We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Slaughters Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We were doing the walk between Bourton on the Water and Upper and Lower Slaughter and just stopped in for lunch and a pint. We were not staying in the accommodation.
Great food and great setting. Absolutely beautiful village. We sat in the garden overlooking the river. Relaxing!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaSnowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear LisaSnowden, I am glad you enjoyed a nice lunch in our garden, lets hope the sun stays out all summer!
Best Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    343
    82
    29
    10
See reviews for
156
787
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
523 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Wonderful location, Inn is also beautiful. Room was comfortable, however make sure you are not in a west facing room. Ours was hot in the early evenings in June. It was mid 70's during the day, so I would not want to be in this room on a hot summer day. The rooms are first class however every time we took the stairs down to the lobby we could not miss the red glass chandelier, gray with months of dust. The first night the upstair's hallway and the pub smelled like a fresh fish shop. I almost skipped eating there but the smell either went way or I got used to it. We rec'd an email asking if we wanted to eat in the Pub or Restaurant the night of arrival as they were frequently full. We asked for the Pub. We could have eaten either place as the neither was full. The menu is exactly the same.The restaurant is more pleasant as the pub has a just thrown together look. The Food was very good but not much involvement after the food was delivered. My wife had the "chump" of lamb. The server was not sure what that was. It turned out quite good except a steak knife was really needed. I ordered the burger and was told I could have medium or medium well. At all places I had eaten at in the UK burgers were only served well done, so I tried medium. If it hadn't have been warm I would had guessed it was rare. It was fine with me but had I wanted it cooked more the sever was not around.

Room Tip: Rooms hot on the west side, Watch out for these rooms in the hotter months
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobxxxxCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear BobxxxxCindy, I am glad you enjoyed our wonderful location and the quality of our accommodation, with regards to your comments on the warmth of the room, I am sorry I you felt that this made the room unconfutable but unfortunately due to the age of the building AC is not an option.
The red chandelier in our reception is a dust magnet as you can imagine, this is deep cleaned weekly and I am sorry if it was not looking its best during your stay.
We do in deed have fish and chips on our menu, but I have never had a comment that the Inn smelt like a fish and chip shop? Cooking preferences and taste are subject to personal preference, but all of our burgers have to be served either medium well or well done to ensure that they are cooked through as apposed to a steak which of course you can have rare or blue if you like, so I am surprized that you thought your burger was rare.
Thank you for your comments, which I will share with the team to ensure we keep moving forwards and improving
Best Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garches, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great hotel nestled in a lovely Costwolds village nearby a river. We had a very comfortable family room. Breakfast is good and served in a nice dining room. Two dinners in the bar, very good food (and good children menus), good service. Nice terrace in the garden, among the birds and close to the river. Overall an excellent stay for a really relaxing break in a so British countryside. All of this comes with a price, that is not cheap

Room Tip: The hotel has several buildings, ask where is your room when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Marc689, I am pleased you had an excellent break with us
I hope to see you again soon
Best Wishes
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Fabulous hotel in the Cotswolds in really lovely setting. Quite the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. Big room with lavish bathroom. However, the luxury comes with a fairly hefty price tag. Probably worth it as a one-off, but not on a regular basis.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squirhill_wickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Squirhill_wickens, I am so pleased you enjoyed a great night’s sleep with us. I think you will find us one of the best value places to stay in the Cotswolds, keep a look out for some great value mid week breaks, like our 3 nights for the price 2 including dinner each night for just £430
Best Wishes
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is the kind of village where you might have found Miss Marple. Our inn room was luxurious, quiet, well appointed. Breakfast was excellent, and the meals we had there were just fine. Wonderful place to stay a few days while walking locally as we did.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward34231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Edward34231, I am glad you had a nice stay with us, you will have to come back soon to see if you can find Mrs Marple next time
Best Wishes
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have been meaning to write this review for a long time! We had an amazing stay last October for a wedding. The afternoon tea after a wedding in the church across the road was superb. We had an overnight stay in a lovely room with a huge bathroom and shower. Breakfast was also amazing. Quiet location and stunning for an autumn wedding.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocolatelover15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Chocolatelover, I remember the wedding well, it was indeed a perfect day.
We are the perfect venue with our idyllic location and the church just being just across the road from us
Best Wishes
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We loved this place. We spent two nights here, two 70-plus with two 50-plus, enjoying a walk in the Cotswolds. Our accommodations were cottage-like, two floors, living room very nice below, bedroom on second floor. Bedroom had one defect, slanting ceiling on one side of the bed guaranteed head bumps BUT we learned quickly. Actually the entire inn has low ceilings - adds to the charm, just be careful. Our rooms faced the parking lot, but no noise. Completely pastoral feel all around, duck pond, sheep, green fields. The staff was friendly and helpful. One morning my daughter had a medical emergency, we got a taxi to the nearby North Cotswolds Hospital (also wonderful, speedy attention, USA take note), when we returned to the Inn, as we had missed breakfast, they sat us down and brought us coffee, tea, toast, etc, just to be nice. Very comforting.
Dining room service OK, maybe a tad understaffed, but pleasant. Menu varied, and good selections for those who wanted something light and those who wanted to go more Henry VIII.
This place is really nice, a very good advertisement for all things Brit, traditional and modern. and in a perfect setting.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolPrinceton_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOB31, General Manager at The Slaughters Country Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear CarollPrinceton_NJ, I am pleased you had a great stay and that your daughter was ok
Best Wishes
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Slaughter
0.1 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
9.8 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
1.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slaughters Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slaughters Country Inn

Property: The Slaughters Country Inn
Address: Formally Washbourne Court, Lower Slaughter GL54 2HS, England (Formerly Washbourne Court)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lower Slaughter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Slaughters Country Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are in search of peace, tranquility and the epitome of English country life you need look no further than The Slaughters Country Inn (formally Washbourne Court Hotel). Situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty in all seasons. A truly magnificent 17th century hotel standing in four acres of grounds alongside the River Eye in the centre of Lower Slaughter, one of the most beautiful and unspoiled villages in the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Slaughters Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washbourne Court Hotel Lower Slaughter
Washbourne Court Lower Slaughter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing