We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Slaughters Manor House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Slaughters Manor House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
178 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“One night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed on a Monday night on a secret escapes deal. On that basis the value was excellent, I would not have wanted to pay the full asking price. As we drove in we were greeted by David(?) who took control of the bags from the boot of the car, and was throughout our stay present and helpful with everything - he is a true asset.
We were upgraded from a Classic to a Deluxe room (Cedar), which was over in the carriage house. Checking in was simple, and we were taken to our room to settle in. The room was nicely done with a more modern influence in the colours and artwork, and was a tale of two halves. A huge grand bedroom, with bed tucked away to the side, and a freestanding bath sitting at one end with half height glass doors to separate it from the bedroom. So far so modern grand. But walled off in one corner was a tiny bathroom with toilet, shower and sink wedged in to a small space, and decorated in a very tired manner. Strange use of space we thought.
We went across to the main drawing room for our included cream tea, which had good quality scones and a great selection of teas, together with delicious biscuits. The room however could be so much better - none of the chairs or sofas matched with the heights of their assigned tables - the armchairs shared one very low, tiny side table making it hard to eat anything given the bending and reaching involved, and the larger tables by the windows (where we were sat), had a normal height table but very soft slouchy chairs. In the end both of us resorted to sitting on top of the scatter cushions, in turn on top of the seat cushions to be able to eat in comfort without the table almost being at nose height. The group of 4 Japanes tourists sitting on the sofas with a coffee table between them were also struggling with the height difference, and balancing various items from their full afternoon tea on their knees, perched on the edges of the sofas without dropping anything. For a cup of tea alone this room would be lovely (although I do think it could fit more furniture in to feel a little cosier, and rearranged a little to take better advantage of the space). However for a cream tea or afternoon tea, the height differential was just too much - perhaps it should be served in the restaurant if this is easier. I don't normally focus on these things, but it did stand out for me.
We ate dinner at the sister establishment across the road. Breakfast had a decent but not outstanding buffet (bottled pressed juices and generally good quality but not made on the site inclusions which generally elevate breakfast at these types of establishments. I ordered the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, whilst my partner had the kippers. My scrambled eggs were overcooked and rubbery, and the kipper was very bony - we understand they are not always filleted, but this specimen was noticeably difficult to eat. Although both our plates were far from empty, there was no question raised by the waitress when she cleared them.
It was a comfortable stay, but considering the other offerings in the near vicinity I am not sure we would rush back. Most of the points above are matters of personal taste however, and we would recommend this Manor to others.

Room Tip: They are all different, so do call if there is something in particular you would like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear tal27,

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay at the Manor and we are delighted that on the whole you enjoyed your break with us.

I am sorry that you found the Drawing Room an uncomfortable location for afternoon tea, but we find that our guests enjoy the homely feel of sitting in the lounge where it is more relaxed, rather than sitting in the dining room which is a little more formal.

With regards to breakfast, I have passed your comments onto the chef and he will retrain his breakfast team as necessary to avoid a repeat of your experience.

I do hope you will choose to visit us again in the future,

With kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    112
    51
    14
    11
See reviews for
78
348
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Arrived in late afternoon for our regular coffee but where told as they had no cake or biscuits left we could not order coffee!

Explained i am coeliac so need a gluten free diet my wife is on a diet so cake etc not required.

Response the same we cant serve coffee without cake or biscuits

Madness


Re

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Quiteright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Quiteright,

Thank you for your review of your recent experience and for bringing this matter to my attention. It is really a very response and not one I would expect of my staff and rest assured I have brought your feedback up with the team.

I do hope we will see you again soon,

With kind regards

Abbi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed for a couple nights over the Bank holiday weekend in late May in the "Nina " suite overlooking the front gardens. The room has a delightful view and is best described as shabby chic with a stained carpet, a peculiar contraption consisting of three drawers with a box-like frame on top containing a flat screen TV and an ensuite that has seen better days with a non-functioning towel heater, hot water coming both from the cold and the hot taps (the trick is to keep the cold tap running, after a couple of minutes cold water does come out!), no extractor fan (bath room & room thus steam up) and a shower unit that could do with a thorough clean. After all that the restaurant is great with some signature dishes notably the local beef which is to die for but the menu is limited and rarely changes whilst the wine list is pricey considering the mid range wines on offer as evidenced by the St Emilions of indifferent vintages and a lot of antipodean wines thrown in for good measure. Still if you want a pricey venue whilst visiting the Cotswolds, Lower Slaughter Manor is worth a stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hamersveld3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Hamersveld3

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, and we are delighted that on the whole you had a relaxing weekend with us.

I was disappointed to read that there were some housekeeping issues in your room, and our maintenance manager & head housekeeper have looked into these to rectify them. Unfortunately due to the nature of the building, we are unable to fit an extractor fan in Nina, and are always looking for a solution to a steamed up bathroom.

The food & beverage teams were pleased to read that you had an enjoyable evening meal, and that you found the beef to be a particularly noteworthy dish.

We hope to be welcoming you back to the Manor in the future,

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We had stayed at Lower Slaughter Manor several times in the past but not since its latest refurbishment and its new ownership and management. We booked at very short notice and were immaculately received on our arrival. We stayed in a junior suite June which was one of the nicest rooms we have encountered for a long time, large and comfortable with a lovely bathroom.
We had dinner in the Restaurant on two consecutive evenings. We enjoy gourmet food and were not disappointed in any way. The chef fully deserves a Michelin star and I shall write to them to try to ensure he gets the recognition to which he is entitled
Without exception the staff are delightful, enthusiastic and super helpful.
I cannot recommend this hotel and restaurant highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fourpence4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear fourpence4,

Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words about your stay with us recently. It was a pleasure to look after you and we are delighted to have made such an impression, particularly with the food!

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future,

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

My wife and I spent one night here while of a 5 day driving tour of England and Wales. What a wonderful location for a hotel and what a wonderful hotel. Quintessential English manor house with extremely friendly and helpful staff - we were even greeted at our car as we pulled in and assisted with our bags. Our room was superb, very large, with a great bathroom, large bathtub and walk in deluge shower and great bathroom amenities. The bed was extremely large and comfortable. The common areas are very tastefully done and very comfortable.

Dinner was very good, but not as good as we were expecting. Our steaks were a little tough, really not very acceptable. The cheese course was also a little boring. Breakfast was also only OK - scrambled eggs with salmon was over cooked! I also expect fresh orange juice rather than bottled juice.

Would I stay here again, yes I think I would, would I eat here again, no I don't think so.

Would we stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Edwin G,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, and please accept my apologies that the food was not up to expectations. We did have a problem recently with a cut of beef we received from our butcher, who accepted it was below standard and arranged a credit and a replacement. Normally the meat we receive from them is of the highest standard.

Jamie, our head chef has spoken to the breakfast chef in question regarding the eggs, and although we do not have a juicing machine, we do buy a very good quality juice for use at breakfast.

We do hope you choose to return to the Manor in the future,

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

My duster bought us a birthday gift to stay one night here, the staff were lovely really friendly and nothing was too much trouble they even bought us chocolates with happy birthday on! A nice touch.
Lower Slaughter is a beautiful village but we arrived on a Monday and quite late so very quiet and not much ambience but we have visited in summer with more people around which I prefer.
Stayed in "Maela" room which was charming although quite small but perfectly formed given a tea tray on arrival again lovely touch. The bathroom was fantastic lovely slipper bath and dressing table area loved the shower.
The rear garden could do with a lot more maintenance it looked quite neglected in so et areas such as the vegetable plot very boring as could be amazing as the front is.
I would definitely go back, breakfast was fantastic lots to choose from only thing we didn't like was the music too loud at 7.30am as we had an early start however am sure they would have turned it if had we asked but we didn't like to be a pain. We didn't gave dinner unfortunately as we gad a 5 course late lunch so were too stuffed but restaurant is beautiful and we would definitely go back as we live the area, hotel us opposite a river where we gad a great picnic last year and it us the prettiest hotel in the area, looks like a French Chateaux we we loved staying there. Only comment about room location us that you do here people going past which wasn't an us sue as hotel not fully booked might be a noise issue if summer and busy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelica1Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Angelica1Kent,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us - we are delighted that on the whole you had an enjoyable time with us.

I have passed your feedback regarding the music at breakfast on to our restaurant manager, who will carry out a little ambience training with the team!

With regards to the gardens, it is a little disappointing to read you felt they looked neglected. In the last two years, our gardeners have been working tirelessly to bring the grounds back to their full glory, but when we took over the hotel at the end of 2011, the grounds were very run down. As I am sure you can appreciate, a garden is a not a quick project and we are enjoying seeing the gradual improvements Mike & Adrian are making.

We do hope we will see you again in the not too distant future,

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at Lower Slaughter over the Easter holidays. When we arrived we were met by friendly and efficient members of the hotel team -nothing was too much trouble. As a family of four, the youngest being 13 months old, we have differing needs which the hotel met without fuss. The food was amazing and the overall restaurant experience was excellent, again thanks to the service from the hard working staff. We stayed in a garden suite, called Valentine, which more than met our expectations and added to the great experience of this wonderful hotel. A really special place to stay without any sign of stuffiness.

Room Tip: Book a garden suite for complete privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichLee0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear RichLee0,

Thank you for taking the time to review your Easter break. It was an absolute pleasure to look after you and your family, and we do hope we will be seeing you all again in the not too distant future,

Kind regards

Abbi & the LSM team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Slaughter
0.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
1.8 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slaughters Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slaughters Manor House

Property: The Slaughters Manor House
Address: Copsehill Road, Lower Slaughter GL54 2HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lower Slaughter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Slaughters Manor House 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lower Slaughter Manor is a stunning 16th Century Manor House, a luxurious 19 bedroom hotel located in the heart of the picture postcard village of Lower Slaughter in the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Slaughters Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Slaughter Manor Hotel Lower Slaughter
Hotel Lower Slaughter
Manor Hotel Lower Slaughter
Lower Manor Slaughter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing