We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Meal”
Review of Pension Lovric

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Lovric
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lumbarda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Although we didn't stay at this property during our time in Croatia, we were fortunate enough to enjoy an excellent dinner here one evening. The restaurant isn't widely publicised in the resort and we stumbled upon it by accident. However, the meal was fabulous. We chose the 120kn (£14) set menu, from which you could chose meat or fish. This was great value for money as we started with homemade aperitifs - either Croatian limoncello (slightly different to the Italian version) or schnapps. This was followed by bread and vegetable soup (all home grown produce). The main course was fantastic - we had pork and chicken served with mashed potatoes and Swiss chard, courgette fritters and courgette puree. The portions were of a great size and the taste was lovely and fresh. Indeed, it was like eating home cooking in someone's home. Pudding was Croatian chocolate cake, which also tasted good. The meal was followed by a large cup of Turkish coffee, which we loved. We also enjoyed the Lovric white wine, which was the ideal accompaniment to our meal. The staff here were really friendly and very welcoming, as well as efficient. They gave us a gift at the end of the meal, which added a personal touch. This is certainly a must for every visitor to Lumbarda - it was surprisingly empty the day we visited, which was a total mystery to us as it was the best restaurant we visited during our stay here - I'd recommend that you try this one out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank thenewwales94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

Nice rooms and location with good price value relationship. Evening menu a little bit too rigid in their formula but of excellent quality. Very friendly and helpful host Silvana Milina. Nicest beaches a good 20 minutes footwalk away (healthy). Easy bus service to Korcula town. You really don't need a car!!! Self produced wines are very good!!!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Werner W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My accommodation was comfortable, clean and cool. The meals were prepared from foods that were in season and local. They were delicious. I was in the lower rooms of the older building so had a suite,with complete kitchen and washing machine which Silvana helped me operate. It was as quiet as the morning roosters would allow. As it was fully screened, I was able to sleep with the windows wide open and there was what I took to be a blooming jasmine tree outside the bedroom.
My only suggestion to Silvana would only be to address the fact that though MOST of the civilized world appreciates wine with their meals, for those of us who don't drink alcohol, providing tea or coffee with all meals instead of just breakfast would have been a nice gesture. Even just a basket of tea bags and some hot water.
This was the best vacation that I have ever had and location had a lot to do with that. Thank you all..........

Room Tip: Liked mine best- see description above. Not ultra modern, but so cool and quiet- no AC needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This amazing painting trip by Slikamilina (Lynda) was well thought out. Our apartment had two bedroooms and three bathrooms, a wonderful common area and beautiful veranda. My roommate and I had our own private areas and ample common areas (dining room, kitchen, patio). At the end of the day we could spread out our paintings on the patio to dry. Plenty of space for cleaning brushes and a great refrigerator for keeping GRK cold. Oh, the GRK wine is to die for. I would return to Pension Lovric.

Room Tip: As for a second floor room in the new building. Bring sandals for swimming in the adriatic. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The Lovric Hotel has been exceptional both times we've visited. Silvana and her team took pains to tend our every need and whim. When we brought to her attention a concern, she fixed the problem promptly. Her bountiful, delicious dinners and house-made wines and specialty drinks were scrumptious -- always. Even dessert was good. A perfect place for a relaxing experience away from the high-traffic, fussy world.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have beautiful views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Happy2WanderFar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed at Lovric and were very happy with the experience. Silvana is very helpful and easy to chat with and she was able to give us valuable information about the area. Lovric is advertised as a farm holiday and we were under the impression that there would be wine making, fishing, oil production etc, which did not happen. From what we gather, these farm holidays in Lumbarda (Zure included) house you and have a restaurant, and at this restaurant they serve their products. If you think you're coming here to help out on the farm (we assumed it would be a bit like WOFING), you'd be disappointed. That being said, we were still happy with the stay.

The apartment was brand new and very comfortable. They must have put a lot of effort and planning into the space. We had an upstairs apartment which had a full kitchen, dining room balcony, bedroom and two full bathrooms. The kitchen had everything you might need to cook, which was great. There was also a drying rack for the balcony (which you;ll need after your trips to the beach), and a fold out couch. The TV is big screen..everything in the apartment is new and modern. The bed was very comfortable and I got some of the best sleep I've had in ages. The balcony looked out onto the water (which is a bit away), but at an angle. Still, a very nice view. The only issue I had with the balcony was the the partition closest to the end was low and the family staying next door used the wall as a seat and were therefor looking into our space quite a lot. The location of Lovric is great- you can very easily walk to 2 grocery stores, to many vineyards and restaurants, to the bus stop, and to a few beaches.

The first night of our stay we had a huge thunder storm which zapped some of the electronics. This is no one's fault, but we were without internet for the majority of our time (5 nights) and our satellite receiver for the TV was taken away by repairmen and never returned.I cannot fault Lovric though as the storm and power surge could not have been prevented and they did have repair men there working on the issues (without luck though!). They were also very apologetic and suggested we sit at the restaurant to get better internet signal, which we did.

They offer breakfast for a low price and while we only ate it one morning as we preferred to eat in our apartment, it was very good. Silvana will prepare eggs how you like and bring you a selection of meats, cheese, breads, etc. The restaurant is good as well, but we also only ate here one evening. They offer a set menu each evening that changes. We had the grilled fish and their homemade pasta with meat sauce- both very tasty. Huge portions! Their homemade Grk is nice- a bit sweeter than some of the others on the island. We did have a small issue with the waitress- while she was friendly it was almost impossible to get her attention. Even when we were sat drinking in the evening, we had to eventually give up trying to get more drinks as we could not get here to look at us (we timed it- 30 minutes no service!) so we just went to the shop and bought beer.

When we left, Silvana gave us a wedding gift of two bottles of wine- they are so thoughtful! I would recommend staying here to anyone- you will have a lovely experience. Perfect rooms- amazing apartments- you will be really happy!

Room Tip: We had an apartment in the new building, across from the restaurant. They are beautiful and very wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank phoenixwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Another successful painting tour and I could not have done it without Lovric Pension.
My guests stay at Lovric for 9 nights, with all meals prepared by Silvana.
Breakfasts are hardy and filling with meats, cheeses, bread, cereals, marmalades, cream cheese, honey, coffee, tea, and juice. We always have a chuckle as Silvana has to put out a dish of meat and honey for the wasps as the eating area is on the open front balcony and they are bothersome in the morning.
Silvana makes us a wonderful packed lunch consisting of cold salads, (tuna fish was our favourite), bread, fruit and water. One does not want a large lunch when you have to paint all afternoon!
Dinner, as always, was super! Our waitress, Snjezana, starts us off with a shot of rakija (Croatian version of grappa) and a smile. Then comes the soup, main meal, salad and dessert. I cannot express how often Silvana is asked for her soup and dessert recipes… they truly are wonderful.
This is the 5th year my groups have stayed at Pension Lovric and I do not intend on changing that anytime soon. Everyone is warm and welcoming and bends over backwards to try and accommodate you… if there is something you are missing then you just have to ask.
I suggest if you plan on visiting Lumbarda that you make a reservation, because they are solidly booked all summer long.
Thanks Silvana, Edina, Snjezana, Mustafa and Renci and see you next year!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Slikamilina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lumbarda
23.1 mi away
Hotel Korkyra
Hotel Korkyra
#1 of 7 in Vela Luka
225 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Korsal
Hotel Korsal
#1 of 30 in Korcula Island
299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Captain's Villa Sokol
Captain's Villa Sokol
#2 of 5 in Lumbarda
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hotel Korcula
Hotel Korcula
#5 of 30 in Korcula Island
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guest House Stone house Gregov
2.1 mi away
Port 9 Hotel
Port 9 Hotel
#3 of 3 in Korcula Town
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Lovric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Lovric

Address: Lumbarda 217, Lumbarda, Korcula Island 20260, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Korcula Island > Lumbarda
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lumbarda
Price Range: £50 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Lovric 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests! We offer you accommodation in: a - two-bed and three-bed apartments (phone, SAT-TV, air-conditioning, kitchen, shower+WC), b - two-bed and three-bed rooms (phone, air-conditioning, fridge, shower+WC), c - House "MARIS" - opened in May 2011 comfort-apartments, d - cottage "LOVRO." You have the choice between: a - Accommodation only (only in apartment), b - Bed and breakfast (in apartments and rooms), c - Half-board (in apartments and rooms). In our restaurant you can eat "a la carte" every day. On request we will also wash your laundry. You can bring along your pets, too(but please with previous consultation!). Prices for our services can be sent to you on your request. Prices depend on the arrangements of your choice and the time of year of your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Lovric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Lovric Lumbarda, Croatia - Korcula Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing