We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“cuddled up in the hen-house felt like being in a...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Newgrange, Co. Meath
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Newgrange, Co. Meath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Duleek, County Meath

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
SuzyB450
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cuddled up in the hen-house felt like being in a field of dreams!”
Reviewed 16 January 2016 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Totally loved the head space this place and its setting created (and maintained). Tough to explain but really easy to understand. Had the right blend of comfort and effort - the effort being the beat of keeping the log / peat fire going at a healthy balance, as we were there at a shoulder season of showers and wind blows with sprinkles of sunshine. As a trip centre our hen house worked out well, short trips and long trips and a couple of why don't we just stay here all day kind of days. And Colm's company was an added plus of great conversation with the 20 yard walk to the pub not too onerous either.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clairecel...
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Truly magical Ardcath, Bettystown Coast, County Meath”
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Thank you so very much Colm for our stay in your warm welcoming wee magical cottage :). Colm was a great host very genuine and caring and helped us many times as our mobile GPS would not work and he came through for us and also recommended many great places to visit within the short week we stayed :). We would truly stay here again upon our next visit as my husband and I do plan on returning to my dads home land :). Anyone thinking of staying here trust me you will not be disappointed as the host and the cottage are both worth the stay :). Enjoying some magical stories over a few pints with us truly made us feel at home and part of the family with Colm :). Thank you again Colm and we miss your wee magical cottage and you already since being back in Toronto :). All the best always with love and hugs :) Claire and Derek

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything xxx
Liked least: There was not anything I did not like about this wee Cottage or the host :)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Luxury barn conversion”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stay for 7 nights and enjoyed every moment of our stay. From the warm welcome by our host to the wonderful décor. The conversion is well thought out as there is everything you could need. The bed was really comfortable, the shower worked perfectly and the wood burner for the evenings gave the property a very homely feel. We enjoyed cooking a meal and curling up in front of the fire on the sofa.

Access to Dublin and the surrounding areas was easy. I would recommend this accommodation to a couple who likes the quietness of the countryside but wants to adventure to see the surrounding attractions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The quaint and romantic decoration of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
You were a really lovely couple and it was a pleasure to host you. We are delighted you enjoyed your Irish holiday and we look forward to seeing you again. Thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRH60
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Very warm welcome. Cottage very cosy, clean and well equipped. Log stove was very warming during cool mornings and late evenings! Thoroughly enjoyed stay - good location for surrounding area and we ventured to Giant's Causeway from there! The use of space in the cottage is innovative and lovely outside space with a great view. It's also great being so close to a local friendly welcoming pub!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cottage itself
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizzieGla...
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Unbelievably cozy and quaint”
Reviewed 22 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a lovely stay at this adorable converted barn. As we walked in, a fire was crackling in our wood stove and beautiful Irish music was playing in the background thanks to our gracious host, Colm. In many ways, Colm is one of the best things about this vacation stay. His knowledge of the area, his generosity and desire to make us feel welcome all added to our experience. He's a man who doesn't know a stranger. The surroundings were idyllic and the central location made it easy for us to take day trips to various places on the east half of Ireland (including Wicklow and Waterford). The bed is incredibly comfortable and warm. The kitchen supplied everything we needed (including a 3-in-1 microwave, confection over and grill that made a very decent freezer pizza). And there's nothing like a romantic evening in front of the fire with a glass of wine. We very much recommend this place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seana111
1 review
“Perfect spot for two”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Our stay here was bliss, we had an amazing host Colm, we had a warm welcome of biscuits and hot water bottles in the bed, the stove warmed up the whole place nicely.
Colm is very knowledgeable about the area and has plenty of advice on where to go.
Lots of little towns nearby to explore. I would certainly recommend!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey O
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing stay at this beautiful converted barn”
Reviewed 28 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was our 2nd stay at Crow's Hermitage in Co. Meath and it did not disappoint. Colm the host is so very welcoming, friendly and unobtrusive but around if you need anything. On arrival we had warm scone, jam, cream, and the beautiful wood burner already glowing and hot water bottles to warm the bed, you really could not ask for anything more - it was all perfect.

There is a wealth of information if you want to go out and about which we did on our last trip with lovely places to eat and outstanding scenery. The local pub is friendly with some fun characters who immediately welcomed you and were interested to hear where you were from etc.

We cannot wait to return in the summer, it just feels like a second home, so peaceful and relaxing the ideal retreat for those with busy lives.

I must also mention that if you want the best fish pie I have ever tasted then take a trip into Skerries to a pub/fish restaurant called Stoop Your Head and you will be hooked.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing