We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Folk Club, the old Bull Inn, Royston”
Review of Old Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Bull Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Royston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hermitage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Folk Club, the old Bull Inn, Royston”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We enjoyed an evening at the Folk Club in a separate room in the back courtyard, the room was lovely, wooden beams, small bar, friendly service. The People running the Folk club made us feel very welcome, the folk music excellent, would recommend and would go again and again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sashozp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    51
    23
    8
    0
See reviews for
27
30
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

downsides...
- room was very hot even with windows open
- bath not very big and not that pleasant having the shower curtain hanging by your head when you're in it
- couldn't open bathroom window
- a bit annoying having to keep typing code for main door in, especially when carrying luggage etc.
- small towels

upsides...
- lovely decor and very spacious room
- comfortable bed
- no noise from downstairs or outside (and we got back to our room 11:30pm on a Sat night)
- helpful staff

We didn't have breakfast because we were invited to a breakfast with wedding guests from the previous evening so can't comment on that.

Also didn't see any of Royston because the wedding we went to was outside the town.

If we were in the area again I would definitely consider the old Bull Inn but it is a bit on the pricey side.

Room Tip: Room 11 is big and has a 4 poster bed (and faces onto the car park/outside seating side of building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissDMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here with work colleagues. Watch out though as portion sizes are rather large! We all had starters and were nearly full - duck wrap was lovely. Fillet steak main was cooked perfectly and tasted yummy. Sadly no room for dessert!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Emillergmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The short break was most enjoyable. The staff were very helpful and always on hand.
The rooms were adequate and at a reasonable price. The restaurant had a varied menu
at a good price. The breakfast menu was also great.
If you are looking for a place to stay I can recommend The Old Bull Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Room quite small so doing wok in the evening was difficult

Wifi worked well and the breakfast was well cooked is a little on the simple side

Good location and within walking distance of the train station

The emergency light In my room was rather bright and on all the time. I'm more used to a very small green led not a bright light

Would use again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Quick one night stay as we were in the area for a friend's birthday party. Friendly, helpful staff; warm welcome when we arrived. On site car park, with further public car park immediately adjacent. Our room was small and you had to mind your head as approached the door, but this is an old coaching inn, so you can forgive them for an uneven floor and a few low beams. Small bathroom (shower, but no bath) and a small wardrobe. Not a problem for an overnight stay but if I was here for longer than that it would have felt rather too cosy. Room was very clean and the bed comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. Lovely to have poached eggs as standard, rather than having to request them. Local produce, freshly prepared, made for a great full English start to the day!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purpledesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had a very pleasant stay and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The bed was so comfortable...best sleep I have had away from home for ages! Our room (with a four poster bed) was large and nicely furnished.....pipes were a tad noisy in the bathroom but the noise didn't go on for long. Great breakfast, with choice of cereal, fruit, juice etc and of course the full English. A lovely and good value place to stay. We shall definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Royston
3.1 mi away
Sheene Mill
Sheene Mill
#1 of 1 in Melbourn
254 reviews
8.0 mi away
Days Inn Stevenage North
8.2 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
purplehotel Baldock
purplehotel Baldock
#4 of 4 in Baldock
7 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,714 reviews
10.5 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bull Inn

Property: Old Bull Inn
Address: 56 High Street, Royston SG8 9AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Royston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Royston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Bull Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Old Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bull Hotel Royston
Old Bull Inn Royston, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing