We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional staff, great location and food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel del Oso

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cosgaya
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel del Oso
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cosgaya
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Exceptional staff, great location and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is one of those very rare hotels that convinces me that I will have to return even given the cost of the translantic air tickets. Fits my definition of luxury, no pomp, just an exceptional staff who make it their business to anticipate your needs and to get you what you want.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    60
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
114
254
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
657 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I cannot praise this hotel enough. For a remarkably low cost, you get a large, comfortable, nicely decorated room in the heart of the mountains, an outstanding dinner, and one of the best hotel breakfasts I have ever experienced. (Just yield to desire and try all of the bakery treats; you won't regret it!) The staff is so friendly and helpful, and the beautiful flower boxes and planters outside are just the most obvious sign of how well-cared for the hotel is. We stayed in the building across the street, which offers a pool table, library, and game room, which would be ideal if you were traveling with children. We did not enjoy swimming weather during our stay, so I can't comment on the pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We recently spent 2 nights in Hotel Del Oso as part of a much bigger road trip thorugh Northern Spain. And, staying here has been a highlight in our trip so far. This lovely family owned hotel in Cosgaya is difficult to fault. Having been owned by the same family for over 25 years or so, Del Oso runs like clockwork at a high level of efficiency and professionalism. Set in Europe's last remaining mountain wilderness, it has a lot to offer. From excellent, ridiculously well priced rooms to a lovely pool and a restuarant serving delicious meals with scrumptious breakfasts.

We would highly recommend the Picos de Europe in general and this hotel in particular if ever you find your way to Northern Spain. We booked for 2 nights but could easily have spent a week in this lovely, tranquil setting!

Room Tip: The upper level rooms have lovely balconies. Next time we would opt for one of these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonwaker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a wonderful hotel. The quality of food, drinks and accommodation are of the highest quality and it is excellent value for money. The staff are extremely helpful and will go to great lengths to make your stay as pleasant as possible

Room Tip: All the rooms are high quality and if you are travelling solo book a single room. They are almost t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicestershireYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

On our recent visit to the Picos de Europa we stayed in 4 hotels and this one was by far the best, all areas clean and tidy, lovely rooms, with lovely views, helpful and very pleasant staff. The food was excellent and very well served by the waiting staff, breakfast buffet was large with many choices. In short an excellent hotel and I will be going there again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Hotel del Oso with some friends last weekend, and was impressed with the friendliness and level of service of the staff, the cleanliness and decoration of the hotel, and the wonderful food!

Overall a lovely place to stay in a great setting with mountain views and in a traditionally built, but relatively new building.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel was found by our group leader. Before getting to the hotel when I looked on Google earth it appeared to be in the middle of nowhere.

On arrival there is plenty of parking. There was six in our group on motorcycles the reception was clean and welcoming as were the staff.

On getting the keys to the room it had a view via a small balcony of mountains and over the main car park. The ensuite facilities were spotless and quite modern unlike some hotels where you are reluctant to use the facilities without cleaning yourself.

Other facilities safe programmable and tv are good with some english channels. I have an observation and the rest of the group frowned upon my remark is that there are no in room refreshments. It may be an english thing but when waking in the morning I prefer a cup of tea. I must point out it is only a personal preference not a critism ofthe hotel.

The staff are brilliant. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is done with a smile.

The food served in the restaurant is first class and good value especially the set menu. Please don't make it a habbit but even food on the normal menu can be included on the set menu.

Would I come here again simple answer is yes whether it is for motorcyling or hiking. Only thing I would like is good sunny weather which is not the fault of the hotel or anyone else.

Michael F.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cosgaya
4.6 mi away
Parador de Fuente De
Parador de Fuente De
#1 of 2 in Fuente De
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
22.6 mi away
El Bosque de La Anjana
El Bosque de La Anjana
#1 of 3 in Cabuerniga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
22.4 mi away
Hotel Camino Real De Selores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hostal Remona
Hostal Remona
#1 of 2 in Espinama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
22.7 mi away
Hotel Casona La Hondonada
Hotel Casona La Hondonada
#2 of 3 in Cabuerniga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
4.6 mi away
Posada el Bosque
Posada el Bosque
#1 of 1 in Mieses
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Oso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Oso

Property: Hotel del Oso
Address: Camaleno, 39582 Cosgaya, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Cosgaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cosgaya
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Oso 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Del Oso Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing