We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Slaughters Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I recently stayed here for the first time. I thought it was a beautiful hotel in picturesque surroundings. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was very nice. We couldn't fault it at all and will certainly be back in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstygirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,248)
There are newer reviews for The Slaughters Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,175 - 1,181 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

Stayed here fir my birthday weekend at the beginning of Sept and this is a lovely hotel. Ideally situated for lovely walks around the cotswolds. The room was spacious enough for 2 of us and the bed was really comfy. The food is excellent and if anything wasn't to your liking as a few around felt the need to complain, the staff sorted straight away. Overall would highly recommend the Slaughters Country Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This is a very well located hotel in a most beautiful part of the country.There were just a few letdowns that took from our overall experience.The menu in the dining room is very limited if you want to eat there more than a couple of times.The breakfast was just ok but the service was poor.The prices in the bar were in my view very expensive indeed.There was very little storage in our room "Angelos" and the main window could not really be left open when the kitchen was working as the vent from there came out just above the window and the cooking smells were unbearable.The other window was behind the headboard of the bed and very difficult to get at.
On the plus side the staff were very helpful and friendly and the room was large and comfortable.There is a nice walk from here to Burton -on-the Water.The hotel is quiet
We only paid £95 per night so the value was ok

Room Tip: I think getting a cottage could be a good choice.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinjoecurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear Dinjoecurry, thank you for your review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed our fantastic location and found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

With regards to your couple of letdowns, we try to keep our menus small as all of our food is fresh, but we are always happy to go off menu spec if any guest requests in advance. Our bar prices are comparable to the other establishments in the area and a good deal cheaper than some.

I will take a look at the room lay out, to see if anything can be done to make access to the window any better.

I am glad in the whole you found it an enjoyable exsperiance with us, I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Best Regards
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I recently visited here and could not have asked for more. The hotel was stunning and ideally situated with lots of places to walk and visit within the surrounding area. The staff and food were exceptional. I did visit a few months ago and thought the place needed a little TLC and had something lacking but I am guessing that with the name change etc is now under new management as there was a completely different atmosphere to the place. I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janem4891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I booked two rooms and phoned twice to confirm that rooms were on ground floor. On arrival we had been allocated rooms upstairs. One of our party was unable to climb stairs and wish to be very near us. All lights blew 7 am and room very dark. Food undercooked, grilled goat cheese served straight from fridge, calf cheek so tough unable to cut. Special fish night no choice and piece of fish only served with undercooked boiled potatoes with nothing else, second supply of pots equally hard, bread eventually offered with no butter. Breakfast had wonderful croissant but eggs normally overcooked. staff very friendly and we felt sorry for head waiter who took all complaints from everyone. it wasn't his fault the kitchen staff can't cook. ever had runny chicken liver pâté?

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear Charlotte M, I am very sorry for the confusion with your booking, but was glad we were able to change your rooms straight away.

Our special fish night, does only offer one dish for £9.95 including a glass of wine, but we do also offer our full bar and restaurant menu on this night to give more choice.

Styles and cooking preferences are always a matter for subjectivity and therefore debate within our team, but I was disappointed that the meal you received did not meet your expectations.

I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further with you, perhaps you would be kind enough to contact me directly, either by email, gm@theslaughtersinn.co.uk or on the telephone?

Kind Regards
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Idylically situated this hotel does not compare well with similar places in the same price range. It is veryF expensive and definitely NOT value for money.

The front line staff were helpful but the management either have no idea how to run an up market establishment or were just too interested in trying to gouge every pound of profit they could.

The room we had was spacious and comfortable but lacking. There were no bathrobes, no slippers, no safe, no pen, no paper upon which to write notes, no shower cap, no face washer, and only one very very small piece of soap - not anseparate one for the shower and hand basin.

The lighting was impossible (lowest wattage bulbs to save electricity) the plumbing was ancient and the shower leaked all over the floor. The cleaning staff were not trained. The standard of cleaning was dreadful - glasses not washed or replaced for example, and maintenance was poor - too many lights out.

Breakfast was so far below standard for a hotel of this price. Cheapest ingredients, continually running out of glasses, plates, food, and serving tea in chipped cups. They had great difficulty managing 15 guests. The coffee was so dreadful that we had to go to a nearby village every day.

If you are looking for a quality experience go elsewhere -you will get much better value for your money in any of the other nice places in this beautiful district.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Adam157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

Dear Adam 157, I am sorry that your experience with us was not all that it should have been, but I afraid we do not offer bathrobes or slippers and we do try and use energy saving light bulbs.
Although it sounds like a cliché these days, it is often through the comments from our guests that our business moves forward. Naturally we don’t like to receive criticism and hope that we do meet our guests’ expectations but when things do go wrong, we must respond positively to keep improving, so thank you for your comments.

Regards
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

My partner and i visited Washbiurne Court for the second time.After a rather disappointing first visit we were unsure how this would go.
We were upgraded on checkin to a beautiful room with roll top bath in the room.Absolutely gorgeous.
We dined in Stow in the Wold and then relaxed for the rest of the evening in our
room.
The bed was huge and we had a good nights sleep.
Breakfast was lovely. Plenty of choice and a freshly cooked english breakfast.
All in all a fantastic second visit

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alli207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Slaughter
0.1 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
563 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,090 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,333 reviews
9.8 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
435 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slaughters Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slaughters Country Inn

Address: Formally Washbourne Court, Lower Slaughter GL54 2HS, England (Formerly Washbourne Court)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lower Slaughter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Price Range: £104 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Slaughters Country Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of one of the most picturesque Cotswold villages, The Slaughters Country Inn offers the authentic charm of a traditional village inn; exceptional food made with the best local produce, a fine selection of local ales, roaring log fires to warm the winter months and a stunning terrace for when the sun shines. The Slaughters Country Inn is the perfect location for a country break where wellies, walks and unwinding are the order of the day. The friendly and relaxed bar welcomes guests with sofas, rustic touches and shelves lined with books and board games and the Inn’s 25 guestrooms and six charming cottages are all designed to reflect the property’s unique character, blending the traditional features of the oldest part of the house with contemporary design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Slaughters Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washbourne Court Hotel Lower Slaughter
Washbourne Court Lower Slaughter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing