We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Slaughters Manor House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Certificate of Excellence
Uxbridge
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My wife and I pack up the dogs for a week and stay in a cottage near Stow every year. We all like Lower Slaughter but have never been to the Manor, so I popped in and made a reservation for dinner the next day.

When we arrived we were taken down to a fairly empty restaurant that remained quiet but not "dead" all evening. The staff were extremely friendly and made us feel special. We had a drink first and looked the menu over. The ordering was fun and the waiter explained, when we asked, how some of the dishes were prepared and cooked. The wine waiter was also helpful and knowledgeable and in a very nice way challenged my choice of white wine to go with the starters, he said it may be too sweet and suggested an alternate, we went with that and he was quite right, it was a better option! We did not choose the taster menu as I have a seafood allergy but the choices on the table d'hote menu are pretty wide and should please all diners.

The breads that were brought out were great and between each course was a "pre" taster, all very good.

The meal was fantastic, certainly borderline Michelin standard in my view. Starters were delicious. For mains we had Wild Sea Bass for my wife and I tried Cotswold Beef Fillet that was out of this world. The deserts are also unbelievably good. The variety of red wines is particularly good and the Barollo we chose was just perfect and not wincingly expensive either.

Coffees, liqueurs and chocolates we decided to take in the lounge, they were dutifully brought up to us to enjoy in lovely surroundings and without being followed around to make sure we didn't leave without paying, a little thing I know but a rare courtesy we felt.

This was a great and special experience, more expensive that many dinners out but when considering the location, quality of food, fine wine and particularly the marvelous staff well worth every penny.

Thank you all so much, we shall return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UxbridgeJmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear UxbridgeJmc,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of your recent meal with us - I know Jamie, our chef, is delighted to read such feedback!

On a future visit, you would be very welcome to try the Tasting menu - if you advise us on booking of any allergies or dislikes, Jamie & the team will happily tailor the menu to suit your requirements.

With kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    121
    53
    14
    11
See reviews for
80
371
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Lower Slaughter Manor for a rare 2 nights away from our young children! We wanted somewhere to be able to properly rest with fantastic food & fantastic service. We definetely got all 3. The hotel itself looks beautiful on arrival & we were greeted faultlessly. Bags carried, 100% attention on check in & an upgrade to a junior suite. Couldn't have been better. The suite was lovely, and we spent hours reading and relaxing in it due to its very large size. Perfect. We ate the first evening in the restaurant. Food was Michelin quality - beautiful. Breakfast both mornings was delicious & the service faultless. Our only criticism here is the ambience (or lack of) in the dining room. The room desperately needs breaking up somehow so that you dont have to whisper/feel like youre in one big room.

Overall the most outstanding thing about this hotel is the service. The staff really do genuinely seem to want to do absolutely everything they can to please. They definetely achieved that for us.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Puddle34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Puddle34,

Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted we were able to provide the right place for you to rest & relax!

We have also taken your comments onboard regarding the restaurant - we have recently completed phase 1 of the redecoration project and so hopefully once the flooring and accessories are completed, the ambience will change.

Hoping you won't leave it too long until you return,

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The Lower Slaughter Manor is located in a gorgeous little village. The building is so charming and in keeping with the historical setting. I enjoyed the fact that you can feel the age of the building and that the floors are a little uneven and the stairs creek. We were upgraded to a Junior suite called "Kate" which was very spacious with a four-poster bed. It was really nicely decorated but starting to look like it might need a little refurbishing - for example, there was a crack in one of the floor tiles in the bathroom. However, the hotel was so charming and so were the hotel staff, that they nearly get away with some shabbiness. However, the service at breakfast on Sunday was a bit of a disaster. The staff seemed to either be inexperienced or over-worked, or both. We were left waiting 25 minutes for our cooked breakfast and actually gave up and left before receiving it. There also seemed to be some confusion amongst the staff about which table had ordered what! It was a bit of a pity and marred what was otherwise a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornishCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear CornishCat,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at Lower Slaughter Manor, and I am delighted that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us. Kate is one of my favourite rooms, with it's view over the front lawn, and when Mr & Mrs Brownsword commence the refurbishment of the bedrooms in the future, I know that Kate's bathroom will certainly be renovated with the highest quality fixtures & fittings.

With regards to breakfast, I have spoken with our restaurant manager to find out what happened, and it appears that two dockets got mixed up in the kitchen and this caused quite a lot of confusion. We are sincerely sorry, and rather embarrassed at the ensuing delays in the dining room, and I do hope that this will not be your lasting memory of us.

Hoping that you return to visit us again in the future,

With kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This beautiful country manor house in the Cotswolds is a real gem. Set in a gorgeous park like setting it has lovely rooms and spectacular food. The meal was one of the best we have ever had. If you are traveling through this part of England you must stay here. It is a Relais & Chateau, so is pricey, but we thought worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELP733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear ELP733,

Thank you for your review of Lower Slaughter Manor. We are so pleased we made your Cotswold trip memorable and hope you will return in the future!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The property is a superb Cotswold Manor House and looked to be in pretty good order inside and out. We were not staying but booked in for dinner on a Thursday night; sadly, the food was a disappointment.
Considering we were the only two people in for the first hour and a half and then there were only two others and a party in a private room, the service was poor. We were very slow at being served our drinks and the four courses came up slowly in the restaurant. Our eel starter was in batter as were crab balls in the main fish dish; both only tasted of fried batter, the contents could have been anything!
On the menu there was no al a carte choice, only a tasting menu at £85 or four courses at £65. This became an expensive option with no opportunity to have just a starter and a main or a main and a sweet / cheese and the food just wasn't worth it. The small portions, even with little extra tasters, meant we had to top up with bread, which was excellent and for which we weren't charged, thank goodness. Wine was very expensive and, ok, I expect it was all very good but there was little choice for non-drinkers / drivers and small drinkers.
Overall a disappointing evening, with little or no ambiance in charming venue.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Roger S,

Thank you for reviewing your recent meal at Lower Slaughter Manor.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the charm of the building, but am obviously disappointed to read your feedback regarding the meal itself.

Laszlo, our Restaurant Manager has asked me to convey his apologies for the slow drinks service you received and has assured me he will follow up with his team accordingly.

Jamie, our chef is saddened that you didn't enjoy the food, particularly as we have been receiving such glowing praise about the menus. He will of course take your comments onboard and make any changes he feels appropriate.

We do hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future, in which case, either Laszlo or myself would be delighted to handle your reservation personally.

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My wife and I joined another couple for a weekend break. We stayed in the Coach House and the rooms were excellent. There were one or two minor hiccups over service but these were easily over looked because of the extremely friendly and charming staff who really added to our enjoyment, The restaurant was busy both nights so there was a good atmosphere and the food was delicious. Our friends' view was that it was far superior to the Lords of The Manor where they had stayed a fortnight previously. We had one afternoon tea which was also of good quality.

Lower Slaughter itself is a charming village and you are a short trip from Stow, Daylesford and other distractions.

My only reservation is the price which in my opinion is about 20% over the top. I know the Costwolds is a special market but, by way of example only, these prices are comparable to what you would expect to pay in New York or Tokyo for top end accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TobyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear TobyYorkshire,

Thank you for your recent review of Lower Slaughter Manor. The team and I are delighted that you and your friends had a memorable weekend with us and that we were able to resolve and shortcomings on our behalf.

We do monitor our rates carefully to ensure we are comparable to other hotels in our competitor set, but you might like to keep an eye on our website or Facebook page for any seasonal special offers.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Kind regards
Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were recommended this restaurant for Sunday lunch by staff at a nearby hotel ... we were not disappointed. The best Sunday lunch at a restaurant we have had. Unfortunately we were only one of two tables, so there was no atmosphere, but the attention from staff and the 'private' dining experience made up for this. The Beef was superb and the presentation a work of art. The desert was absolutely delicious.
We viewed a handful of rooms ... Stunning! The lounges stately and welcoming. Overall a very enjoyable few hours in a hotel that we are sure to stay at in the future.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank steviewonder123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear steviewonder123,

Thank you for taking the time to review your Sunday lunch with us, we are delighted we lived up to expectations! It was an unusually quiet Sunday for us, but hopefully on your next visit there will be more of a buzz.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind regards
Abbi & the LSM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Slaughter
0.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,060 reviews
9.8 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,276 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
2,182 reviews
1.8 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slaughters Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slaughters Manor House

Property: The Slaughters Manor House
Address: Copsehill Road, Lower Slaughter GL54 2HP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lower Slaughter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Slaughters Manor House 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lower Slaughter Manor is a stunning 16th Century Manor House, a luxurious 19 bedroom hotel located in the heart of the picture postcard village of Lower Slaughter in the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Slaughters Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Slaughter Manor Hotel Lower Slaughter
Hotel Lower Slaughter
Manor Hotel Lower Slaughter
Lower Manor Slaughter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing