We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Bar Service”
Review of The British Queen

The British Queen
Ranked #15 of 64 Restaurants in Royston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

I popped into the pub on Sunday afternoon for an impromptu drink with my wife. It soon became apparent lots of others had had the same idea and the pub was incredibly busy. Not letting that deter us we headed inside to the bar for some drinks and this is where the problems began. We were completely ignored by bar staff who blatantly served other more familiar customers before us despite us being there first. When we did eventually get served the barmaid was abrupt to the point of rudeness. Nevertheless we enjoyed our drinks in the lovely garden area and thought no more about it. That is until the experience was repeated when I returned to the bar for a refill. I stood there waiting whilst bar staff chatted to 3 other familiar customers and prioritised their service despite me being their first. This happening once can be forgiven as mistakes like this can easily happen at busy times, but for this to happen 2 out of 2 visits to a bar by the same member of staff is poor customer service. My advice to the British Queen would be to sort out your customer service, your facilities are excellent but it’s poor practice when your bar staff prioritise socialising at the bar over serving new customers who are left waiting. Needless to say we won’t be returning.

5  Thank tomcZ5823MY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue T, Owner at The British Queen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

We at the British Queen were shocked to read,
your comments on tripadvisor & feel very aggrieved.
Our staff are always friendly & go that extra mile,
to ensure your experience is always worthwhile.

We can only apologise that you had a delay,
for your refreshment on a hot sunny summers day.
However, to publicly bleat that you had a wait,
call staff rude & abrupt is just to berate.

If the barmaid had known how special you were,
she would have tap danced immediately just to serve,
beer, wine, lager, vodka or gin,
what ever you requested with a "Cheshire Cat" like grin.

So we are sorry your red carpet ran out at the door.
That your preciousness was not bought to the fore.
Sometimes not being first & having to bide your time,
Is a realisation in life that you seem to think is a crime.

We are saddened that you say you won't come back,
as with more visits we could get things back on track.
But maybe when you read & digest this response
You will consider others next time before you type nonsense.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

The British Queen is a beautiful village Pub, with its own restaurant which has a fantastic selection of food to suit everyone. The Pub is set in beautiful surroundings, with plenty of room for children to play whilst you enjoy a drink, also extremely popular with dog walkers.
The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. 10/10 highly recommended.

1  Thank Fiona E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Have been to the British Queen a number of times as it is a handy location for a quick lunch out.
The food on this visit was decent, one burger which was clearly home made but too many herbs left an odd taste. One fish and chips which was excellent. A good range of beers at the bar too.
The problem is that quite often the welcome is less than warm. Kept waiting to get into the bar area when we arrived because staff were in the way - totally ignored us too. Ignored again by the barman when we got to the bar - clearly having a conversation with someone out of sight but aware we were waiting. I don't mind waiting but some acknowledgement would have been nice. Overall feeling was that we were a bit of a nuisance.
Waiting staff, one person, was nice enough but the restaurant area is very small and tables are arranged such that diners at one table have to move away from their table so that other diners can get to a different table.
Lots of work going on, new restaurant and kitchen apparently. If managed correctly it could be a big improvement, but please get some friendly staff.

Thank DarrenL2094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue T, Front Office Manager at The British Queen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Hi Darren,

Firstly thank you for visiting our pub The British Queen.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your food, however was slightly dishearten to hear of your service.
We take great pride in making sure our customers enjoy there overall experience at our establishment & service is one of our top priorities. I would like to apologise to you & assure you that your complaint has been discussed with our staff.

We look forwards to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Daisy Tobin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

Had a great pub meal on spec at the British Queen with my wife. Always treated like royalty. Good food good service.

Thank ROZNBAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

We stopped off for lunch after visiting the Wimpole Estate. The choice of sandwiches was excellent and the chips were so delicious I’d go back for those alone! The staff were welcoming and the pub has loads of charm. Highly recommended!

2  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The British Queen also viewed

Nuthampstead, Royston
 
Royston, Hertfordshire
Royston, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The British Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing