We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Slaughters Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights during the hot spell at the end of July. The room on the first floor was spacious with a large well-appointed en-suite with shower and separate bath. The room was inevitably warm but fans were provided to make the atmosphere more bearable. The young staff were pleasant, friendly, and attentive and the service was efficient. We enjoyed all the meals there, having dinner every night during our stay and will certainly be looking to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamworth5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    352
    87
    30
    11
See reviews for
167
829
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I think my expectations were too high, being a member of the Andrew Bromswold hotels I was expecting service and a hotel more comparable to other properties - it is the poor relation but I suppose the price reflects the difference. The main areas were a little too clinical, they were missing a bit of character expected for a Cotswold inn. The bedroom was large with a separate sitting area (we booked a superior room) and was quiet but the bathroom was tiny (we dare not put the towel rail on in fear of catching ourselves on the hot surface). The food was ok, nothing special but not terrible either. The service was hit and miss, some of the staff were excellent, others not so. All in all, a mixed bag.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BishTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A really good standard hotel in a perfect Cotswold setting. The staff were very friendly, the service was excellent and the whole break was good value for money.

I was offered some discounted rates for a group booking midweek, which helped. They offer different types of rooms at different prices, so it suited the whole group.

I booked a Special Dinner in their private dining room, which was wonderful, overlooking the gardens.

The hotel is ideally located to explore Bourton on the Water, Stow in the Wold and the Slaughters all by foot, leaving your car in the hotel car park.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main hotel are nicer than those in the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
912 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stopped here for one night in Southlawn which was in the new block away from the main building. The room is obviously designed for the disabled using a wheelchair although the emergency cord in the main bathroom above the toilet was only 2 cm long hanging from the ceiling. I did point this out to the receptionist who told me that the hotel was aware and was waiting for a new one to be delivered! Our bedroom was large and had two comfy chairs and in addition to the main bathroom there was a wet room complete with an appropriate chair.

We had pre-booked our evening meal in the restaurant but were disappointed with the rather limited menu. The sign at the hotel entrance said 'comfort food' but apart from battered fish and chips, this was not evident. My wife requested that she have her fish grilled was was done without any fish but tasted quite underdone. I had the battered fish and chips as I was told that the Chargrilled, 8oz flat flat iron steak only came medium rare and as I wanted it medium chef would not cook it! The Beer battered fish 'n' chips with lemon tartar sauce and crushed peas was nothing to write home about. Neither was my Spitting Spider Chardonnay at a costly£19.50. The breakfast the following morning was fine. I enjoyed my Sausage, Bacon and Poached Egg. We were a bit puzzled that there was a table for two between the fruit juices and the cold table. We declined to sit there and could see that the eventual occupants were uncomfortable with guests in close proximity on both sides of their table. There was no problem checking out and our account was correct.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Having never visited the Cotswolds, we decided upon the Slaughters Country Inn after looking up various hotels online. We weren't disappointed. The accommodation was charming, and dinner in the hotel restaurant was delicious. There are several good walks that begin just outside the Inn's doors, and with a car, it was easy to explore other nearby areas.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieBlue20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWells
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Eat in the resturant - asked for a window seat and no problem. Nice and busy so glad we booked. Nice location and enjoyable walk by the river pre dinner. Food was good, wine was too (bit £) and unhurried meal. Would recommend and we'll go again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DBM007_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

A beautiful location. The Inn was warm and inviting after a long cold wet drive. Our son came at short notice and Management happily made additional arrangements at minimal cost. A great buffet breakfast was included in the price and was most enjoyable. Pre dinner drinks were in the Pub inside and a table nearby for a delightful restaurant meal. We loved walking the attractive local Cotswold village to return to this inviting Inn. We are booking again from Australia for a return visit .

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Slaughter
0.1 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
546 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,073 reviews
12.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
404 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
328 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slaughters Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slaughters Country Inn

Property: The Slaughters Country Inn
Address: Formally Washbourne Court, Lower Slaughter GL54 2HS, England (Formerly Washbourne Court)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lower Slaughter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Slaughters Country Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of one of the most picturesque Cotswold villages, The Slaughters Country Inn offers the authentic charm of a traditional village inn; exceptional food made with the best local produce, a fine selection of local ales, roaring log fires to warm the winter months and a stunning terrace for when the sun shines. The Slaughters Country Inn is the perfect location for a country break where wellies, walks and unwinding are the order of the day. The friendly and relaxed bar welcomes guests with sofas, rustic touches and shelves lined with books and board games and the Inn’s 25 guestrooms and six charming cottages are all designed to reflect the property’s unique character, blending the traditional features of the oldest part of the house with contemporary design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Slaughters Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washbourne Court Hotel Lower Slaughter
Washbourne Court Lower Slaughter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing