We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Cotswolds Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Slaughters Manor House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Spent two nights here and had dinner in the hotel on both nights! Service and food was second to none, the 7 course tasting menu reminded me of a meal at Le Manoir! Staff can't do enough for you only minor gripe would be the rather quiet atmosphere in the lounge areas you had to whisper, and a poor tv signal, but that's it! Would recommend to any couple looking for 1st class food, service, setting and what seemed an hourly turn down service!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Craig B,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent visit! Jamie, our chef, is particularly delighted you were so impressed by his menu and cooking!

It is a shame you felt you had to whisper in the lounges – we have from time to time having music in the Drawing Room & Salon, but feel this would be a little unnatural. With regards to the television signal, our maintenance team has retuned the TVs as necessary.

We hope to see you again in the not to distant future,

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

451 - 457 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

Gone are the days when lovely Cotswold Hotels were staffed by local people who had no real interest in the hospitality industry. Now, as here, London standards of service are expected and achieved. The mostly mature male staff at the Manor are really excellent, friendly, welcoming, and so professional. The decor is lovely, quality furnishing in spotless rooms, with the amazing ceilings of the old rectory it once was.

Food was beautifully presented, excellent quality, superbly cooked, very good value. I was looking at the wine racks, and the sommelier stopped to chat, and seemed very knowledgable and friendly.

Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cotswolds47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear cotswold47,

The team and I were delighted to read your glowing review of your recent visit to the Manor.

Our sommelier, Howard, is always happy to talk about his cellar and so will look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My wife and I pack up the dogs for a week and stay in a cottage near Stow every year. We all like Lower Slaughter but have never been to the Manor, so I popped in and made a reservation for dinner the next day.

When we arrived we were taken down to a fairly empty restaurant that remained quiet but not "dead" all evening. The staff were extremely friendly and made us feel special. We had a drink first and looked the menu over. The ordering was fun and the waiter explained, when we asked, how some of the dishes were prepared and cooked. The wine waiter was also helpful and knowledgeable and in a very nice way challenged my choice of white wine to go with the starters, he said it may be too sweet and suggested an alternate, we went with that and he was quite right, it was a better option! We did not choose the taster menu as I have a seafood allergy but the choices on the table d'hote menu are pretty wide and should please all diners.

The breads that were brought out were great and between each course was a "pre" taster, all very good.

The meal was fantastic, certainly borderline Michelin standard in my view. Starters were delicious. For mains we had Wild Sea Bass for my wife and I tried Cotswold Beef Fillet that was out of this world. The deserts are also unbelievably good. The variety of red wines is particularly good and the Barollo we chose was just perfect and not wincingly expensive either.

Coffees, liqueurs and chocolates we decided to take in the lounge, they were dutifully brought up to us to enjoy in lovely surroundings and without being followed around to make sure we didn't leave without paying, a little thing I know but a rare courtesy we felt.

This was a great and special experience, more expensive that many dinners out but when considering the location, quality of food, fine wine and particularly the marvelous staff well worth every penny.

Thank you all so much, we shall return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank UxbridgeJmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear UxbridgeJmc,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of your recent meal with us - I know Jamie, our chef, is delighted to read such feedback!

On a future visit, you would be very welcome to try the Tasting menu - if you advise us on booking of any allergies or dislikes, Jamie & the team will happily tailor the menu to suit your requirements.

With kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at The Lower Slaughter Manor for a rare 2 nights away from our young children! We wanted somewhere to be able to properly rest with fantastic food & fantastic service. We definetely got all 3. The hotel itself looks beautiful on arrival & we were greeted faultlessly. Bags carried, 100% attention on check in & an upgrade to a junior suite. Couldn't have been better. The suite was lovely, and we spent hours reading and relaxing in it due to its very large size. Perfect. We ate the first evening in the restaurant. Food was Michelin quality - beautiful. Breakfast both mornings was delicious & the service faultless. Our only criticism here is the ambience (or lack of) in the dining room. The room desperately needs breaking up somehow so that you dont have to whisper/feel like youre in one big room.

Overall the most outstanding thing about this hotel is the service. The staff really do genuinely seem to want to do absolutely everything they can to please. They definetely achieved that for us.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Puddle34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Puddle34,

Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted we were able to provide the right place for you to rest & relax!

We have also taken your comments onboard regarding the restaurant - we have recently completed phase 1 of the redecoration project and so hopefully once the flooring and accessories are completed, the ambience will change.

Hoping you won't leave it too long until you return,

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The Lower Slaughter Manor is located in a gorgeous little village. The building is so charming and in keeping with the historical setting. I enjoyed the fact that you can feel the age of the building and that the floors are a little uneven and the stairs creek. We were upgraded to a Junior suite called "Kate" which was very spacious with a four-poster bed. It was really nicely decorated but starting to look like it might need a little refurbishing - for example, there was a crack in one of the floor tiles in the bathroom. However, the hotel was so charming and so were the hotel staff, that they nearly get away with some shabbiness. However, the service at breakfast on Sunday was a bit of a disaster. The staff seemed to either be inexperienced or over-worked, or both. We were left waiting 25 minutes for our cooked breakfast and actually gave up and left before receiving it. There also seemed to be some confusion amongst the staff about which table had ordered what! It was a bit of a pity and marred what was otherwise a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CornishCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear CornishCat,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at Lower Slaughter Manor, and I am delighted that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us. Kate is one of my favourite rooms, with it's view over the front lawn, and when Mr & Mrs Brownsword commence the refurbishment of the bedrooms in the future, I know that Kate's bathroom will certainly be renovated with the highest quality fixtures & fittings.

With regards to breakfast, I have spoken with our restaurant manager to find out what happened, and it appears that two dockets got mixed up in the kitchen and this caused quite a lot of confusion. We are sincerely sorry, and rather embarrassed at the ensuing delays in the dining room, and I do hope that this will not be your lasting memory of us.

Hoping that you return to visit us again in the future,

With kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This beautiful country manor house in the Cotswolds is a real gem. Set in a gorgeous park like setting it has lovely rooms and spectacular food. The meal was one of the best we have ever had. If you are traveling through this part of England you must stay here. It is a Relais & Chateau, so is pricey, but we thought worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELP733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear ELP733,

Thank you for your review of Lower Slaughter Manor. We are so pleased we made your Cotswold trip memorable and hope you will return in the future!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The property is a superb Cotswold Manor House and looked to be in pretty good order inside and out. We were not staying but booked in for dinner on a Thursday night; sadly, the food was a disappointment.
Considering we were the only two people in for the first hour and a half and then there were only two others and a party in a private room, the service was poor. We were very slow at being served our drinks and the four courses came up slowly in the restaurant. Our eel starter was in batter as were crab balls in the main fish dish; both only tasted of fried batter, the contents could have been anything!
On the menu there was no al a carte choice, only a tasting menu at £85 or four courses at £65. This became an expensive option with no opportunity to have just a starter and a main or a main and a sweet / cheese and the food just wasn't worth it. The small portions, even with little extra tasters, meant we had to top up with bread, which was excellent and for which we weren't charged, thank goodness. Wine was very expensive and, ok, I expect it was all very good but there was little choice for non-drinkers / drivers and small drinkers.
Overall a disappointing evening, with little or no ambiance in charming venue.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Roger S,

Thank you for reviewing your recent meal at Lower Slaughter Manor.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the charm of the building, but am obviously disappointed to read your feedback regarding the meal itself.

Laszlo, our Restaurant Manager has asked me to convey his apologies for the slow drinks service you received and has assured me he will follow up with his team accordingly.

Jamie, our chef is saddened that you didn't enjoy the food, particularly as we have been receiving such glowing praise about the menus. He will of course take your comments onboard and make any changes he feels appropriate.

We do hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future, in which case, either Laszlo or myself would be delighted to handle your reservation personally.

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Slaughter
0.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,301 reviews
9.8 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
456 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,359 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
60 reviews
10.8 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slaughters Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slaughters Manor House

Address: Copsehill Road, Lower Slaughter GL54 2HP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lower Slaughter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Price Range: £170 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Slaughters Manor House 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of England’s prettiest villages, The Slaughters Manor House is a beautiful 17th Century manor house which combines contemporary interiors with country charm, attentive service and one of the most acclaimed restaurants in the Cotswolds. Spring 2016 saw the entire ground floor renovated to restore the character of the building, exposing and emphasising architectural details contrasted with a modern, vibrant interior design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Slaughters Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Slaughter Manor Hotel Lower Slaughter
Hotel Lower Slaughter
Manor Hotel Lower Slaughter
Lower Manor Slaughter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing