We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, lovely room, but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Slaughters Manor House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My wife and I joined another couple for a weekend break. We stayed in the Coach House and the rooms were excellent. There were one or two minor hiccups over service but these were easily over looked because of the extremely friendly and charming staff who really added to our enjoyment, The restaurant was busy both nights so there was a good atmosphere and the food was delicious. Our friends' view was that it was far superior to the Lords of The Manor where they had stayed a fortnight previously. We had one afternoon tea which was also of good quality.

Lower Slaughter itself is a charming village and you are a short trip from Stow, Daylesford and other distractions.

My only reservation is the price which in my opinion is about 20% over the top. I know the Costwolds is a special market but, by way of example only, these prices are comparable to what you would expect to pay in New York or Tokyo for top end accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TobyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear TobyYorkshire,

Thank you for your recent review of Lower Slaughter Manor. The team and I are delighted that you and your friends had a memorable weekend with us and that we were able to resolve and shortcomings on our behalf.

We do monitor our rates carefully to ensure we are comparable to other hotels in our competitor set, but you might like to keep an eye on our website or Facebook page for any seasonal special offers.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Kind regards
Abbi & the LSM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

480 - 486 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were recommended this restaurant for Sunday lunch by staff at a nearby hotel ... we were not disappointed. The best Sunday lunch at a restaurant we have had. Unfortunately we were only one of two tables, so there was no atmosphere, but the attention from staff and the 'private' dining experience made up for this. The Beef was superb and the presentation a work of art. The desert was absolutely delicious.
We viewed a handful of rooms ... Stunning! The lounges stately and welcoming. Overall a very enjoyable few hours in a hotel that we are sure to stay at in the future.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank steviewonder123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear steviewonder123,

Thank you for taking the time to review your Sunday lunch with us, we are delighted we lived up to expectations! It was an unusually quiet Sunday for us, but hopefully on your next visit there will be more of a buzz.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind regards
Abbi & the LSM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

As busy working parents from the moment you arrive at the Beautiful Lower Slaughter Manor you immediately feel relaxed and comforted in the sumptuous surroundings.

The food is exquisite with a real craft and quality seasonal ingredients all sourced locally. It’s presented with an eye for detail that is unprecedented. Our venison with juniper gravy was out of this world. All the wines suggested perfectly harmonised with the food presented. The staff attentive but discrete.

Our room the Antoinette had the wow factor with a mammoth four-poster, which required steps to get into and a luxurious roll top bath in the bathroom.

We will be coming back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Donna S,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review of your time with us at the Manor. We are delighted that you were able to relax completely and enjoy the ambience.

Hopefully it won't be too long before you return!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I recently visited this hotel with my wife for a weekend break. We had heard good things about this hotel, and its location -- right in the middle of the picturesque Cotswold Village -- is certainly a plus.

However, the overall experience was not up to our standard, and certainly not that of the price tag. I would describe the hotel as a bit tired. Carpets are fading, and dirty. There are lots of scuff marks on walls in the Coach House from mishandled luggage. The dinning room is poorly lit, and you have to walk through the serving area (with all its noise and bustle) to your seat. In addition, there is a shattered mirror as you walk into dinning area. Normally, these should all be minor issues, but the fact that none of these easy wins are addressed tells you something about the standards here.

I also noticed that while rooms were being serviced in the Coach House, the housekeeper just left half-filled garbage bags in the entrance hallway. This is such an obvious thing not to do!

The food was excellent, but the service was slow. There was a large party staying at the hotel at the same time, so i think this consumed the staff bandwidth a bit. But taking too long to take drink orders at dinner, and at breakfast again, is just not acceptable. I was also surprised that the menu does not change from day to day. For weekends, the hotel obliges you to stay two nights -- but insists you eat from the same menu twice.

On the positive side, our room was excellent and spacious. However, I did sense that too much of it was given to the bath (not the bathroom -- just the bath), without any of the ancillary needs that go with it like a towel rack. This is a basic design flaw of the room, and meant that if you hop out of the bath you have to dart to the bathroom where the towel rack resides. It struck me that the room designer was trying to accomplish too much here!

Overall, my suggestion to those looking for a weekend break in this part of the Cotswolds to try Lords of the Manor instead. It is just up the road in Upper Slaughter.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LHReverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear LHReverywhere,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent break with us and please accept my sincere apologies that we did not live up to expectations.

With regards to the décor and overall maintenance, it is disappointing that in general we weren’t looking our best, however we take the presentation of the fabric of the building very seriously. The mirror in the restaurant has very recently been broken and in fact the new panel arrived on Friday, only to find that it had been incorrectly cut and we are awaiting the replacement this week. In the meantime, the broken piece has been secured to ensure it is safe.

The scuff marks on the walls are unacceptable and will be addressed as soon as possible, as will the presence of rubbish bags left by housekeeping. The carpets however are shampoo’d regularly and whilst they are not brand new, they are carefully maintained - I am only sorry they do not give this impression. We are in discussion over replacing some of the public area carpets, and the restaurant carpet is planned for the coming months. Replacing a carpet is not a job to be taken lightly and the remainder therefore will be completed as the property is refurbished over the next few years. Your comment about the design flaw in the bathroom is also one that will be addressed in the future, as currently, with the exception of the dining room, the décor of the hotel is that of the previous ownership, rather than the classic luxury that is characteristic of the Brownsword style.

We were saddened that your experience in the restaurant itself was accompanied by slow service, and Laszlo, our restaurant manager will address these issues with his team. The presence of a private party should not have impacted upon other diners.

In addition to our Table D’Hôte menu, we do offer the Tasting Menu or for those looking for something lighter we have a lounge menu and room service menu. We receive super feedback about the dining options, however Jamie, our chef is always keen to receive suggestions from our guests and will take your comments on board.

It is a shame that you did not mention any of these concerns either during your stay or perhaps on departure, as we would have gladly welcomed the opportunity to discuss them in person.

We hope that you will enjoy your next visit to the Cotswolds at Lords of the Manor, and if you do choose to stay with us again in the future, we shall look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My new husband had booked us a two night stay after our wedding nr Bath as a treat.

The setting and location are superb and the ground floor rooms of the hotel lovely and luxurious. The porter and receptionist we met were extremely polite and helpful.

We were allocated "Emma" which was fairly small and quite ordinary, including a bathroom with no window. The complimentary fruit was two very sour Granny Smiths apples. As Steve had booked on-line rather than calling the hotel to discuss this we felt it was partly our mistake and the room was adequate. It was then a bit frustrating to be told when we checked out that we should have been upgraded (in response to a phone call from the manager of the hotel where our wedding reception was held) "but we forgot". We were offered this if we returned, but I'm not sure we will.

The breakfasts we had were superb. We chose not to eat in the hotel on the first night as we wanted something plain and simple and the second night we decided the menu was more than we required and pretty pricey, so we had a meal at Russells in Broadway. The Receptionist went to great lengths to tell us how lovely the food was in the hotel!

When we checked out we were charged for two nights Dinner B&B as this is what was originally reserved. When I challenged that we had not realised this (it was not checked with us when we arrived) and thought the booking was just for the room (hence maybe why we got a smaller than expected room?) and that we had not eaten dinner on either night we were advised an exception could be made to reduce the bill, but this was not normally done. So although pleased we were not charged for something we had not eaten I was a bit surprised the way this was addressed!

In all, a luxurious hotel, but it didn't totally work for us on this occasion.

Room Tip: Emma is small with an internal bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneBunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear JaneBunton,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, and please accept my apologies that your break with us was not everything you had hoped it would be.

I have investigated with my team, and it appears there has been some confusion. The General Manager of the hotel where you had your wedding is an acquaintance of our Head Housekeeper and so contacted her personally via her mobile phone, rather than at the hotel during her shift. Unfortunately, this conversation was a few hours after you had checked in and so whilst we would have been happy to arrange an upgrade if requested, we would not want to disturb you after you had settled in. Susan did however mention your celebration to the team the following day, and I hope you appreciated the card and chocolates we placed in your room.

As a result of your comments regarding the tariff, we have revised our procedures to reconfirm board basis to our guests on arrival, and I'm sorry that the way it was handled was not very tactful. The reason however that we do not usually reduce the rate last minute is that we have reserved tables for guests who have booked on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis and therefore those are tables we could have offered to other guests had we known in advance they would not be required.

We do hope you will change your minds and return to us in the future, in which case we would be happy to arrange an upgrade.

With kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

A lot of complicated arrangements and of course the weather all came together to make the most memorable weekend we'd had in years. Of course the hotel played a major part in this success. Superb. Hotel highlights? The staff: attentive, informative, helpful and above all, caring. And the star of the show? It would be easy to say the Cotswolds, but we've been many times before, no for us the star of the weekend was Chef Raftery, his food is inventive, delicate, inclusive and forensically detailed - just try the tomato juice at breakfast...

Recommend without reservation, though you may need one when LSM gets it's deserved and inevitable Michelin Star.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Much,

Thank you for your delightful review of your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that we made your trip to the Cotswolds a memorable one, and Jamie Raftery is very touched by your praise!

Hopefully we will be welcoming you back in the not too distant future!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed overnight while on a business trip with my company. The food was really very good indeed and was a big surprise. I had a large and well decorated room which looked over to the Church and was spacious and clean. Service was sometimes brilliant, and sometimes a bit odd. A late evening in the restaurant ended when overpowered by small of lemon cleaning products forced us to move. Peculiar that front door locked at night with no staff on duty or key to allow exit. Beautiful part of the country and L. Slaughter is very picturesque.

Room Tip: Rose was a lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CP1966942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear CP1966942,

Thank you for your review of Lower Slaughter Manor, and we are so pleased that you enjoyed the food in particular.

We are disappointed that you found some aspects of your stay a little odd and therefore have investigated with the team.

Last thing at night before the kitchen porter leaves, he ensures that the kitchen floor is thoroughly swept and mopped - if you were still in the restaurant at this time, it may well have been this you could smell, and we are sorry if this disturbed you.

With regards to the door being locked, when the night porter comes on duty and is sure all guests are in house, he will lock the front door for the security of all staff and guests. You may not have seen him, as he does have a busy schedule ahead of him each evening, however he does leave a sign on the front desk instructing guests to dial '0' for assistance. Please accept our sincere apologies if you required assistance and were unable to contact anyone - our Front of House Manager is currently reviewing the night porter's procedures to ensure they are appropriate.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Slaughter
0.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,330 reviews
9.8 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
481 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,072 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
115 reviews
12.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slaughters Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slaughters Manor House

Address: Copsehill Road, Lower Slaughter GL54 2HP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lower Slaughter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Price Range: £167 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Slaughters Manor House 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of England’s prettiest villages, The Slaughters Manor House is a beautiful 17th Century manor house which combines contemporary interiors with country charm, attentive service and one of the most acclaimed restaurants in the Cotswolds. Spring 2016 saw the entire ground floor renovated to restore the character of the building, exposing and emphasising architectural details contrasted with a modern, vibrant interior design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Slaughters Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Slaughter Manor Hotel Lower Slaughter
Hotel Lower Slaughter
Manor Hotel Lower Slaughter
Lower Manor Slaughter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing