We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Slaughters Manor House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Slaughters Manor House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I spent a couple of days here during April to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary and it could not have been more perfect. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and shown to our room , we had received a complimentary room upgrade which made our celebration even more special, amazing views in a light airy room and we loved the little touches , including the sherry!! The afternoon tea was superb, too many cakes and not enough sandwich but that is the case with all afternoon teas.. but it was lovely nonetheless .The breakfast was served in the main dining room by very attentive staff where nothing it seems is a problem and the same applied to dinner with ever efficient waiting staff , great food and our compliments to the amazing chef! The hotel has real charm and the wonderful staff make it a special place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear michskin,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. The team & I are delighted we made such an impression!

I have passed your feedback regarding the quantity of sandwiches at afternoon tea onto the chef. The team have recently redesigned the afternoon tea offering, and increasing the number of cakes served, they felt the number of sandwiches would be suitable - however we are always pleased to receive feedback on how to improve and so will take this into consideration. On a future visit, please feel free to ask for more if you would like!

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    113
    51
    14
    11
See reviews for
78
349
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level Contributor
82 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Lower Slaughter Manor, quintessential England. Beautiful and relaxing surroundings with friendly staff set in a post card picture village in the Cotswolds. However the real highlight for us was the food. We had no idea when we booked that the restaurant was run by such a creative and talented chef . Excellent food served by a very efficient waitress. A wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear petalee,

Thank you for your review of your visit to Lower Slaughter Manor. It was lovely to read how much you enjoyed your dining experience, and Jamie, our chef was particularly touched to hear your opinion of him!

We hope to see you back again in the future,

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

For our wedding anniversary, our daughters booked a champagne afternoon tea at Lower Slaughter Manor.
From start to finish the experience was brilliant!
The actual afternoon tea was all that one would hope for and the staff were very helpful and friendly.
The setting is very classy, and everything about the Manor exudes class!
Finished off with a walk around Lower Slaughter which is a beautiful and typical Cotswold setting.
A truly memorable afternoon!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnworsley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear johnworsley1,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience with us at the Manor, and a belated Happy Anniversary! What a lovely gift from your daughters, and we are so pleased we could help make your anniversary a memorable one!

We look forward to welcoming you all back in the future!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We were taken by some friends for afternoon tea and it was a pleasure to be welcomed and our table ready for us. The choice of food and teas were second to none. Having just recently had an awful afternoon tea in a top London hotel for the same price I can say that this one really lived up to the promise. All the staff were attentive and friendly and we shall certainly go again .

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Heather R,

Thank you for taking the time to review your afternoon tea at the Manor.

The kitchen team in particular are delighted to hear you enjoyed it, as they have recently redesigned the menu so are pleased to read your feedback!

We hope to welcome you back in the future, perhaps you might like to try us for lunch next time!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We will come back to this lovely hotel with exceptionally good and friendly service from all the staff. The restaurant food is top notch and we really enjoyed our stay. A charming location in the glorious English countryside. Well worth a visit for a tour of the Cotswolds.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Nifi,

Thank you for reviewing your visit to the Manor. It was our pleasure to look after you during your stay, and we hope you are planning another Cotswolds trip in the future!

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Great location, great staff, great food.

We stayed one night and throughly enjoyed the whole experience. If your looking to 'get away from it all' for a night you won't go far wrong by staying here thats for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dickydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear dickydave,

Thank you for reviewing your time with us. We are so pleased you found it to be a relaxing spot!

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

This was my fisrt time visiting The Slaughters and will not be my last. I booked for afternoon tea for my Mum's 60th Birthday, and as I have been working in a similar hotel for a number of years I had high expectations. From arrival, with the door being held open for you, to our own private landing area with stunning views over the well kept gardens. The waiter serving our tea seemed nervous but he was very friendly and did a great job. The sandwiches and scones were lovley and a lot of them (doggy bags available!), I personally would have liked a french fancy style cake, but never the less the offering was of a high standard. On leaving, the reception team wished my Mum a happy birthday, and again the door was held open for us. All in all a perfect afternoon. Hope to come back for DBB break.

Room Tip: Skip lunch, lots of food!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigjeff1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear jeffbig1966,

Thank you for taking the time to review your afternoon tea with us. The Gallery is one of my favourite areas in the hotel as I love the view over the garden!

Jamie, our chef, and his team are always looking to improve our menus, and so I shall pass your comments on to him regarding the "fancy"!

On behalf of the team, I look forward to welcoming you back for your DBB stay soon!

Kind regards

Abbi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Slaughter
0.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
1.8 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slaughters Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slaughters Manor House

Property: The Slaughters Manor House
Address: Copsehill Road, Lower Slaughter GL54 2HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lower Slaughter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Slaughters Manor House 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lower Slaughter Manor is a stunning 16th Century Manor House, a luxurious 19 bedroom hotel located in the heart of the picture postcard village of Lower Slaughter in the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Slaughters Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Slaughter Manor Hotel Lower Slaughter
Hotel Lower Slaughter
Manor Hotel Lower Slaughter
Lower Manor Slaughter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing