We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B I've ever stayed in!”
Review of Les Molyneux

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Verzy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Molyneux
Ranked #1 of 3 Verzy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed in the Blue Room for 3 nights - it was spacious and very comfortable, especially the bed. Plenty of storage for clothes etc. I loved the shower in the en suite bathroom and the towels were lovely and fluffy. We really appreciated the free wi-fi and made good use of it. Yvonne is the best host ever and really went the extra mile to make our stay enjoyable. We particularly loved her cooking - delicious breakfast which was different every day, and the evening meals were fabulous, served with Champagne and wine. Chloe and Lucy were so lovely and they both help out in the B&B. It was brilliant having dinner with other guests in the B&B and we enjoyed the conversation and friendship. The B&B has a lovely garden and we parked our car in the small courtyard. If you visit, I'd recommend more than one night if possible because there are some lovely places to visit. We loved walking in the forest, and visited some Champagne houses whilst there, including Moet & Chandon which was fascinating. We also hired an electric motor boat and enjoyed sailing on the River Marne - will take a picnic and bottle of Champagne with us next time!
All the family are native English speaking and also speak excellent French and this really gives this B&B the edge over others. Jiles accompanied me to the garage in Verzy and explained that the engine was losing power when we went uphill. This was fixed the same day with a very reasonable bill from the garage. On the way back to England, our car gearbox failed and we had a very lucky escape as our car went into a spin on the motorway. Jiles and Yvonne were a massive help and provided interpretation services for us when we were trying to sort out the situation after being towed to the garage. Our car was a write-off and we were stuck there with all our camping gear etc in the car. They even offered to come and pick us up and take us back to the B&B and transport our things back to England. We didn't need to take them up on this but were blown away with their kindness. I have no hesitation whatsoever in highly recommending a stay at Les Molyneux.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebraSofiaMagdalene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed here travelling on the way down to Italy and on the way back. The pot of tea provided on our arrival on each occasion was appreciated. We stayed in a different room on each night and both of which were very comfortable. We had a meal on one night which came with a glass of champagne and a bottle of wine. The second night Yvonne recommended and booked a local restaurant which did not disappoint. Yvonne was very helpful and on our way down we coommented about visiting some champagne houses. She attempted to book these for us but was unsuccessful. However, she did book us somewhere else and e mailed us while we were away to let us know. Turned out to be a champagne producer who doesn't import into the UK but who is rated by Jancis Robinson in recent writing. THe accommodation is right on the champagne route and would make an excellent short or longer term stay.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Maggie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Chosen as an overnight stop-over en route to and from the Black Forest in SW Germany, Les Molyneux was an absolute delight..
Rooms are fantastic and evening meal highly recommended..
Yvonne is enormously knowledgable about the area and a great hostess.
However the real delight was sharing an evening meal with other like minded and pleasant souls also on holiday from these shores.. Difficult to explain why, but just a great way to pass time spending an evening eating and drinking and chatting with other people..
oh, and the locally produced - i.e. next door (!) - Champagne is fantastic too..!
Highly Recommended..

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank andy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed here on our way down to the Alps for a summer holiday having found the place on Trip Advisor and read the previous reviews. They are accurate ! Easy to find (if you follow the instructions!) we were greeted with a glass of champagne ! Yvonne is a delightful host, the b&b is warm and spotlessly clean, car was parked behind locked gates and dinner was all of 2 minutes walk away in a local restaurant. Breakfast was a selection of local breads, cheeses and ham, very tasty ! I could easly stay here for a few days and take in a vineyard tour or 3. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntDucati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Travelling with friends on our first visit to the Champagne area we found Verzy to be a delightful village, beautifully situated. Our hosts, Yvonne and Giles, couldn't have been more helpful or knowledgeable and they have such a lovely home. The Blue room was very comfortable although, being English, I pulled the blinds down while changing! We look forward to returning and have recommended Les Molyneux to friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This is a charming B&B, in the heart of Champagne. It is very professionally run, and basically they have thought of everything. The breakfast is great, and Yvonne can also cook dinner for you, which is recommended as Verzy is a very small town. The rooms are very spacious, which is a big plus.

The other advantage of this B&B if you are an English speaker, is that Yvonne is English, although she has lived in France for many years. Therefore she is able to assist you in so many ways with travel plans, including recommendations for the Champagne houses. Although English is widely spoken in France, if you go outside of the big cities and the big hotels things can get difficult unless you are proficient with the language, and this has to be a big plus for Les Molyneux.

We very much enjoyed our stay there, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have steep stairs to access, which is best to know in advance if you have mobility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tripper16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We found this place through the recommendations of others and Tripadvisor itself. The reviews promised a very warm atmosphere, cordial setting, great breakfast and very nice people.
All these promises where kept: greát breakfast, very wam and sympathetic hosts, a really lovely room and we also were allowed to take our dog into the rooms.
The free WiFi was the first thing on the info folder in the room - they really know their stuff :)
We used it as a stop-over for our beginning of longer trip in France - a pity we already had to leave and couldn't stay a few more days longer !

Room Tip: the cream room was very spacious, very tidy with a large included bathroom and shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RK on the road I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Les Molyneux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Molyneux

Address: 14 rue Chanzy, 51380 Verzy, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Verzy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Verzy
Price Range: £79 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury B&B accommodation in the heart of Champagne, France, in our stylishly renovated 19th century former grape-farmer's house. Peace and tranquility and a warm welcome await you. Perfect for exploring the champagne region, its vineyards and the champagne producers. Champagne tours and tastings organised. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing