We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coach House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$53
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
20
29
23
23
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
29
23
23
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday carverylovely courtyardfood was amazingnew chefvery busy main roadten minute drivepoor reviewsmashfamily roomfantastic staycan't faultlocal arealittle gembreakfast was excellentsamplevegwc
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Unimagineably awful. The room was 2 feet bigger than the double bed. I have never seen a double bed in such a small room before. The room (No 14) was across a courtyard in what looks like it might have been a stable block, and it was upstairs in the 'attic'. This meant that when I arrived the temerature in the room was over 100 degrees. The room had no proper windows, just a roof skylight. There is no airconditioning. If you open the window the traffic noise keeps you awake, so your choice is to suffocate from the heat or lie awake due to the noise. The wardrobe was hilarious as it was so rickety, but it was of no use anyway because the room is so small you couldn't open the wardrobe doors anyway because of the proximity to the bed! The chest of drawers had the bottom drawer missing! Again, you couldn't use the drawers because they were so close to the bed. The mirror behind the door had a huge crack in it. One of the bedside lights didn't work. The genral air of shabbiness was overwhelming. The bathroom was tiny but fairly clean. I ordered a wakeup call for 7.30 but never got one.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coconutmatting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

Which clot laid gravel in the hotel car park? Since most suitcases are wheeled, a moment's thought would have told the owner that a gravel surface is a Really Not Very Good Idea.

Apparently, the power showers are a wonder to behold. If you get one. My room didn't, and I've never experienced such a comedic device as the one I did get, and with no bath alternative, either. The lovingly-maintained pink bathroom suite was a reminder that this bit was either built or last refurbished in the 1970s... complete with magnolia walls.

The room and the public areas were dull, poorly-lit, badly-decorated and understaffed. The bar is cheerless and the beer lines need cleaning - avoid the draft Guinness in particular.

In fairness, the bed was warm and comfortable, which was just as well, as the room radiator didn't work at all. (The bathroom one was hotter than Vesuvius, so on a mild night it wasn't a huge problem.)

For the area, and being close to the IWM at Duxford, I guess it's very good value, but with so little local competition, they could consider charging an extra tenner to give the place the TLC it needs to come up to standard. Really, all the faults could be so easily fixed if the will was there. Maybe the re-furbished rooms are better than the one I had - so I hope they press on with the project quickly!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philsayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachhousehotel, manager at Coach House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2009

All the rooms at the Coach House have shower only and we are in the process of updated and refurbishing rooms as and when budget and business levels allow.
We pay particular attention to regularly cleaning our beer lines and are quite happy to offer guests an alternative if any of the draught beers are not to their liking.
On occasion we may appear to be understaffed but in the present economic climate we have to employ multi tasking staff and feel that we still maintain a good level of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Just stayed at the Coach House for one night and were allocated room 10. The room was small and the bathroom smaller. When entering the room it smelled of damp and on closer inspection the shower had mould around the shower tray and the curtain also had mould on it. The toilet bowl could have done with a good clean as it was brown! We found the room so depressing that we actually paid to visit the Duxford Museum just to get out. The room was generally dusty. The bed was clean but you could feel every spring. Breakfast well what can I say - how anyone can spoil one is beyond me but the tomatoes had just about seen a pan, the mushrooms were microwaved and the sausage under cooked.

If you are disabled or unsteady on your feet then not a good place to visit as all the paths have gravel and unsuitable with heavy cases.

Not good value for money at £70 a night for two people.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owls_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

The hotel was the worst hotel we stayed in over a six week trip through France and the U.K. The "one acre park" was a gravel parking lot. The room our traveling companions stayed in was ant infested and the manager blamed them for bringing in the ants! The rooms may have been "recently upgraded," but it is difficult to note how unless it was the new electric tea pot. The shower was so small the soap dish was outside the curtain and we could sit on the toilet and wash our hands at the same time. It was noisy, dirty and very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2007

We stayed for one night at this hotel. I was totally dissapointed with the hotel.

The room was poor- walls and ceiling were so thin than we could hear everything that was going around us. As the people in the room above were up early- we were not able to sleep being able to hear their every step above.

If you stay here ask not to be in room 8. The room was tiny- the toilet was like a hostel toilet and the room was in no way worth £73 a night. I've heard some of the other rooms were ok but if you stay here avoid number 8 and those in the same block as it.

The bizzare thing was the the hotel had called and taken full payment from my partner 2 weeks before we stayed meaning we are having trouble being compensated. Maybe that's why they get money upfront- so people can't refuse to pay as I would have done. My room was a poor excuse for accomadation.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemsy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coachhousehotel, Owner at Coach House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2008

This review has been brought to my attention by staff at Coach House Hotel. We are dependant to an extent on our guests feed back - good and not so and are grateful to those who take time out to correspond with us. It is true we had problems with air circulation since installing new power showers which has since been irradicated. All staff now have thorough training which has led to pride in their work and a clean guest friendly hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews