We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful country home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Arlington House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
Rear patio in sun
Local wildlife
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lower Slaughter, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Sarahfoxz...
1 review
“Beautiful country home”
Reviewed 11 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We had an amazing couple of days in this beautiful Cotswolds home. The house is immaculate, well furnished and very comfortable. The wood burner in the lounge generates all the heat needed when the weather turns icy. The 3 bedrooms upstairs are beautiful with exceptionally comfortable beds! There is a beautiful full bathroom upstairs with a lovely claw foot bath tub and a great shower! The large kitchen downstairs is well equipped to whip up whatever your heart desires! My two boys loved running around in the spacious garden.

We loved going into Bourton on the Water which was a 20 minute walk from the house to feed the ducks and stroll the beautiful old streets.

This home is magical and we will definitely return soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarade10
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big house, huge garden, super location!”
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Had a super holiday/break in this lovely house in the beautiful Lower Slaughter....this house is great for a family with children/friends - it provided everything we needed, very cosy, literally 5 min walk to the Mill Tea Room/Shop which is well worth a visit and Slaughter Country Inn/Slaughter Hotel (two min walk)....Bourton on the Water you can walk to in 20 mins, Stow on the Wold 5 mins by car....Bibury is well worth a visit too! - had a super time here and will return...thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Kitchen needs a little updating
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarryK133...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Grand old place”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Big old house. Very lovely, beautiful spaces and well appointed. Great kitchen! Quiet, character filled and well located. Spooky at night, which added immensely to the experience. Should have stayed longer. A really good experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: outdoor space and the peaceful countryside.
Liked least: kitchen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and the airyness and spaciousness of the property.
Liked least: Some simple maintenance needed in several area.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Victoria1...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 3 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Lower slaughter is a stunning Cotswolds village and totally worth a visit.

The cottage is great, very spacious, with big open rooms. It was a really well maintained and very easy to find.

Only complaints are no high chair for our baby and there was a lack of glasses. My husband drank his guinness out of a wine glass!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnie L
1 review
“Could not get hold of the owner for questions”
Reviewed 25 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We were unable to get hold of the owners for questions throughout our stay despite calling both the land line and mobile. We needed directions to the cottage initially, and could not find a hair dryer (we do not believe that this is available after a thorough search). Bear in mind that you will be asked to remove your food waste with you at the end of your stay, whilst this was not a problem for us I can imagine how this can be troublesome for some. Overall a pleasant stay in a beautiful village, beds were comfortable, and loved the fireplace. Good location to explore other parts of the area.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2016
The guests did not respond to my email asking whether they needed directions; I was on holiday when they tried to contact me.
There is a hair dryer at the house, it is quite simple to find.
Food waste is a Cotswold District Council policy
to try and reduce the amount of food waste going to landfill, which I support.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing