We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of paradise.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Slaughters Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Certificate of Excellence
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise.”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My wife and I spent a night here. The whole experience was fantastic from the moment we arrived. The hotel staff were really friendly making you feel like old friends returning. Our room was not a room but a small suite, called the Timberhalls, my wife could not stop saying how impressed she was. We decided to eat in the restaurant that evening and booked a table before our arrival. Like the front of house staff the restaurant staff were just as welcoming and the food was varied and certainly delicious. We took a quiet walk after dinner and found the tranquillity of the village calming with exceptional scenery especially the old mill waterwheel. We were so impressed by the time at the hotel we intend to return in the summer to enjoy the ambience in warmer weather. If your looking for a little piece of paradise then look no further stay at the Slaughters Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for the Timberhalls suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Russell W, I am glad you enjoyed your stay in our little piece of paradise.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the summer
Best Wishes
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    363
    91
    31
    11
See reviews for
177
843
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Spent a fantastic weekend at The Slaughters Inn being looked after by the friendly and welcoming (yet inobtrusive) staff who really do provide exceptional service. The food was excellent - a great balance of "pub classics" and dishes that would be at home on any fine dining menu. The room was tasteful and comfortable with stunning views of the grounds and river.

Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear John S, Thank you for your kind review, I hope we see you again soon
Best Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Spent two nights in this picturesque country inn just after the new year.
A complete contrast to how we spent our new year - see Malmaison Liverpool review.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.
The hotel bar area was flooded on the Saturday yet the staff were not phased and continued to provide a very good service.
Our room (Jourdelays) was comfortable and spacious with a roll top bath in the bathroom. Hot bath and a nice glass of what you fancy, very relaxing.
Will go back!
There was no fitness centre but I can't remove the selection.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear ian f, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Jourdelays is one of my favourite superior rooms too!
I will look forward to seeing you again soon
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Lovely welcoming staff. Very impressive building in local Cotswold stone. We had a great family suite with separate room for my son, fantastic walk in shower plus bath. Breakfast was great in a lovely room, will go back again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Luke P, Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in one of our family rooms. We do have several rooms which are perfect for little family breaks.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed on 3 & 4 Jan 14 as my birthday treat. Unusually for this time of year, the hotel was fully booked, which reassured us that it must be good & we were not disappointed. The building is very impressive on arrival, our superior room was large with a sofa and a huge bathroom with roll top bath & separate shower. Everywhere is clean & well furnished with a lovely ambience. The staff are very friendly, respectful and helpful. The breakfast is very good and the evening dinner was nice, even though we thought the portion sizes quite small. We would have liked to have had a different restaurant menu to the bar menu as it is quite limited & therefore, we decided to eat out on the second night. Unfortunately, the hotel flooded on the second day due to extreme weather conditions so the lovely lounge and bar seating areas were out of action for the remainder of our stay, although the bar was open. However, the staff coped admirably with the extra demands on them and from complaints from some of the guests (not us, I might add). We enjoyed our stay so much that we will book again in the summer months so that we can experience the lovely grounds and walks along the river. Well done to the staff for coping in such difficult circumstances.

Room Tip: We stayed in Mustian. Comfy 6' bed with nice linen. Fab bathroom with roll top bath. Lovely vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Maria B, I am so happy you enjoyed your birthday treat.
I am also happy to report that the water levels have now all dropped and we are all back fully functioning.
I hope we see you again in the summer
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mickleton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We went to the Slaughters Country Inn with friends for their New Year break. Lovely setting, beautiful room with views over gardens & village. Really friendly and helpful staff and very good food. Really enjoyable New Year's Eve party.

Room Tip: Stayed in Holland in main part of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickletonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Bucksonians, I am pleased you and your friends enjoyed seeing in the New Year with us.
May I wish you all the best for 2014
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Spent Christmas at Slaughters and we were more than pleased with everything. We had the "Hopgarden" Suite, the suite was great, comfortable bed, nice sitting room and a large bathroom with bath and seperate shower cubicle. Food was brilliant as were all the staff. Can't wait to go back in the Spring.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Ray C, Thank you for your kind review. I will look forward to seeing you again in the spring
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Slaughter
0.1 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
552 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,080 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,308 reviews
9.8 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
424 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slaughters Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slaughters Country Inn

Property: The Slaughters Country Inn
Address: Formally Washbourne Court, Lower Slaughter GL54 2HS, England (Formerly Washbourne Court)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lower Slaughter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Slaughters Country Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of one of the most picturesque Cotswold villages, The Slaughters Country Inn offers the authentic charm of a traditional village inn; exceptional food made with the best local produce, a fine selection of local ales, roaring log fires to warm the winter months and a stunning terrace for when the sun shines. The Slaughters Country Inn is the perfect location for a country break where wellies, walks and unwinding are the order of the day. The friendly and relaxed bar welcomes guests with sofas, rustic touches and shelves lined with books and board games and the Inn’s 25 guestrooms and six charming cottages are all designed to reflect the property’s unique character, blending the traditional features of the oldest part of the house with contemporary design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your The Slaughters Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washbourne Court Hotel Lower Slaughter
Washbourne Court Lower Slaughter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing