrave Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milsom`s Kesgrave Hall Hotel Kesgrave
Milsoms Hotel Kesgrave
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall Ipswich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing