We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (689)
Filter reviews
689 results
Traveller rating
432
154
65
22
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
154
65
22
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews manor house afternoon tea tasting menu front lawn upper slaughter deluxe room old mill michelin star the main house wonderful hotel luxury hotel hot tub special occasion scones separate shower small portions main course
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 689 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2018

A fantastic hotel in a most magificent setting. Everything about our three day stay was first class. Being greeted by David on arrival in the car park, taken to reception and then escorted to the room in the coach house was a very nice touch and very welcoming. All of the staff were helpful, courteous, and efficient. The quality of the food and service at breakfast was excellent, and the rooms relaxing and well furnished. I would thoroughly recommend the hotel as somewhere to go for that extra special treat, or just to get away to a quiet haven and be pampered. My only comment that might be looked at is the

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stephenm0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

We spent 2 nights here, and I wasn't disappointed. The hotel (particularly the ground floor public spaces) is even nicer in the flesh than it looks in the photos. It's in a beautiful Grade 2 listed old manor house and has been very tastefully and thoughtfully restored and the ground floor public rooms (there are quite a few small lounges, a bar, a snooker room) are just beautiful. Bedrooms also nice - ours was one of the smaller ones (Emma) but had a lovely view over the garden at the front. Gardens - at the front and rear - are beautiful and you can sit in the front one and enjoy lunch/tea (weather permitting...). The setting, in the very peaceful and beautiful village of Lower Slaughter, is really idyllic and you feel like you've totally escaped (especially coming from London, as we did). A special mention has to go to the delicious cooked breakfast menu with a wide range of things including amazing avocado & eggs on sourdough with tomato salsa, pancakes with bacon & maple syrup(and of course the usual full English etc.). Ingredients were very high quality and we appreciated this. And an extra special mention has to go to Peter, who works at front of house and who totally went out of his way to be helpful to us and really helped make our weekend extra special.

- wonderful Burford eggs, del

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank amanha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

This hotel is in a lovely location with a nice garden and a few facilities, including a tennis court. However, we were rather disappointed by some essential things missing from the room, the dining service and the attitude of some of the staff.
The rooms were large with slightly dated decor, but comfortable nonetheless. There aren’t any fridges in the room which is unfortunate if you’d like to make a tea or coffee in the morning. They do however offer to bring milk when requested. There was also a rather unpleasant smell coming from the bathroom that we could not seem to make disappear, and we were not provided with a hair dryer or slippers as promised on the website. We did sleep reasonably well, however the mattresses are very soft.
The dining service was ok, but not perfect. The menu was slightly uninspiring and there were not any vegetarian options on the menu at all - even the vegetarian starter offered by the waiter was served with anchovies. The chef did prepare one of our guests a vegetarian dish - spiced cauliflower - which was tasty, however the menu did not change between Friday and Saturday night and so we chose to eat in the upstairs dining area the following night to avoid repetition of the limited menu. Despite this, the food was delicious and the chef performed well.
The staff were helpful when asked, although the lady at reception provided a rather cold welcoming. The bartender asked for ID from two of our party, and even when shown the ID, he was still reluctant to serve us. The hotel has an extensive gin list and the drinks were good, although they seemed reluctant to let us have the same drink twice and instead preferred to recommend different ones - perhaps as we don’t look like gin connoisseurs. The service at breakfast was slow and the staff didn’t seem particularly interested in serving us, and although on the menu it states you can order “pancakes”, one of our guests only received one sad and underwhelming looking pancake served sloppily on the plate.
On a positive note, the hotel’s setting is beautiful and in a good location. Unfortunately it does not seem to meet its full potential and it is for this reason that we will not be returning.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank MarinaDiamandis8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

A glorious day in the garden and a lovely afternoon tea. Food and drinks were excellent and the setting sublime. My wife had the full afternoon tea and I had the gentlemen’s afternoon tea, our kids had Mac and cheese. Great afternoon. My only issue was the service was slow, but otherwise we will be back.

Stayed: May 2018
1  Thank jamesbZ5639EF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

Very disappointed with our weekend at the Slaughters Manor House. We booked through Mr & Mrs Smith having assumed the usual reassurance of a quality weekend away.

The problems started early where there were no parking spaces for guests. The explanation given by the staff was that other staff had apparently parked in spaces intended for guests.

Service at dinner and breakfast was laughable. Staff were overly formal and stuffy yet couldn’t get the basics right. Staff would go away to enquire about basic jobs and reappear none the wiser.

Breakfast bar was a mess. Staff looked irritated when I asked for a glass for juice at breakfast. You could overhear lots of arguing amongst the staff too.

The supreme Faulty Towers moment was reserved for mid afternoon (when a hotel with the aspirations of this one should be serving a light menu not stopping all food at 3 pm). Upon sitting down outside for a snack and asking if it was possible to have a sandwich, we were informed that only afternoon tea was available. Afternoon tea involves sandwiches yet it is seemingly impossible to separate the two.

However, the food at breakfast and dinner was superb : seasonal; locally sourced; and very well executed. It would be worthy of higher accolades but for the haphazard service.

This hotel rates itself highly and had a relatively recent overhaul but the management needs to recognise that there has to be substance to go with the style.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gabe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews