We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Slaughters Manor House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My short stay at this hotel started brilliantly with an upgrade to their garden suite, Magnolia: a stunning room, with the added bonus of a hot tub, which I spent a relaxing hour luxuriating in! Check in was smooth, friendly and efficient - the receptionist had a great knowledge of the hotel and surrounding areas and nothing was too much trouble.

The highlight of this short stay was without doubt the evening meal, which started with drinks and canapés in the comfortable lounge area. Our drinks order was taken by a very professional young lady, who remained attentive throughout. We were taken down to the impressive,yet relaxed, dining room by the Head waiter, who ensured our evening was special. The impressive service was easily matched by the superb food which we enjoyed throughout the evening - every course was a delight! In particular, my crab tortellini starter was a wonderful marriage of flavours. The stand out main course was the monkfish, an unusual blend of flavours which complimented each other perfectly. The raspberry mousse for dessert was a knockout. The head waiter recommended glasses of wine for each course, which proved to be a perfect match on every occasion. Nothing was too much trouble for the waiting staff - our waitress was charming and extremely smiley!

All in all, a fantastic retreat for food lovers, in a tranquil setting and a beautiful part of the world. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this lovely hotel to anyone. Thank you LSM.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Slaughters Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Thank you for posting your review following your stay at Lower Slaughter Manor Debbie, I am pleased you had an enjoyable break away. I am glad you got to experience the Magnolia Garden Suite, the hot tub is a lovely place to relax.

Your kind words about your dining experience means a lot to us, I am delighted that it was the highlight of your stay, from the service to the food.

We hope to welcome you back to Lower Slaughter Manor in the near future.

Kind regards
Kate Jeffries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed one night recently on a "Secret Escapes" package to check the hotel out as a possible location for a family gathering next year.

The location is excellent being set in spacious, peaceful grounds in the heart of the village of Lower Slaughter.

As soon as we got out of the car there was a member of staff to take our bags directly to our room. Check in was smooth, features in our room were explained and we were given a mini tour of the hotel.

We were allocated a Junior Suite on the front of the main building overlooking the front gardens. This was of a good size and included a four poster bed (complete with steps!)

The cream tea ,served in the lounge was excellent with a good selection of speciality teas available. In the evening we enjoyed the "Taster menu" in the main restaurant.

There were a couple of shortcomings on the Housekeeping front. These were namely a soiled bath towel in the bathroom & a large number of cobwebs stretching from the side of the four poster across to the wall.

The cooked breakfast was excellent but the fruit juices,cereals & fruit salad were in very short supply owing to the Staff failing to replenish the jugs & bowls as they were consumed by earlier diners.

Overall we enjoyed our stay & the Staff on the whole were friendly & efficient.

We would have been disappointed if we had paid the rack rate for our experience certainly would not have warranted it. There is certainly better value/quality to be had in the area based on our findings so far.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank timetravellerOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful village. Grounds are spectacular. All of the staff were very polite and helpful. Wifi provided FOC and worked fine.Complimentary daily newspaper each morning.
Stayed 2 nights in the Valentine Garden Suite - absolutely beautiful.Very spacious and not too hot despite the very warm weather. Had our own private hot tub in the garden & patio table with parasol and 4 chairs.
Breakfasts very good. Nice selection to choose from. They were more than happy to bring out more toast/pastries etc when asked. Good attentive service. Requested a tea tray in room. Good selection of drinks provided and more than enough for our 2 night stay.
All in all we had a fantastic time and look forward to returning in the near future.

Room Tip: Go for a ground floor room in the coach house - if you can, go for a garden suite. Valentine or magn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is a shout out to Vicky, your front of house manager on duty when we arrived on Wednesday. We needed a twin room, and my mum wasn't up for a climb to the first floor, so Vicky really pulled out all the stops to solve our problem on the spot. She was a very kind and helpful person, and came up with an excellent solution for us which I'm sure made a significant difference to my Mum's enjoyment of the whole experience. The staff were uniformly friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Great dinner, by the way, and we really enjoyed the fresh scones for our cream tea. If there was one thing you could do to improve upon perfection it would be to install a bunch of wasp catchers!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The overall appearance and feel of the hotel is good. We had a good sized room and the bathroom was of a good standard. The room did not have air conditioning although a small fan was provided. In general being in the uk would not be an issue but following the small heat wave we have experienced made the room very hot with no airflow. The room was decorated and furnished well but had no mini bar or tea/coffee facilities. You can request these which we did on a couple occasion but they did not materialize.

My main criticism would be the service. Having walked into reception to request a pre dinner drink we were invited to take a seat in the garden and someone would be out to take our order. Over 20 min later we had to ask again. A member of staff did then arrive and when we asked to order a drink and which wines they had we then had to wait again why they went to fetch a wine list and menu.

We were then shown into the dining room by a waiter who had a suit which appeared to belong to his dad, with torn hems and shoes that were worn out and dirty. He was actually very professional but looks did not portray this.

The restaurant is very quite and could do with some light ambience music etc. However the food is very good.

After dinner we decided to sit in the lounge for coffee as the ambience and noise level is better in these areas. However despite asking on two separate occasions for our coffee we never received our drinks. The receptionist appeared happier chatting to a local chauffeur then chasing the kitchen for our coffee.

Having said all of the above the location and general feel of the location is good, maybe just eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremeygodfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed after visiting cla game fair for one night ,all went well,good check in, after which we opted for the afternoon tea,all very nice.Dinner was excellent, breakfast good,Would stay again sometime soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steven b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, rooms and grounds were excellent and so was the 5 course meal and breakfast. I could pick holes in the service and other small issues but life's too short and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Slaughter
0.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,099 reviews
9.8 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,345 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
37 reviews
10.8 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Slaughters Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Slaughters Manor House

Address: Copsehill Road, Lower Slaughter GL54 2HP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lower Slaughter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Slaughter
Price Range: £173 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Slaughters Manor House 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of England’s prettiest villages, The Slaughters Manor House is a beautiful 17th Century manor house which combines contemporary interiors with country charm, attentive service and one of the most acclaimed restaurants in the Cotswolds. Spring 2016 saw the entire ground floor renovated to restore the character of the building, exposing and emphasising architectural details contrasted with a modern, vibrant interior design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Slaughters Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Slaughter Manor Hotel Lower Slaughter
Hotel Lower Slaughter
Manor Hotel Lower Slaughter
Lower Manor Slaughter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing