We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but ideal place to stay in Lumbarda”
Review of Lina Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lina Apartments
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Simple but ideal place to stay in Lumbarda”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The Lina Apartments are situated in an ideal location for the facilities of Lumbarda village. There is an good supermarket about 5 minutes walk away, just behind the apartments. A fruit/vegtable market and local bakery are also nearby. Just opposite the complex is the sea and a small pebble beach with an excellent beach bar is around 2 minutes walk away. For those who prefer a sandy beach, this is to be found around 5 minutes away. The sea is an amazing colour and appeared to be extremely clean, which made it ideal for swimming. There is a swimming pool at the apartments, although this was always full of children and the sunbeds were reserved with towels at dawn, so we chose to stick to the sea. Like many of the restaurants in Lumbarda, the hotel restaurant was of a good standard, with excellent pizza and local specialties. However, we did experience an issue with the credit card machine being out of use - this also applied for much of the island so make sure you have enough cash when you plan your holiday budget. The supermarket did take cards and this worked when we were there. The accommodation is not suitable for disabled people as there are a great number of steps leading up to the apartment, which made sitting on our terrace pleasant. The accommodation was generally clean and of a fair standard when compared to places we've stayed before around the Med. Items such as light-bulbs were missing and despite asking for them to be replaced this did not happen in some instances. The kitchen equipment is lacking e.g. no bottle opener, serving dishes etc. However, we didn't find this to be too much of a problem as we borrowed from neighbours. The hot water was very hot but did run out after four showers. The air conditioning worked well and the linen was clean and changed twice a week. Sky News and BBC World News were available on the satellite TV. Mosquitos were an issue in the area at the time of our visit (July), so I'd recommend purchasing some insect repellent and bite cream before leaving the UK. On a side note, there are some excellent local wineries within less than a mile of the apartments, which are well worth a walk out to for an afternoon visit. The larger beaches are within around 20 minutes walk of the apartments and there is a fairly regular bus service (not evenings - taxi available) to Korcula Town, which is the main centre for the area and also very interesting. Weekly excursions are available to Dubrovnik, Mostar and Mljet for those who are interested and are all worthwhile.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thenewwales94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    26
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
26
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed at Lina for 3 nights in early June. The location and views of Lumbarda and across the sea to the Croatian mainland are stunning, and the pool is a lovely addition to the sea at the bottom of the steps of the accommodation.

The apartment we stayed in was very clean and was furnished in simple and modern style which was pleasant and functional. Unfortunately the beds in our rooms seemed old, the mattresses very tired, and we awoke one another each time we moved in bed, such was the loudness of the creaking frames.

Not that the weather can be controlled, but because it had been unseasonably cool and wet, the interior of the apartment was quite cold, and dark meaning we didn't really enjoy spending time inside it. Fortunately the restaurant and pool have great views and it was warm enough to be outside, but if it were cooler we might have been quite miserable.

The breakfast food is plain but adequate. Most of the other guests whilst we were at Lina seemed to be there to sunbathe and drink beer, although they were not rowdy at all and it was quiet at night.

The reception staff were very helpful and friendly, especially the two men.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tkmax34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kendal
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I really can not believe the bad reviews some people have given this hotel ! we booked through travel republic and paid £360 for 5 nights ( in august 2012). we had a sea view and yes the apartment is very basic but very very clean . The hotel has a small beach 50 metre's away and a fantastic large supermarket at the back of the hotel . The staff work very hard at all times and you must accept that this is not a 5 star complex and you have not payed 5 star prices .Lomarda is a charming little village and approx 15 minute taxi ride away from korcula if you wish to sample some of the restaurants in the town .

Room Tip: travel republic , and owners direct , holiday lettings
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank baconchop23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

First impressions on arriving here are that it’s a bit of a 70’s style package holiday resort hotel if you were judging the place purely on its architectural merits. But, having said that, once you’re in your particular apartment, you think that the outside doesn’t really do justice to the inside.

We were fortunate enough to have an apartment that not only had a sea view, but also overlooked the swimming pool as well. There is a small living room area, a kitchenette with a microwave, fridge, air conditioning, a dining table with a TV that can access the BBC World News channel via a set top box and a quite spacious bedroom. There is also a spacious balcony with a table and chairs and a clothes rack for drying clothes.

Whilst it may not be a designer contemporary holiday pad, the place is spotlessly clean, well maintained and quite comfortable. We were only staying here for a couple of nights as it came as part of a walking tour that we were on. I didn’t actually get into the pool itself as it was a little cooler than what I would have liked and instead opted for the sea which looked more than inviting as does the sea everywhere you go in Croatia. The walk from apartment to sea will take just under a minute. There is a jetty with steps that you can lower yourself into the water quite easily and get out quite easily. All around the pool are sunbeds which are free to use. Whilst the pool looked quite clean, I think a daily swipe of the surface with a net could be done to remove the odd dead insect here and there.

There is a large supermarket within a 5/10 minute walk over some steps heading uphill which has a decent range of things to eat and wines and beers. With these places being self-catering, this is a good place to stock up on things. We were also told that there is a decent beach with a 10/15 minute walk from the hotel but didn’t manage to get there so can’t comment on that.

Breakfast is taken in the attached restaurant which is a 30 second walk from our apartment, a slight bit longer if you are in one of the rooms that go further back up the hill. The breakfast is fine and quite European. There are lots of breads, cheeses, meats, yoghurts, tea, coffee, juices, fruit and muesli. Breakfast can be taken on the outside balcony overlooking the sea which is very pleasant.

With regard to eating out, there are plenty of places doing meat and fish dishes but we were vegetarian and so options were a bit limited. One thing I would say about the hotel restaurant is that it does great pizza’s. I would say out of all the pizza’s we had whilst in Croatia for a week, this was the best I’d had.

Overall, not disappointed with our stay here and thought location, accommodation and service were very good.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front will give you a nice sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Just got back from a week in Lumbarda and already looking at availability for next spring. We travelled on a package with Monarch and didn't have much in the way of details about the transfers = don't worry everything is sorted even if your plane is delayed, as ours was. I have spent most of my holidays travelling around Greece staying in studios - in comparison with most of those the Lina apartments are great, plenty of wardrobe space and hangers, towels changes every other day, enough kitchen equipment to get you through a holiday and there is a small safe in the bedroom which is free of charge. Yes they could do with a bit of TLC but you're not going to be living there! I can't understand a previous comment about the on site restaurant being expensive, it does good food at a reasonable price. Although there are about 70 apartments there was very little noise, especially at a night. Yes the pool is small but as others have said the sea is just across a quiet road and is beautifully clean. Lumbarda itself is still a small village and you can still see fishermen mending their nets, but it does have 2 supermarkets - the bigger one is at the back of the apartments. It also has about 10 places to get something to eat - the five we went to in the week where all worth a try. If you like shopping you'll have to go into Korcula town as there is only 2 small, but good quality souvenir shops and a clothes outlet. Although this is such a small resort, out of the 6 night we spent there, 3 nights we found bars with live music one night local dancing and Friday night farmers market - which is very quaint/unique! A trip into Korcula town is a must, it really is a mini Dubrovnik. For those who like walking there are plenty of trails through the local woods and hills and we walked back from Korcula town on trails (about 8 miles), maps are available in the tourist office in the village. Mountain bikes can be hired locally too, as can small motorboats What struck me the most was how clean the island was (again comparing it with Greece) with well kept villages and very little litter. There was not many English holiday makers but all the local people can speak very good English. I loved it but I don't think it would be for everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for upper rooms so you have a view from your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Girvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This place was terrible, in fact, the worst restaurant we visited during our Croatian trip.

The service was bad; After we ordered, we waited 1 hour to get our food. This is after asking the waiter TWICE about the waiting time. Her response was; the kitchen is backed up (even though we could clearly see that it was not!).

The food was mediocre at best; Greek salad wasn't even dressed and the octopus had some chewy connective tissue under the skin. I can't remember what the 3rd dish was...all I remember is that the French fries were the best thing on the plate!

Walk a little further down the water side, find a better restaurant...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 100squeaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lumbarda hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

We knew what we had booked and paid for so when we arrived we weren't expecting anything special so therefore we weren't too disappointed with what we got.

Apartments: The apartments are clean and spacious. They have the basics for self catering but with no kettle and no toaster, there is only so much you can do in the kitchen. There is however a hob, a microwave and plates, cutlery, glasses etc. When we arrived our shower head was broken and none of the lamps worked but after we told reception these were fixed the next day. We felt that the staff had the attitude of 'let's not bother to fix it unless someone asks us to'. The beds were old and creaky but our room was very quiet and had a fairly private terrace outside which was nice. It was a comfortable stay for us and the extra space was much appreciated after backpacking for 2 weeks in tiny hotel rooms.

Facilities: There is a small swimming pool and children's pool. There is also a restaurant that has a pretty varied menu and good food. The atmosphere isn't great but is 'family' friendly. Yummy Pizzas!

Lumbarda: is a surprisingly quaint little town with a sleepy, relaxed atmosphere. The beaches are really nice (pebble and sand) and the water is so clear and beautiful for swimming. There is a supermarket, post office, bank, a few bars and a few lovely restaurants along the sea front. When we arrived we were nervous about being 'cut off' with no car but the bus goes into Korcula town every hour which costs 15kn and a taxi is about 100kn and takes about 15 minutes. Overall we had a pleasant few days here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ladylianne_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lumbarda
2.8 mi away
Marko Polo Hotel
Marko Polo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Korcula Town
455 reviews
0.8 mi away
Captain's Villa Sokol
Captain's Villa Sokol
#2 of 5 in Lumbarda
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Borik
Hotel Borik
#5 of 5 in Lumbarda
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Guest House Stone house Gregov
12.7 mi away
Hotel Odisej Mljet
Hotel Odisej Mljet
#1 of 1 in Mljet National Park
372 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#23 of 30 in Korcula Island
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lina Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lina Apartments

Property: Lina Apartments
Address: Lumbarda, Korcula Island 20263, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Korcula Island > Lumbarda
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Lumbarda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lina Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lina Apartments Hotel Korcula Island
Lina Apartments Lumbarda, Croatia - Korcula Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing