We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Slaughters Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Slaughters Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Certificate of Excellence
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

My wife and i set out from Sedgley near Wolverhampton, drove to Evesham, then Broadway, Stow on wold, Morton in Marsh, then Bourton on Water, stopping in each place , and finally to our hotel in lower slaughter. Very friendly on checking in and showing us to our room, a beautiful room, and bathroon, with all facilities,, so after relaxing, a bath, then to the bar, and then the restraunt, an excellent meal with wine and the staff very friendly and efficient.a comfortable nite followed by a full english breakfast set us up for the day. The hotel was warm and cosy . O departing we walked to the local mill before heading for Cheltenham for some retail therapy before heading home after two lovely days.

Room Tip: dont think you could find a bad room in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Terry S, I am so pleased you had a lovely time with us, our aim is to make sure all our guests leave us refreshed and relaxed
I hope we see you again soon
Best Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    327
    77
    25
    10
See reviews for
147
750
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Short stay 2 nights celebrating our 41st Wedding Anniversary. Arrival was welcoming, our room Hawtrey, outside resembling terraced cottages, room was lovely, cosy bed, tea/coffee. Few little niggles, I had to ask for dressing gowns, no slippers provided.. Toiletries were disapointing, no shower/bath gel only the tiniest bars of soap, and hair products. Pretty curtains just hanging at the ends, lots of scuff marks. Nit picky maybe, but this small elite chain needs to be aware as appearances matter, lots of competion out there. Decor, is it old or modern, wall paper with books, not sure. Breakfast was ok, the restaurant was the biggest disapointment. We tried to book Lord of the Manor, fully booked forever! and their sister hotel had Michael Caines doing a tasting menu, which although we would have loved to join was slightly over budget. Reception were so helpful and recomended "The Feathered Nest" which did not disapoint. Overall our stay was good, from the bar staff, managers, reception could not have made us feel more welcome. Afternoon tea was just excellent and having drinks outside in such a beautiful setting was perfect. Lovely walks around lower/upper slaughter.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hudsonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear hudson s, Thank you for your kind review, you will have to come back after Easter when our new restaurant will be finished. Maybe for your 42nd anniversary or sooner?
Best Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed at The Slaughters Country Inn for our 10th Anniversary. We were greated by a lovely
receptionist who surprised us by saying we had been upgraded to the Hopgarden , a junior suite.
The room was spacious with a separate lounge area and a very roomy bathroom . The whole suite was very clean and comfortable. We decided to have our evening meals within the hotel and overall they were very good , our first and second nights dining experience were enjoyable with friendly very efficient service. It however went downhill on the Friday night , probably because the dining room was so busy and the service was all over the place. Our main meal arrived without the vegetables which failed to turn up until the main course was nearly finished , not good! our drinks were not replenished either so not a memorable meal.
Breakfast on the last morning was cold and a long time coming ,we had just about given up by now. Why should this happen when the hotel is busy ? such a shame as our first two days were fab. We were glad we experienced the good side of this hotel but will probably only stay on week days if we stay again and give the weekends a miss.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jadebaby31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear jadebaby31, I am pleased that on the whole you had an enjoyable experience with us, I do apologize for the short cummings you experienced on your final day with us. I have taken up your points with my team to ensure lessons are learnt and our consistency of service is the same regardless of business levels.
I do hope we see you again soon
Best Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Location, location, location!!

I did a tremendous amount of research before booking and am so glad I decided to go for the Inn on this occasion. The accomodation was very comfortable and the staff wonderful.

The location in Lower Slaughter is wonderful with lovely walks in the nearby vicinity. The other stunning Cotswolds villages are in very easy driving distance.

We cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: We staid in the Timbralls which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancellot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Lancellot, Thank you for your great review. We can’t wait to welcome you back again
Best Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed for two nights and found it to be a lovely hotel, in a great location with very nice staff. The room was comfortable and well furnished with superb bathroom facilities. The bar was warm with welcoming log fires and the food in the restaurant was very good - although I did send my breakfast back because it was not hot enough on one morning. A minor niggle which was recitified by a completely fresh (hot) breakfast being brought to me in a short while, with lots of apologies.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear ElaineWB, I am so pleased you had a lovely couple of days with
Best Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

The staff were absolutely fantastic. Amazing location with great works near by. Reasonably priced rooms. Lovely garden area. Great food. We only stayed one night but felt completely relaxed and recharged after.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Slaughters Country Inn for 2 nights and found the hotel comfortable & the staff friendly.
We stayed in Cotton Hall & our bed was huge although the bathroom was tiny! The room was comfortable with a lovely freestanding bath but as it was right above the bar it was noisy late at night. You could also hear every step the people in the room above made.
The breakfast was lovely & considering we were there while The Cheltenham Festival was on the room rate was really reasonable.
The local area is really beautiful but there isn't a lot to do in the immediate vicinity.
Overall the hotel was good value & comfortable but if we were to go back I think we would stay in nearby Bourton on the Water as there is more to do there.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RhiWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Slaughter
0.1 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
9.8 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
1.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slaughters Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slaughters Country Inn

Property: The Slaughters Country Inn
Address: (Formally Washbourne Court), Lower Slaughter GL54 2HS, England (Formerly Washbourne Court)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lower Slaughter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Slaughters Country Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are in search of peace, tranquility and the epitome of English country life you need look no further than The Slaughters Country Inn (formally Washbourne Court Hotel). Situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty in all seasons. A truly magnificent 17th century hotel standing in four acres of grounds alongside the River Eye in the centre of Lower Slaughter, one of the most beautiful and unspoiled villages in the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Slaughters Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washbourne Court Hotel Lower Slaughter
Washbourne Court Lower Slaughter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing