We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apartamentos Solineu
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in La Molina
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Just returned from our 2nd visit to the Solineu apartments in La Molina for a week of skiing.
Comparing both visits -
Pros - Lovely apartments, spacious and well equipped (no kettle though so boil in a saucepan or bring your own). TV and DVD player with a library of DVD's to borrow from reception at no cost. Staff very nice and friendly. Car park included in cost although can a little tricky getting in and out if not confident about driving.
Cons - The rooms are incredibly noisy due to the floors being terracotta tile. After last year we paid extra for a room on the top floor so that we could avoid having anyone above us. We had been unfortunate to have the noisiest family above us in 2010 who enjoyed it seemed dropping marbles along the floor at all times of the day and night which became torturous by the end of the week, along with dragging chairs constantly. The down pipe from the shower and toilet also must have passed the head of our bed as the noise of the water passing by our heads every time the toilet was flushed or the shower used became really annoying also. We did complain to reception who had a word with them - there was a slight improvement but only slight, and I doubt it would have been noise free as noise in the building travels.
Each apartment has a dining table and chair and on the tiled floor, every time a chair is pulled out the scrape of the chair on the tiles travels to other apartments.This year (same as last year) we could hear chairs scraping all the time and I think this was from the apartment below us. I imagine if you are lucky and have adults that they would notice this and carefully place a chair, but on both visits I think we had children in the offending rooms and so could do nothing but listen to the constant load scraping of the chairs - This year we were saved from sleeping next to the water down pipe thank goodness (benefit of being on the top floor).
On our first night the corridors were filled with excited and screaming children and whilst we put up with it there was obviously some very unhappy people who chose to come out and try to get them to be quiet. It helped but as the floors in the rooms are all tiled, the noise travels and it was still noisy even after his attempt.
This year however, there was a dreadful smell in our apartment in the bathroom a really nasty drain smell, the type you can get sometimes in Europe. We bought some toilet cleaner to leave in overnight and while out in the day which helped, but despite this it was still smelly and we couldn't get rid of it. We didn't mention this to reception as we felt we had no chance of being moved having previously queried the fact that there were only single beds in the apartment when we had expected a double in the main room and had not been offered a change as the other apartments were bigger than the one we had paid for.
Ah yes.....also, the radiators were cold and there was a huge amount or air in the system rising up from below. My husband cleared the air from the radiators on a daily basis so that we could have some heating.
Another thing which was the same as last year - get in the shower as soon as you come in from the slopes. The pressure is great, and the water beautifully hot. However, it does not last and at some point (sorry, can't tell you when) the hot water runs out and you will be in for a tepid unpleasant shower. We tried to shower once after dinner at about 7p.m by which time the water was tepid. When we went to bed at 10p.m my husband commented that it still was not hot.

After the first day the excited children settled but be warned that the chairs will still scrape and you will be woken each morning if someone in an apartment above or below (possibly neighbouring also) gets up early. You will only need an alarm if you want to get up before others. Do not stay hear if you like to lie in or go to bed early - it is a ski resort after all and so I guess you shouldn't be lying in bed anyway, but definitely worth knowing :-)
There is a spa area with a sauna steam room and something else I think. Last year it smelt very drainy in the area and when I went to have a look it did not look that inviting with bits floating on the water of a small pool inside the door. It seems it was the place that the kids were using more so than the adults for some apres ski fun. This year it smelt a little better although more chlorinated but did not go in to see if it was any more inviting than in 2010, so am unable to comment other than to say that the entrance looked clean.
We didn't eat in the hotels own pasta restaurant as last year it was pretty bad with my food arriving cold and my daughter being ill afterwards, but it looks inviting. The restaurants either side of the hotel though are excellent....
Don't book ski's at the hotel as you will have to walk to the slopes with them. Instead if you walk down to the lift Alp 2500 there is a ski hire shop within metres of the chair lift. On both occasions they were very helpful indeed and it is possible to leave ski's and boots overnight after skiing so no having to walk in ski boots or carry skis - lovely! Not sure if the prices are the same so if cheaper the hire at the hotel then perhaps you won't mind the walk with equipment.
I'm not generally a really fussy person, but these do have to be the noisiest apartments I have ever stayed in, would I stay again? Possibly as there is little choice in La Molina and the rooms are a good size and generally clean.
If you are going with the family I reckon you will be pleased enough with the apartments, but if you hate constant noise early morning or evening then you may the place frustrating.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LAMA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2011

Family of 4, teenagers aged 16 & 14, stayed at Apartmentos Solineu on the third floor in a 3-bedroomed apartment (Room 203) in Feb for 5 days for skiing. The apartment was nice and large for a family, with 1 double bedroom, 1 twin and 1 bunk beds, and a large lounge/dining area. Kitchenette was quite small, with a twin hob and a combined microwave/grill, but adequate for cooking a basic family meal (pasta, soups, etc). Lounge included a balcony large enough for sitting outside, and a fireplace for a real fire with logs bought from the local shop, plus a digital TV/DVD (although there are no UK channels and the TV is quite small). However, reception has a good supply of DVDs which are free to hire. The bathroom included a bath/shower combo (good pressure, although water only warm at times of high demand) and a bidet! The towels provided are a smaller than an average bath towel but adequate. The walls are quite thin, and noise from adjacent apartments and the corridor can be annoying, although most of the families had young children so the noise had ceased by 9 o'clock in the evening.

Staff in reception were very helpful (with a good command of English), both before we arrived, in arranging ski hire (hotel's own) and ski passes (at a discount, albeit only about 5 or 10% as far as I could tell), and when we were in resort. Facilities are good, with the “spa” including a dry sauna, wet Turkish room, jacuzzi and plunge pools. Whilst in good condition and clean, the experience tended to be spoilt by kids running around unsupervised, shouting and screaming. This obviously isn't the fault of the hotel, just indicative of the lack of standards practised by today's parents..... There is a Computer games room in the main hotel, with 2 PCs hooked up to the Internet, and 5 Wiis for which the controller and games can be taken out from reception, although only 1 controller can be taken at a time per apartment, so multiplay isn't an option. There's also a games room with table football in the complex. Free underground parking is a bonus, but isn't for the faint-hearted as space is tight. Free WiFi was also available and accessible in the apartment.

The resort is quite small with, rather surprisingly, only 2 small supermarkets for self-catering. Fortunately, one of these is just across the road from the Hotel and contains enough for a week's holiday. There are a few restaurants in the town, with the one next to the hotel being particularly good. The ski slopes are a good 10 minute walk away, mostly uphill, and a pain in ski boots. There is a huge free car park next to the main Gondola lift station, so maybe one could drive to and from the apartment every day, but getting in and out of the parking bay would do nothing for your blood pressure! The skiing area would be quite limited for an experienced skiier, but for beginners and intermediates, it's not bad with some good green runs for learning on, and some interesting reds, particularly the snow park which has a banked racing run for the Snowboarding World Cup held here in Jan 2010, although this may change in subsequent years.

Overall, this is a great place to stay with children, with separate bedrooms and good facilities including WiFi. The town is rather small for a ski resort and has no alpine-style charm but is perfectly good for a week's skiing at the beginner/intermediate standard.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tandannik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We stayed in the half term for 3 nights in a 2 bed apartment. It was very clean, warm and cosy! We have 3 children aged 4, 6 and 8 and they loved their bunk beds! The kitchen is very small and basic, no toaster and no oven, but it has 2 electric hobs. The apartments are linked to the hotel and you can eat breakfast there, albeit it quite expensive for breakfast, 32 euros for the 5 of us. The staff in the hotel are fantastic, they speak english and can help with passes, ski hire and they had great knowledge of the slopes. The village of La Molina is small, has a few pizza/pasta restaurants and a small supermarket that has all you need across the road from the apartments/hotel.

Pista Llarga is close by, you can walk it but with 3 kids and ski's to carry it was far easier to drive.

I would highly recommend these apartments, especially if you are a family! Parking was free and underground. Will definately be going back next year!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supergirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

We are just back from the Solineu apartments having spent a week there at midterm.The apartments themselves are very warm and comfortable and have lots of room and storage space.Each apt has a free ski locker downstairs to store boots and skis.The ski hire shop is right at the door into the apts so couldn't be handier and the hotel organised our lift passes for us.You can walk in your ski boots to the lifts/gondola it takes about 5-10mins.We were blessed with loads of snow-woke up one morning to 10cms of powder and it snowed another day for the entire day.We got passes to cover both Molina and Masella and the skiing in both places was great-especially Masella as the veriety of runs will suit mixed ability groups very well.We didn't cover all the runs in our week long trip so will have to return!
The apartments have their own spa area with sauna,steam room,jacuzzi and roman bath.The whole area tended to have a mildew smell about it which was a bit off putting-however the sauna was great for weary legs.
There is a wifi room in the hotel which is a paradise for kids with 2 computers and 4 Wii with loads of games down at reception.Each apartment has a DVD player and a folder listing all the movies available and what languages they are in-these are free to borrow from reception so our kids had a field day! And with a Burger King down the road and Croco Brasa next door doing takeaway pizzas they just wanted to stay in after the long day skiing.There is a lovely playroom as well with little tables and chairs and lots of toys and a play house-alas our kids are beyond that now but great for little ones.
There is a small but cosy bar in the hotel which is good for an apres ski drink or pre dinner drink.We didn't eat in Solineu they do an all you can eat buffet-but ate twice at El Torb which is 2 doors down and three times at Croco Brasa which is just next door-it does lovely salads and the thickest argentinian steaks you could want as well as pizzas and chicken.
The staff at the Solineu are very helpful both via email and in person and we would highly recommend coming here for a reasonably priced ski holiday.We flew into Girona with a budget airline and hired a car-the drive is just over 2 hours and very straightforward.With regard to comments on the underground car park it is quite a tight squeeze we had a ford focus estate but managed well enough and as we didn't really drive anywhere after arriving it didn't really matter.Our friends drove down toPuigcerda one evening-25kms away and had a snoop around the shops there- then had a lovely paella in one of the restaurants.Having skied in lots of different places we would definitely return to La Molina-it may not have the glamour or Austria or France but the skiing is brillant and it won't blow a major hole in your credit card!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinRafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2009

Stayed at the Apartamentos Solineu for 5 nights in February half term 2009. We had a three bedroom, two bathroom duplex apartment. The accommodation was of a good standard, with comfortable beds and a spacious living room area. Kitchen was small but functional, no toaster - but that's not unusual - there were plenty of other utensils, crockery, and cutlery. (There is a dishwasher, too!) You are allocated a basement car parking space and a ski locker on arrival. Please note the basement garage is not for the faint hearted - anything bigger than a mid-size car can be a squeeze getting around the pillars. There are some nice touches to the apartment like digital TV (in many languages) and free DVD borrowing. The girls in the reception can sort out ski hire and ski passes (discounted) for you. The apartments are about a 5/10 minute walk away from the telecabina station / chair lift number 3. There is a supermarket just across the road and a couple of restaurants nearby, but if you know La Molina well you will know that it can be quite difficult finding somewhere to eat in the evenings, especially if you want to eat early and in a non-smoking environment. I didn't get time to use the gym, but did visit the spa area a few times - sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and hot and cold plunge pools. It was free to use the spa. I would definitely recommend the apartments and hope to stay there again in the future. In 2008 we stayed in the Guitart La mOlina and we were charged for swimming and cots, in comparison this place had a lot more soul, and didn't try to fleece you for any extra services

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mooret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Esterwally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La habitaciones con vistas al Sur, orientadas a la montaña tienen unas grandes vistas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cescjulbelopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Molina
0.3 mi away
Guitart La Molina Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Supermolina
Hotel Supermolina
#9 of 10 in La Molina
67 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Solineu
Hotel Solineu
#5 of 10 in La Molina
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sercotel Hotel & Spa La Collada
0.4 mi away
HG La Molina
HG La Molina
#3 of 10 in La Molina
261 reviews
2 mi away
Sercotel Alp Hotel Masella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Solineu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Solineu

Address: Av. Supermolina, 7, 17537 La Molina, Alp, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Alp > La Molina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in La Molina
Price Range: £105 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Solineu 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Apartamentos Solineu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing