We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly exceptional hotel in a beautiful rural location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel del Oso

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cosgaya
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel del Oso
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cosgaya
Certificate of Excellence
Quorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A truly exceptional hotel in a beautiful rural location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

It is dfficult to find enough superlatives to describe this place. Family run, lovely staff, good food, comfortable rooms and very competitive prices.I will give one example of their customer service. I arrived in early October, the bus timetables had just changed to winter schedules ie very few buses!. I wanted to go to Fuente De to use the cable car for a long trek in the mountains (around 10 kilometres away) early after their astonishingly generous and comprehensive breakfast. They simply took me in the hotel land rover and would accept no payment whatsoever.

Room Tip: I have stayed there several times and all the rooms I have had have been excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeicestershireYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    60
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
117
257
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

my wife and I stayed here for 2 nights found it to be very very comfortable, fantastic walkin shower and firm bed fluffy towels and uk tv. the rooms are tastefully decorated and reasonably well insulated for a spanish hotel room. the restaurant was well situated and serving traditional spanish food and did i say" large portions" as all the other reviews say... staff are friendly well presented and polite....ONLY! down point is the wifi , its next to useless 1 minutes on next minute its off reason for this is the location of the hotel apparently ... there is a computer in the foyer of hotel which you can use free of charge .
enjoy we did.....

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rich2966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We booked a 5 night stay at this Hotel through Brittany Ferries and were delighted with everything about it. The situation was perfect for touring and walking in the Picos Europa. The Hotel staff were very friendly and the service was excellent. The food was superb,.I have never seen such a huge choice for Breakfast and it was gratifying to find the cost of water and coffee included in the price of the 3 course set dinner menu.{21 Euros} The facilities cater for all ages..tennis court, swimming pool and a lovely garden play house for the younger generation!!
A superb Hotel for a short break.Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Selected this hotel as a base for walking in the Picos de Europa. We have never been to this part of Spain before but certainly want to return. This hotel is in a beautiful valley location, 15 minutes drive from the cable car, with access to wonderful walks over the mountains. It's family run with excellent friendly staff always willing to help. Excellent resturant for breakfast and dinner with great food and plenty of choice. Our room on the second floor was not large, but comfortable and well equiped. It's possible to admire the view from the balcony but not sit as it's not really large enough for chairs. However there are some very comfortable lounges, one on each floor, as well as a well stocked bar and plenty of terrace seating with views of the surrounding mountains. We'd love to be back there after an energetic walk, sitting on the terrace with a glass of rioja.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apprentice72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Everything good you read about hotel del oso is absolutely true. It's position close to the picos is perfect for the many mountain walks which are well marked. The hotel staff were very knowledgeable on the various walks in the area and will advise on which are most suitable for you. We stayed for 3 nights in September and found the weather in this area perfect - apparently it has its own micro climate. The hotel accommodation is split between the main building and the annexe. Don't be put off by the description annexe. The building is substantial and beautiful with lovely rooms and a wonderful guests' lounge. The restaurant, bar, reception, pool and tennis areas are within the main hotel grounds. The food at del oso is excellent and you will find the restaurant busy both for lunch and dinner. But it is the quality of service from the staff that makes this hotel very special. They are to a man brilliant, most multi tasking and always happy and willing to help.

Room Tip: The annexe rooms are across the road from the main building. The road is not busy as it is a dead en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanJanetT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

What a superb hotel. Difficult to fault. From when we checked in (late arrival due to ferry delay), to when we left, every single member of the staff was superb. Our room (112) overlooked the pool. Having read some other reviews I requested this. However, there is very little road noise so I would recommend any outward looking second floor room which have balconies. The bar was welcoming, well stocked and efficiently run. The fixed price menu at €20 outstanding value and quality. The wine list interesting, varied and reasonably priced. Breakfasts superb with oodles of choice. We went hiking in the mountains one day (catch the Fuente De cable car and walk down, but beware the 'new' path that leads directly to Fuente De as it is gruelling. In fact if I were to do it again I would get a taxi from the hotel to Fuente De and get one of the paths that lead from the mountains to Cosgaya. The views are amazing.), and when we got back a G&T on the terrace as the sun went down eased the aches. Great outdoor space.

Room Tip: Go for a second floor outward looking room as these have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way back to Santander for the ferry home to the UK, couldn't fault it in anyway. Great location, stunning scenery right amongst the Picos mountains. Lovely colourful gardens full of flowers, good size well decorated rooms full of character and friendly polite staff.
The restaurant served excellent food, though we found the portions a little over the top, especially the starters which were as big as any main course.
There seems to be no easy way to get to this location apart from winding mountain passes, which we found a little tiresome after a long days travelling.

Room Tip: Try to book the rooms in the main hotel, there are some rooms in an annex building across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cosgaya
4.6 mi away
Parador de Fuente De
Parador de Fuente De
#1 of 2 in Fuente De
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
22.6 mi away
El Bosque de La Anjana
El Bosque de La Anjana
#2 of 3 in Cabuerniga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
22.6 mi away
Hotel Camino Real De Selores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Hotel Casona La Hondonada
Hotel Casona La Hondonada
#1 of 3 in Cabuerniga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hostal Remona
Hostal Remona
#1 of 2 in Espinama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel Balneario La Hermida
Hotel Balneario La Hermida
#1 of 1 in La Hermida
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Oso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Oso

Property: Hotel del Oso
Address: Camaleno, 39582 Cosgaya, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Cosgaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cosgaya
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Oso 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Del Oso Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing