We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Comfy Room but Ordinary Restaurant Menu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Slaughters Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
912 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
“Nice Comfy Room but Ordinary Restaurant Menu”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stopped here for one night in Southlawn which was in the new block away from the main building. The room is obviously designed for the disabled using a wheelchair although the emergency cord in the main bathroom above the toilet was only 2 cm long hanging from the ceiling. I did point this out to the receptionist who told me that the hotel was aware and was waiting for a new one to be delivered! Our bedroom was large and had two comfy chairs and in addition to the main bathroom there was a wet room complete with an appropriate chair.

We had pre-booked our evening meal in the restaurant but were disappointed with the rather limited menu. The sign at the hotel entrance said 'comfort food' but apart from battered fish and chips, this was not evident. My wife requested that she have her fish grilled was was done without any fish but tasted quite underdone. I had the battered fish and chips as I was told that the Chargrilled, 8oz flat flat iron steak only came medium rare and as I wanted it medium chef would not cook it! The Beer battered fish 'n' chips with lemon tartar sauce and crushed peas was nothing to write home about. Neither was my Spitting Spider Chardonnay at a costly£19.50. The breakfast the following morning was fine. I enjoyed my Sausage, Bacon and Poached Egg. We were a bit puzzled that there was a table for two between the fruit juices and the cold table. We declined to sit there and could see that the eventual occupants were uncomfortable with guests in close proximity on both sides of their table. There was no problem checking out and our account was correct.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    352
    86
    30
    11
See reviews for
167
827
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Having never visited the Cotswolds, we decided upon the Slaughters Country Inn after looking up various hotels online. We weren't disappointed. The accommodation was charming, and dinner in the hotel restaurant was delicious. There are several good walks that begin just outside the Inn's doors, and with a car, it was easy to explore other nearby areas.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieBlue20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWells
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Eat in the resturant - asked for a window seat and no problem. Nice and busy so glad we booked. Nice location and enjoyable walk by the river pre dinner. Food was good, wine was too (bit £) and unhurried meal. Would recommend and we'll go again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DBM007_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

A beautiful location. The Inn was warm and inviting after a long cold wet drive. Our son came at short notice and Management happily made additional arrangements at minimal cost. A great buffet breakfast was included in the price and was most enjoyable. Pre dinner drinks were in the Pub inside and a table nearby for a delightful restaurant meal. We loved walking the attractive local Cotswold village to return to this inviting Inn. We are booking again from Australia for a return visit .

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We called in to this pub on a Saturday in august as a diversion from a drive back to somerset from stratford on avon. The village itself is picture book stunning, and there was a wedding in progress when we arrved which was lovely. We only had a couple of roast beef rolls for a snack lunch, but the rare roast beef was to die for. The pub is very old and beautiful with very low ceilings and lovely grounds. There was a barbecue option for lunch for ten pounds, which looked good also. This is not a poor part of the countryside. We were amazed by the numbers of porches, beavers, Alfa Romeos and mercy in the pub carpark!
A short walk along the stream takes you to a pretty craft shop at The Mill, which had some good quality gifts and delicious home made ice cream. All in all a lovely stop, equalled only by a visit a couple of days earlier, to beautiful Bourton on the Water, also worth a lunch stop or longer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterville, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel had very nice curb appeal and our room was a very nice suite. The reservation was part of a package so I'm not sure of the costs, but it was definitely all we were looking for and more. The only small issue encountered were bugs; not bad bugs, but there were bugs on the floor. Room was well kept and clean. The staff was great, and meals were very good. We loved the location and we would come back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wppfeifer48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Before I begin, I should say that this is a beautiful hotel in an outstanding setting - that's why we chose to book a room to stay overnight as we had arranged to meet family for a meal in the evening. I deliberately chose a superior room because of the lovely picture and description of 'fine garden views'. So you might understand my huge disappointment when I looked out of the window of my room to be greeted not by grazing lambs or pristine lawns but a view of a large grey roof with two roof lights! The room itself was lovely - although not open plan as stated on my booking confirmation. I queried the window's outlook with the receptionist who simply agreed that the description was wrong and should be changed, that she would mention my complaint to the manager (who wasn't there at the time) and... nothing... That was it. The hotel was, apparently, full so there was no chance of changing room, but I had expected some more understanding - perhaps a complimentary bottle of wine with our meal that night? Well, perhaps when we checked out there would be some more mention of it? No. The receptionist the next morning knew nothing about it and was pretty disinterested. I wasn't going to make a song and dance about it there and then in front of other guests, but I am astonished that a superior room, advertised as having a fine garden view had nothing of the sort. I had booked it for the view but they didn't seem bothered at all that their description had mis-sold the room. Isn't there a law against that?
So avoid Godolphin Room; fine in every way except for the view, which is the worst I've ever seen from a superior hotel. Oh, and please change the description to point out that not all the superior rooms are open plan with fine garden views!

Room Tip: Avoid Goldolphin room. A superior room in its description but don't expect to see anything expec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 50yearsyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Slaughter
0.1 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
545 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,072 reviews
12.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
402 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
326 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slaughters Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slaughters Country Inn

Property: The Slaughters Country Inn
Address: Formally Washbourne Court, Lower Slaughter GL54 2HS, England (Formerly Washbourne Court)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lower Slaughter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Slaughters Country Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of one of the most picturesque Cotswold villages, The Slaughters Country Inn offers the authentic charm of a traditional village inn; exceptional food made with the best local produce, a fine selection of local ales, roaring log fires to warm the winter months and a stunning terrace for when the sun shines. The Slaughters Country Inn is the perfect location for a country break where wellies, walks and unwinding are the order of the day. The friendly and relaxed bar welcomes guests with sofas, rustic touches and shelves lined with books and board games and the Inn’s 25 guestrooms and six charming cottages are all designed to reflect the property’s unique character, blending the traditional features of the oldest part of the house with contemporary design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Slaughters Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washbourne Court Hotel Lower Slaughter
Washbourne Court Lower Slaughter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing