We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced, dont let the website fool you.”

The Chequers Royston
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Royston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chequers Royston
Ranked #9 of 11 Royston B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over priced, dont let the website fool you.”
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Chose this on the basis of their website, and when we arrived it looked like a run-down roadside pub. The signs were propped up against the building!
Dusty, cold rooms. Way way over priced, but friendly enough staff.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afkbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    2
    10
    7
    8
See reviews for
8
12
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Saw his hotel on google and was central to where I needed to be. I was surprised when I pitched up to see it was basically a pub with a few rooms attached via an outdoors fire escape. There is no reception - you check in at the bar. Don't know about you, but when you walk into a bar rather than a proper reception, all the locals look at you walking in. I arrived around 8pm to be told they had stopped serving food which I thought was early.
Rooms are clean enough and well decorated but were cold due to having a tiny electric heater. Bathrooms are outdated and very small. Saving grace is the staff. Very friendly and polite.
Lastly I paid £100 for this room which is way over priced.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grewalski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pressath germany
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2011

while on a business trip I was recommended to stay at the Chequers Royston by a friend . I stayed there for 4 nights and was very impressed with the friendly service the clean and comfortable rooms a great selection for food and beers and above all the very reasonable price. I would recomend this guest house to everyone who is visiting Royston or even Cambridge ....Keep the good work up guys you are providing a great service to us traveling people.....

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith_peachey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barry
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Good sized room, bed comfortable, breakfast was fine. Bathroom not good. Couldn't pour kettle safely without unplugging it. Awful cooking smells coming up through vent in bathroom. Very few watchable channels on the TV. It was okay for one night but certainly would not have stayed two nights. TOTALLY OVERPRICED.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen2Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

The website for this hotel is deceiving - suggesting a boutique style inn with tastefully decorated rooms. Its actually a slightly upmarket pub which is tying to be soemthing that its not. The rooms look as though they may have been quite nice when first refurbished, but are now dusty and dirty - the carpet doesn't look as though its seen a hoover for quite a long time!! Road traffic noise is disturbing. The staff were very friendly and welcoming though. There is a limted bar meal menu but they stop serving meals at 8.00pm which is limiting if arriving late.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewForestAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Royston hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Royston
3.1 mi away
Sheene Mill
Sheene Mill
#1 of 1 in Melbourn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
8.1 mi away
purplehotel Baldock
purplehotel Baldock
#3 of 4 in Baldock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
8.2 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Old Bull Inn
Old Bull Inn
#1 of 11 in Royston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Orchard House
Orchard House
#4 of 11 in Royston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banyers House Hotel
Banyers House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Royston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chequers Royston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chequers Royston

Property: The Chequers Royston
Address: 58 High Street, Royston SG8 9AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Royston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Royston
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Chequers Royston Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing