We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality location and hotel”
Review of Hotel del Oso

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cosgaya
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel del Oso
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cosgaya
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quality location and hotel”
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We stayed here for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed it.

A real quality and spacious feel to the property with freindly and attentive staff. Plenty of choice for breakfast and a good evening menu with resonable prices. Be careful ordering the beans as a starter - this is a meal for 2!

If the weather is good there are plenty of outdoor tables and the pool/sunbeds are good.

Look out for the St Bernard dog and her pup which seem to roam around the hotel and are used to the obvious attention they get from the guests.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireCooperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    61
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
120
259
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Stayed for 5 nights in June 2011, I can only say that the staff are so friendly and the food great if sometimes to much. Location perfect for those wanting to see the Picos. Many bikers there and great company. The reception staff speak good english. The bar man is great although quiet.
Linen in the rooms was crisp and clean.
A must place to visit
Richard
BMW R1200GS

Room Tip: 2nd floor overlooking pool with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard2R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

The most consistently excellent hotel I have experienced at any price. Incidentally, contrary to an earlier report, all bedrooms now have free wi-fi.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwisterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
181 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The Hotel del Oso is the sort of place that makes you forget the rain, even if the clouds are stopping you from seeing the mountains or visiting the area as planned. The staff are absolutely delightful, the hotel is extremely comfortable, and if the rain stops you from going out, as it did us, at least you can enjoy the restaurant, which is very good - as we did! Very comfortable bed, and delicious, copious breakfast. Even knowing how unreliable the weather in that area is, I'll be back, for the sheer pleasure of staying in the Hotel del Oso again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jb5753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Hotel tucked away in Picos - superb condition and very clean . Rooms with balconies but not huge - each floor has a very nice lounge . Huge swimming pool and wonderful gardens. Hotel provides great ideas for walks . Food & service excellent

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venturer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Very relaxing place to stay at the edge of the Picos national park. Friendly staff, good restauant and local wine list, nice looking pool - wish we'd got some sun to enjoy it! Free internet terminal though no wifi.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesjwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Perfect hotel to rest. Very friendly staff. Do not miss its culunary service and specially its Fabada

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taylor_roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cosgaya
4.6 mi away
Parador de Fuente De
Parador de Fuente De
#1 of 2 in Fuente De
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
22.6 mi away
El Bosque de La Anjana
El Bosque de La Anjana
#1 of 3 in Cabuerniga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
22.6 mi away
Hotel Camino Real De Selores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Hotel Casona La Hondonada
Hotel Casona La Hondonada
#2 of 3 in Cabuerniga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hostal Remona
Hostal Remona
#1 of 2 in Espinama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel Balneario La Hermida
Hotel Balneario La Hermida
#1 of 1 in La Hermida
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Oso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Oso

Property: Hotel del Oso
Address: Camaleno, 39582 Cosgaya, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Cosgaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cosgaya
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Oso 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Del Oso Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing