We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Slaughters Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Luxurious but expensive”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Fabulous hotel in the Cotswolds in really lovely setting. Quite the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. Big room with lavish bathroom. However, the luxury comes with a fairly hefty price tag. Probably worth it as a one-off, but not on a regular basis.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squirhill_wickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Squirhill_wickens, I am so pleased you enjoyed a great night’s sleep with us. I think you will find us one of the best value places to stay in the Cotswolds, keep a look out for some great value mid week breaks, like our 3 nights for the price 2 including dinner each night for just £430
Best Wishes
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    352
    85
    30
    11
See reviews for
167
824
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is the kind of village where you might have found Miss Marple. Our inn room was luxurious, quiet, well appointed. Breakfast was excellent, and the meals we had there were just fine. Wonderful place to stay a few days while walking locally as we did.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward34231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Edward34231, I am glad you had a nice stay with us, you will have to come back soon to see if you can find Mrs Marple next time
Best Wishes
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have been meaning to write this review for a long time! We had an amazing stay last October for a wedding. The afternoon tea after a wedding in the church across the road was superb. We had an overnight stay in a lovely room with a huge bathroom and shower. Breakfast was also amazing. Quiet location and stunning for an autumn wedding.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocolatelover15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Chocolatelover, I remember the wedding well, it was indeed a perfect day.
We are the perfect venue with our idyllic location and the church just being just across the road from us
Best Wishes
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We loved this place. We spent two nights here, two 70-plus with two 50-plus, enjoying a walk in the Cotswolds. Our accommodations were cottage-like, two floors, living room very nice below, bedroom on second floor. Bedroom had one defect, slanting ceiling on one side of the bed guaranteed head bumps BUT we learned quickly. Actually the entire inn has low ceilings - adds to the charm, just be careful. Our rooms faced the parking lot, but no noise. Completely pastoral feel all around, duck pond, sheep, green fields. The staff was friendly and helpful. One morning my daughter had a medical emergency, we got a taxi to the nearby North Cotswolds Hospital (also wonderful, speedy attention, USA take note), when we returned to the Inn, as we had missed breakfast, they sat us down and brought us coffee, tea, toast, etc, just to be nice. Very comforting.
Dining room service OK, maybe a tad understaffed, but pleasant. Menu varied, and good selections for those who wanted something light and those who wanted to go more Henry VIII.
This place is really nice, a very good advertisement for all things Brit, traditional and modern. and in a perfect setting.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolPrinceton_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear CarollPrinceton_NJ, I am pleased you had a great stay and that your daughter was ok
Best Wishes
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

just got back from lower slaughter country inn, spent one night there as a birthday treat, we were not disappointed, we stayed in a very beautiful room adjacent to the main building it had a separate lounge and bathroom with a roll top bath. everything was very clean and the bed really comfy. Dinner superb breakfast superb staff superb, Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Tracy H, I am glad you enjoyed your birthday treat. I look forward to welcoming you back soon
Best Wishes
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

No atmosphere, slow service, mouldy bread for breakfast & dirty cups/ glasses from the bar.
Rooms seemed clean and nicely decorated but bedroom walls so thin you can hear everything in the next room. Did not sleep well. I would not recommend this hotel and i will not be going back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank remi106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear, remi106, I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. It is always hard to respond to a dissatisfied guest through a third party web page, so would kindly ask for you to contact me directly at the Inn, so that I may gain some more information on the points you raise, as I have no record of any complaint in the nature of yours being made to myself or my team.
Best Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Spent one night -15.05/14 at this 5 star hotel.Excellent room-large,best facilities comfortable bed.Staff efficient and friendly- dinner very good-but breakfast not quite up to the standard expected from a 5.star hotel-especially my cooked bacon and eggs.Quite costly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 602WRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear 602WRD, thank you for your review. I hope we see you again soon
Best Wishes
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Slaughter
0.1 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
544 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,070 reviews
12.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
402 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
326 reviews
1.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slaughters Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slaughters Country Inn

Property: The Slaughters Country Inn
Address: Formally Washbourne Court, Lower Slaughter GL54 2HS, England (Formerly Washbourne Court)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lower Slaughter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Slaughters Country Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of one of the most picturesque Cotswold villages, The Slaughters Country Inn offers the authentic charm of a traditional village inn; exceptional food made with the best local produce, a fine selection of local ales, roaring log fires to warm the winter months and a stunning terrace for when the sun shines. The Slaughters Country Inn is the perfect location for a country break where wellies, walks and unwinding are the order of the day. The friendly and relaxed bar welcomes guests with sofas, rustic touches and shelves lined with books and board games and the Inn’s 25 guestrooms and six charming cottages are all designed to reflect the property’s unique character, blending the traditional features of the oldest part of the house with contemporary design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Slaughters Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washbourne Court Hotel Lower Slaughter
Washbourne Court Lower Slaughter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing